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BACKGROUND

The wildlife resources of the State belong to the people of the State, including the enjoyment of

these resources (G.S. 113-131(a)). The Wildlife Resources Commission (hereinafter WRC or
Commission) is tasked with the conservation of wildlife resources of the State (G.S. 143-239).
This responsibility includes managing as equitably as possible the various competing interests

regarding these resources, including the use and take of such resources (G.S. 113-131.1(a)). The
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statutes governing wildlife resources are found in Chapter 113, Subchapter IV of the General
Statutes, and WRC has been granted rulemaking authority to implement the provisions of these
statutes (G.S. 113-134). In accordance with the supply of wildlife and other factors it determines
to be of public importance, the WRC may fix seasons and bag limits upon the wild animals and
wild birds authorized to be taken that it deems necessary or desirable in the interests of the
conservation of wildlife resources (G.S. 113.291.2(a)).

A summary of the proposed rule amendments with anticipated impacts is shown below.
Proposed rule text is included in Appendix A.

PROPOSED RULE CHANGES
15A NCAC 10A .1601 LICENSE FEES

This proposed rule change would make all regulated activities-related license and permit fees
non-refundable. License and permits fees help defer the cost of processing applications and
conducting inspections. It is important that the Commission retain these fees regardless of
circumstances surrounding licensing, which may include denial of an application, or failure of
the applicant to complete the application process.

Impacts & Benefits

State Impact
Benefits

The state refunded 22 license or permit fees in 2020 accounting for $620. The average cost for
staff to process a license application is $33 (1 hour/license x $33/hr = $33 license). Thus, the
state spent at least $726 processing and refunding $620. Making regulated activities
licenses/permits non-refundable is anticipated to save the state at least $620/year.

Local Impact

This amendment is anticipated to have no local government impact.
Private Impact

Costs

An individual may have a personal loss ranging from $10 - $530 (trophy wildlife sale,
endangered species, importation/exportation, possession, dealer, captivity, special devices)
depending on the type of permit or license sought. In total, unsuccessful license applicants are
expected to incur approximately $620 in non-refundable fees annually.

15A NCAC 10B .0101 IMPORTATION OF WILD ANIMALS AND BIRDS



Reptiles and amphibians are not included in the definition of wild animals. Because of this,
individuals importing reptiles and amphibians are not required to obtain a permit, which could
lead to unregulated or illegal activity. The proposed amendment to this Rule will prohibit
importation without a valid permit and close the loophole for illegal importation of native
reptiles and amphibians.

Language about importing cervids was removed as the importation of cervids was moved under

the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and is no longer applicable to the North Carolina
Wildlife Resources Commission.

Impacts & Benefits

State Impact
Benefits

There are many reptile and amphibian shows throughout North Carolina. However, the agency is
unsure how many vendors are selling native species. This proposed amendment will allow the
Commission to better track the importation and sale of native reptiles and amphibians.

The importation permit costs $10.00. While there will be a fiscal benefit to the State because of
this requirement, the Commission has no way of knowing how many people will apply for an
importation permit for reptiles or amphibians, as this was previously an unregulated activity.
Thus, there are no means to quantify this benefit.

Local Impact
This amendment is anticipated to have no local government impact.
Private Impact

Costs

The cost of obtaining a permit is $10.00. Since importation of reptiles and amphibians has
always been unregulated, there is no way for the Commission to know how many individuals
were purchase a permit.

Benefits

North Carolinians benefit by knowing that their heritage resources are being well-managed.
Members of the public would be assured that these animals are kept and moved in a humane way
as well.

15A NCAC 10B .0105 MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

The Atlantic Flyway Council and the U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service have eliminated the Special

Sea Duck Season in the Atlantic Flyway to become effective in the 2022-23 migratory game bird
season, as referenced in the Federal frameworks. However, Special Sea Duck Areas in the



Atlantic Flyway will remain in place to allow crippled waterfowl to be taken from a motorboat
under power in those areas described, delineated, and designated as Special Sea Duck Areas.
Currently, state rules only allow for a Special Sea Duck Area when there is a concurrent Special
Sea Duck Season. This proposed change will remove the requirement for having a Special Sea
Duck Season while continuing to allow for the chasing of crippled waterfowl from a motorboat
under power in those areas described, delineated, and designated as Special Sea Duck Areas,
which will bring state rules in concurrence with the Federal frameworks in 2022-23.

