State Government Statistical Contacts - 2017

 

SUBJECT DEPT/DIV CONTACT TELEPHONE/
EMAIL ADDRESS

 

Population and Housing

Aging/Older and/or Disabled Adults DHHS/AGE Swarna Reddy 919-855-3442
swarna.reddy@dhhs.nc.gov
Decennial Census: Data CR/ST LIB Staff 919-807-7450
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Maps CR/ST LIB Staff 919-807-7450
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Data Extraction GOV/OSBM Bob Coats 919-807-4781
bob.coats@osbm.nc.gov
Population Estimates/Projections GOV/OSBM Mike Cline 919-807-4756
michael.cline@osbm.nc.gov
Veterans ADM/VA Jeff Smith 919-807-4267
jeff.smith@doa.nc.gov

Vital and Health Statistics

 
Birth Defects DHHS/PH Bob Meyer 919-733-4728
robert.meyer@dhhs.nc.gov
Births, Deaths, Marriages, Abortions, Divorces, Pregnancies DHHS/SCHS Staff 919-733-4728
SCHS.Info@dhhs.nc.gov
Cancer DHHS/SCHS Chandrika Rao 919-715-4574
chandrika.rao@dhhs.nc.gov
Child Fatality DHHS/MEO Elyssa Trani 919-743-9000
elyssa.trani@dhhs.nc.gov
Communicable Diseases DHHS/EPID Evelyn Foust 919-733-9490
evelyn.foust@dhhs.nc.gov
Decennial Census: Data CR/ST LIB Staff 919-807-7450
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Epidemiology DHHS/EPID Karen Knight 919-715-7472
Eye Care DHHS/BLIND SERV Lin Taliaferro 919-733-9744
lin.taliaferro@dhhs.nc.gov
Health Professions Data UNC/SCHSR Katie Gaul 919-966-6529
nchp@unc.edu
Immunization DHHS/WOMEN & CHILD Wendy Holmes 919-707-5551
wendy.holmes@dhhs.nc.gov
Industrial Injuries COMM/IC Staff 919-807-2506
Medical Care Facilities DHHS/HSR Staff 919-855-3865
Medical Examiners Database DHHS/MEO Carol Ludwig 919-743-9000
carol.ludwig@dhhs.nc.gov
Occupational Injury & Illness Data (OSHA/BLS Survey) LAB/R&P Staff 919-733-2758
Occupational Safety & Health Data (all other) LAB/OSHA Anne Weaver 919-807-2950
anne.weaver@labor.nc.gov
Psychiatric Hospitals DHHS/MH/DD/SAS Thelma Hayter 919-733-4460
thelma.hayter@dhhs.nc.gov
Radioactive Material DHHS/RP Lee Cox 919-814-2252
lee.cox@dhhs.nc.gov
Tanning DHHS/RP Amy Sawyer 919-814-2277
amy.sawyer@dhhs.nc.gov
X-Ray and Mammography DHHS/RP Jenny Rollins 919-814-2326
jenny.rollins@dhhs.nc.gov
Radiological Emergency Response DHHS/RP William Jeffries 919-814-2271
william.jeffries@dhhs.nc.gov
Workplace Fatalities LAB/OSHA LAB/OSHA Karen Bogner 919-807-2952
karen.bogner@labor.nc.gov
 

Social and Human Services

Child Day Care Facilities DHHS/CD Grady Stephenson 919-743-8241
grady.stephenson@dhhs.nc.gov
Decennial Census: Data CR/ST LIB Staff 919-807-7450
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Medicaid DHHS/MEDICAL ASST James Campbell 919-855-4233
james.campbell@dhhs.nc.gov
Mental Health/Development Disabilities DHHS/MH/DD/SAS Thelma Hayter 919-733-4460
thelma.hayter@dhhs.nc.gov
Services for the Blind DHHS/BLIND SERV Cynthia Speight 919-733-9822
cynthia.speight@dhhs.nc.gov
Social Services/Public Assistance DHHS/SOC SERV Hank Bowers 919-733-4530
hank.bowers@dhhs.nc.gov
Soliciting Organizations DHHS/HSR Jeff Horton 919-855-3757
jeff.horton@dhhs.nc.gov
Substance Abuse DHHS/MH/DD/SAS Thelma Hayter 919-733-4460
thelma.hayter@dhhs.nc.gov
Vocational Rehabilitation DHHS/VOC REHAB Elizabeth Bishop 919-855-3566
elizabeth.bishop@dhhs.nc.gov
 