The habitat enhancement program that established posted waterfowl management areas by the
Wildlife Resources Commission for Canada Goose and duck restoration no longer exists. This
change will eliminate this language from NCAC 10B .0105.

The area east of US 17 is no longer designated as an “experimental” September teal season zone
as referenced by the Federal frameworks calling for state rules designating these September teal
season zones. This change will bring state rules in concurrence with the current Federal
frameworks.

Impacts & Benefits

State Impact

This amendment is anticipated to have no state government impact.
Local Impact

This amendment is anticipated to have no local government impact.
Private Impact

Benefits

The proposed rule change expands hunter opportunity by eliminating the Special Sea Duck
Season and still allowing for the chasing of crippled waterfowl from a motorboat in areas
designated as Special Sea Duck Areas. However, because the Commission does not track the
number of hunters that take advantage of this season, the Commission has no means to quantify
this benefit.

15A NCAC 10B .0119 WILDLIFE COLLECTORS
15A NCAC 10H .1301 COMMERCIAL TAKE OF CERTAIN TURTLES PROHIBITED
15A NCAC 10H .1302 POSESSION OF REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS

Proposed changes to the wildlife collectors rule will not only clarify activities for which a
collection licenses are necessary, but will also set expectations and qualifications for licensed
individuals depending on the collection activity that they do.

Specific limitations to snapping turtle collection in 10H .1301 are proposed due to increased
harvest pressure in NC. Neighboring states have reduced or eliminated their commercial take of



snapping turtles which is pushing collectors from other states to NC to harvest turtles.
Commission staff believe that the current limit of 100 snapping turtles per year is an
unsustainable number based on harvest pressure. Proposed changes to snapping turtle collection
in this rule include the following, which should reduce harvest pressure to a sustainable level:

e Setting a season

e Limiting collection to NC residents

e Limiting licenses to one per physical address

e Limiting harvest to 100 turtles per physical address per season

e Limiting daily take to 10 turtles per physical address

e Limiting license holders to 10 trapping devices per license and imposing new trap

specifications
e Increasing the minimum carapace length from 11 inches to 13 inches

Additionally, Commission staff are concerned that the current possession rule allowing
individuals to take and keep up to four reptiles and 24 amphibians provides many loopholes and
opportunities for illegal collection, possession, and trade. Proposed amendments will create a
clear distinction between collection activities that require a license (education and science or
snapping turtle collection) and individuals keeping native herps as pets.

Rule 10H .1302 has been updated to match the proposed modification of the 4 total amphibian
and reptile species per physical address limit per household in 10B .0119. It also proposes
requiring a possession permit for individuals wanting to rehabilitate native reptiles and
amphibians, as this is a growing request of the Commission.

Impacts & Benefits

State Impact
Benefits

Proposed amendments to this rule clarify requirements for obtaining and complying with
collection licenses, reduce overall complexity of the rules, and allow for increased oversight on
take of native species. Additionally, proposed amendments will close any loopholes that may
exist regarding the take of native reptiles and amphibians and reduce pressure on snapping
turtles.

Costs

In 2021, the Commission issued 95 snapping turtle licenses (95 licenses x $10/license fee =
$950). However, it is anticipated that fewer licenses will be sold for snapping turtle collection
because only 100 turtles can be collected per season per household. The agency believes that
some households were licensed to take more than 100 snapping turtles with multiple household
members being licensed. Additionally, the licensing of only North Carolina residents will likely
decrease the number of licenses sold. However, while implementation of these new
requirements come at a cost to the state, it is anticipated that the resource benefits will outweigh
the loss of revenue.

Local Impact



The amendments are not anticipated to have local government impacts.
Private Impact

Benefits

With fewer native reptiles and amphibians allowed per household, the pressure on these resources
will decrease. There will also be an increase in opportunity for other residents to view and collect
if they wish to do so because more resources will be available on the landscape.

Proposed limitations on snapping turtle collection are intended to reduce take to help maintain a
sustainable population level.

Costs

The amendments in 10H .1302 and 10B .0119 require that no more than 4 native reptile and no
more than 24 amphibian species be kept in a single residence. In 2021, the Commission issued
106 possession permits. Individuals that have been collecting more than the allotted species at
their address will no longer be able to do so without a possession permit and collection license.
This amendment also prohibits the sale of these animals. The Commission has no way of
knowing how many individuals were selling reptile and amphibian species and for what the price
and thus is an unquantifiable loss.