Education

Community College Enrollment CC/ADMIN Rick Bundy 919-807-7023
bundyr@nccommunitycolleges.edu
Decennial Census: Data CR/ST LIB Staff 919-807-7450
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Drop Outs PI/IAS Karl Pond 919-807-3241
kpond@dpi.state.nc.us
Higher Education (Chapel Hill) UNC/GA Kate Henz 919-962-2228
kmhenz@northcarolina.edu
Higher Education Facilities (Chapel Hill) UNC/GA Jeff Hill 919-962-4569
jdh@northcarolina.edu
Non-Public School Enrollment ADM/NPE David Mills 919-733-4276
david.g.mills@doa.nc.gov
Public School Enrollment PI/FBS Sandra Johnson 919-807-3737
sjohnson@dpi.state.nc.us
Public School Transportation PI/FBS Derek Graham 919-807-3571
dgraham@dpi.state.nc.us
School Lunch Program PI/FBS Lynn Hoggard Harvey 919-807-3507
lharvey@dpi.state.nc.us
Testing: High School, End-of-Course PI/IAS Iris Garner 919-807-3425
igarner@dpi.state.nc.us
Competency PI/IAS Iris Garner 919-807-3425
igarner@dpi.state.nc.us
Grades 3-8, End-of-Grade PI/IAS Nancy Carolan 919-807-3781
ncarolan@dpi.state.nc.us
Writing and Computer Skills PI/IAS Nancy Carolan 919-807-3781
ncarolan@dpi.state.nc.us
SAT PI/IAS Jaime Kelley 919-807-3802
jaime.kelley@dpi.nc.gov
 

Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections

Court Activities JUD/AOC Patrick Tamer 919-890-1279
patrick.tamer@nccourts.org
Crimes JUS/SBI Tim Parker 919-662-4500
TParker@ncdoj.gov
Highway Patrol Activities CC&PS/HP Staff 919-733-7952
Prison Population: Probationers/Parolees CORR/ADM Cara Stevens 919-733-4080
cara.stevens@ncdps.gov
Juvenile Court Data, Youth Development Centers, Juvenile Detention Centers, Community Programs DJJDP   919-733-5027

Environment, Recreation, and Cultural Resources

Air Pollution (Emissions)s DENR/AQ Tammy Manning 919-707-8717
tammy.manning@ncdenr.gov
Air Quality (Ambient) DENR/AQ Donnie Redmond 919-707-8468
donnie.redmond@ncdenr.gov
Geographic Information DENR/CGIA Jeff Brown 919-754-6584
jeff.brown@nc.gov
Ground Water DENR/WQ Susan Massengale 919-807-6359
susan.massengale@ncdenr.gov
Hazardous Waste DENR/WM Ray Strawbridge 919-707-8200
ray.strawbridge@ncdenr.gov
Historic Sites: Attendance CR/ARCH & HIST Thom Rhodes 919-733-7862 Ext. 243
thom.rhodes@ncdcr.gov
Libraries CR/ST LIB Jennifer Pratt 919-807-7415
jennifer.pratt@ncdcr.gov
Marine Fisheries (Morehead City) DENR/MF Don Hesselman 252 -726-7021
don.hesselman@ncdenr.gov
Outdoor Recreation DENR/PARKS & REC Bayard Alcorn 919-707-9358
bayard.alcorn@ncparks.gov
Radiation DHHS/RP Lee Cox 919-814-2252
lee.cox@dhhs.nc.gov
State Parks DENR/PARKS & REC Mike Murphy 919-707-9333
michael.murphy@ncparks.gov
Symphony CR/NCS Robert Schiller 919-789-5490
rschiller@ncsymphony.org
Travel and Tourism COMM/T Marlise Taylor 919-447-7748
marlise.taylor@visitnc.com
Water Quality DENR/WQ Susan Massengale 919-807-6359
susan.massengale@ncdenr.gov
Wildlife DENR/WRC Janice Underwood 919-707-0111
janice.underwood@ncwildlife.org
Zoological Park (Asheboro) DENR/NCZP Gavin Johnson 336-879-7202
800-488-0444
gavin.johnson@nczoo.org
 

Energy and Utilities

Decennial Census: Data CR/ST LIB Staff 919-807-7450
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Energy DENR/E Enass Wahby 919-707-9242
enass.wahby@ncdenr.gov
Rural Electric and Telephone Membership Corporations COMM/REA Frances Liles 919-733-7513
fliles@nc-rea.net
Utilities: Electric, Gas, and Telephone COMM/UC Pat Jeter 919-733-0832
 

Government

Appropriations to Non-State Entities GOV/OSBM Arnetha Dickerson 919-807-4708
Arnetha.Dickerson@osbm.nc.gov
Bonds TRES/SLGF Vance Holloman 919-807-2351
Vance.Holloman@nctreasurer.com
Capital Improvements GOV/OSBM Thomas Cheek 919-807-4738
thomas.cheek@osbm.nc.gov
Cash Management TRES/SLGF Sharon Edmundson 919-807-2380
Sharon.Edmundson@nctreasurer.com
Census of Governments CR/ST LIB Staff 919-807-7450
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Powell Bill, Allocations TRAN/HWYS David Tyeryar 919-707-4320
dtyeryar1@ncdot.gov
Retirement Systems TRES/RET Don Perry 919-508-5377
Don.Perry@nctreasurer.com
Escheat Fund TRES/ADM SERV Brenda Williams 919-508-5177
brenda.williams@nctreasurer.com
Revenue: General Fund Projections GOV/OSBM Ed McLenaghan 919-807-4749
ed.mclenaghan@osbm.nc.gov
State Budget GOV/OSBM Thomas Cheek 919-807-4738
thomas.cheek@osbm.nc.gov
Tax Statistics REV/TR Amelia Bryan 919-754-2567
amelia.bryan@dornc.com
Veterans Affairs Expenditures ADM/VA Jeff Smith 919-807-4267
jeff.smith@doa.nc.gov
Voter Registration BOE/A Jacque Blaeske 919-733-7173
Jacque.Blaeske@ncsbe.gov
 

Employment and Income

Census of Governments CR/ST LIB Staff 919-807-7450
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Child Labor Certification LAB/WH Valentine Eucare, III 910-372-3413
val.eucare@labor.nc.gov
Current Population Survey GOV/OSBM Bob Coats 919-807-4781
bob.coats@osbm.nc.gov
Decennial Census: Data CR/ST LIB Staff 919-807-7450
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Economic Development Data COM/BI Tiffany McNeill 919-447-7741
tiffany.mcneill@edpnc.com
Employment: State Government Agencies GOV/OSBM John Sparrow 919-807-4703
john.sparrow@osbm.nc.gov
Employment: State Government Average Salaries OSP/ECC Margaret Jordan 919-807-4849
margaret.b.jordan@osp.nc.gov
Labor Force: Employment and Wages; Industrial and Occupational Projections; Insured Employment and Wages COMM/ESC Staff 919-715-5999
Personal Income CR/ST LIB Staff 919-807-7450
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
 

Business and Industry

Alcoholic Beverage Permits COMM/ABC Tami Clifton 919-779-0700
tami.clifton@abc.nc.gov
Alcoholic Beverage Sales COMM/ABC Michael C. Herring 919-779-0700
mike.herring@abc.nc.gov
Banks COMM/BC Ray Grace 919-733-3016
rgrace@nccob.gov
Credit Unions COMM/CU Mitchell L. Myers 919-571-4888
mitch.myers@nccud.org
Economic Censuses CR/ST LIB Staff 919-807-7450
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Industrial Recruitment COMM/BI Tiffany McNeill 919-447-7741
tiffany.mcneill@edpnc.com
Insurance INS/ADM Melissa Evans 919-807-6046
melissa.evans@ncdoi.gov
New/Proposed/Expanding Industry COMM/LEAD Synophia Tate 919-707-1573
state@nccommerce.com
 

Agriculture

Agriculture AGRIC/STAT Dee Webb 919-856-4394
NCagstat@ncagr.gov
Census of Agriculture AGRIC/STAT Dee Webb 919-856-4394
NCagstat@ncagr.gov
Feed AGRIC/FDP Jennifer Godwin 919-733-7366
jennifer.godwin@ncagr.gov
Forest Products DENR/FR Tom James 919-857-4819
tom.james@ncagr.gov
Market Reports AGRIC/MKT Dee Webb 919-856-4394
NCagstat@ncagr.gov
 

Transportation

Airports, Airlines, Aircrafts, Pilots TRAN/A Bobby Walston 919-814-0550
bwalston@ncdot.gov
Decennial Census: Data CR/ST LIB Staff 919-807-7450
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Drivers Licenses TRAN/MV Brian Smith 919-861-3019
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Highway Construction and Maintenance Expenditures TRAN/HWYS Calvin Leggett 919-733-2031
cleggett@ncdot.gov
Highways: Public Road Mileages, State Maintained Systems TRAN/HWYS Hardee Cox 919-212-6060
hcox@ncdot.gov
Highways: Traffic, Vehicle Class, Origin and Destination, Weigh-in-Motion TRAN/HWYS Kent L. Taylor 919-212-4550
kltaylor@ncdot.gov
Revenue: Highway Fund Projections TRANS/HWYS Rick Norris 919-707-4318
rnorris2@ncdot.gov
Size and Weight Enforcement for Commercial Motor Vehicles; Weight Stations PUBSAF/SHP Allen Hook 919-715-8683
william.hook@ncshp.org
Household Goods and Passenger Carriers COMM/UC Nicholas Jeffries 919-733-4036
njeffries@ncuc.net
Safety Inspections and Safety/Emissions Inspections TRAN/MV Brian Smith 919-861-3019
bsmith25@ncdot.gov
Traffic Records, Accidents TRAN/MV Pam Guptill 919-861-3689
pguptill@ncdot.gov
Vehicle Registration TRAN/MV Portia Manley 919-861-3180
pmanley@ncdot.gov

 

CODE DEPARTMENT/DIVISION
   
ADM/NPE Administration, Non-Public Education
ADM/VA Administration, Veterans Affairs
AGRIC/FDP Agriculture and Consumer Services, Food and Drug Protection
AGRIC/MKT Agriculture and Consumer Services, Marketing
AGRIC/STAT Agriculture and Consumer Services, Statistics
BOE/A Board of Elections, Administrative
CC/ADMIN Community Colleges, Administration
COMM/ABC Commerce, Alcoholic Beverage Control
COMM/BC Commerce, Banking Commission
COMM/BI Commerce, Business and Industry
COMM/ESC Commerce, Employment Security Commission
COMM/IC Commerce, Industrial Commission
COMM/LEAD Commerce, Labor and Economic Analysis Division
COMM/REA Commerce, Rural Electrification Authority
COMM/CU Commerce, Credit Union
COMM/T Commerce, Tourism
COMM/UC Commerce, Utilities Commission
CORR/ADM Correction, Administration
CC&PS/HP Crime Control & Public Safety, Highway Patrol
CR/ARCH & HIST Cultural Resources, Archives and History
CR/NCS Cultural Resources, North Carolina Symphony
CR/ST LIB Cultural Resources, State Library
DENR/AQ Environment and Natural Resources, Air Quality
DENR/CGIA Environment and Natural Resources, Center for Geographic Information and Analysis
DENR/E DENR, Energy
DENR/EMER MGT Environment and Natural Resources, Emergency Management
DENR/FR Environment and Natural Resources, Forest Resources
DENR/MF Environment and Natural Resources, Marine Fisheries
DENR/NCZP Environment and Natural Resources, North Carolina Zoological Park
DENR/PARKS & REC Environment and Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation
DENR/WM Environment and Natural Resources, Waste Management
DENR/WQ Environment and Natural Resources, Water Quality
DENR/WRC Environment and Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources Commission
GOV/OSBM Office of the Governor, Office of State Budget and Management
DHHS/AGE Health and Human Services, Aging
DHHS/BLIND SERV Health and Human Services, Blind Services
DHHS/CD Health and Human Services, Child Development
DHHS/EPID Health and Human Services, Human Ecology and Epidemiology
DHHS/HSR Health and Human Services, Health Service Regulation
DHHS/MEDICAL ASST Health and Human Services, Medical Assistance
DHHS/MEO Health and Human Services, Medical Examiner's Office
DHHS/MH/DD/SAS Health and Human Services, Mental Health, Development Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services
DHHS/SCHS Health and Human Services, State Center for Health Statistics
DHHS/PH Health and Human Services, Public Health
DHHS/RP Health and Human Services, Radiation Protection
DHHS/SOC SERV Health and Human Services, Social Services
DHHS/VOC REHAB Health and Human Services, Vocational Rehabilitation
DHHS/WOMEN & CHILD Health and Human Services, Women and Children's Health
INS/ADM Insurance, Administration
INS/ENG Insurance, Engineering
JJ Juvenile Justice
JUD/AOC Judicial, Administrative Office of the Courts
JUS/SBI Justice, State Bureau of Investigation
LAB/R&P Labor, Research & Policy
LAB/OSHA Labor, Occupational Safety and Health
LAB/CFOI Labor, Census of Fatal Occupational Injury
LAB/WH Labor, Wage and Hour
OSP/ECC Office of State Personnel, Employment, Classification and Compensation
PI/IAS Public Instruction, Instructional and Accountability Services
PI/CS Public Instruction, Community Services
PI/FBS Public Instruction, Financial and Business Services
PI/EP Public Instruction, Effective Practices
PUBSAF/SHP Public Safety, State Highway Patrol
REV/TR Revenue, Tax Research
TRAN/A Transportation, Aviation
TRAN/HWYS Transportation, Highways
TRAN/MV Transportation, Motor Vehicles
TRES/ADM SERV Treasurer, Administrative Services
TRES/RET Treasurer, Retirement Systems
TRES/SLGF Treasurer, State and Local Government Finance
UNC/GA University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, General Administration
UNC/SCHSR University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Sheps Center for Health Services Research