The 10H .1302 amendment requires individuals wanting to rehab native amphibians and reptiles
to pay a $10 possession permit fee. The Commission has no way of identifying how many
individuals were rehabilitating these animals, and thus cannot quantify how many people will be
impacted by this change. Additionally, only North Carolina residents will be issued a collection
license. This change decreases opportunity to out of state individuals wanting to collect reptiles
and amphibians in North Carolina.

Proposed limitations to snapping turtle collection, including license requirements, season and take
limits, trapping device limits and specifications, and increasing the minimum carapace length
from 11 to 13 inches will reduce commercial and personal take of turtles for sale and
consumption. Snapping turtles are sold at wholesale for around $14.75 a pound. The Commission
does not have data on the weight of turtles collected or the quantity of snapping turtles sold per
license, and thus cannot quantify the loss of individual income due to the proposed changes.
Additionally, individuals may be denied a license if they do not fit the proposed qualifications set
by the Commission.

15A NCAC 10B .0123 LIMITATION OF CERTAIN EXOTIC SPECIES

The Tegu lizard is an established exotic species in several southeastern states such as Georgia
and Florida. Since September 2020 there have been many documented sightings of this lizard in
South Carolina. Recently, the Tegu lizard has been observed in Moore County and several other
locations across North Carolina. Once established in the wild, Tegus are destructive and



aggressively invasive, often feeding on eggs of ground nesting birds such as turkey and quail,
and could pose a dire threat to ground nesting shorebirds. In addition, Tegus have been noted as
a threat to alligator nests where they have become established in Florida. Because these species
are popular in the pet trade and known to be present in NC, it is important to take precautions to
prevent further spread in the wild. Greenhouse Frogs have not yet been spotted in North
Carolina, but have become an invasive species and very destructive in Florida and have recently
moved into South Carolina. To get ahead of this species being destructive, the Commission
wishes to add them to the limitation list.

The proposed rule amendment adds the Tegu Lizard (Salvator spp.) and the Greenhouse Frog as

species that are unlawful to import, transport, export, purchase, possess, sell, transfer, or release
in North Carolina.

Impacts & Benefits

State Impact
Benefits

While unquantifiable, the main benefit of prohibiting the possession, importation, sale, and
release of Tegus ang Greenhouse Frogs into North Carolina is protection of our native wildlife
species. Because of the destruction caused by the Tegu lizard, the state will likely avoid
substantial costs in the future by prohibiting them now.

Local Impact
This rule is anticipated to have no local government impact.
Private Impact

Costs

Tegu lizards are popular in the pet trade and have been observed for sale at North Carolina
reptile shows and pet shops for anywhere from $300 - $2,000. It is anticipated that prohibiting
their sale and possession will remove this source of income from the sale of this species, though
the Commission has no way to quantify this loss.

Because the Tegu lizard is a popular pet, prohibiting their possession will take the opportunity of
owning and selling these species away from the public and reptile show vendors. However, the
agency cannot assign a monetary value to this opportunity cost.

15A NCAC 10B .0203 DEER (WHITE-TAILED)

The western part of the state currently has an arbitrary black powder season that was put in place
when deer herd populations could not sustain a full either sex gun season. As it stands, hunters
can only harvest deer of either sex on opening day of black powder and archery season.
Currently, the biological objective for deer density is being met and harvest trends indicate
continued growth of deer herds in the west. The population can sustain an increased harvest it



could not previously.

This amendment would remove western blackpowder either sex restriction line from rule and
link blackpowder either sex restrictions to the corresponding either sex gun seasons:
e No either sex gun = First Saturday only of blackpowder
e Introductory either sex gun = Opening day through following Saturday of
blackpowder
e Conservative either sex gun = Opening day through following Saturday of
blackpowder
e Moderate either sex gun = No restrictions blackpowder
e Maximum either sex gun = No restrictions blackpowder

Impacts & Benefits

State Impact
Benefits

The proposed amendment will reduce regulatory complexity and increase consistency across
open seasons for hunting deer of either sex. This will also make enforcement easier on the
ground.

Local Impact

This rule is anticipated to have no local government impact.
Private Impact

Benefits

Additional antlerless harvest would provide hunters with additional opportunity to take deer of
either sex. This may lead to additional harvest, which may in turn positively affect taxidermists
and deer processors. However, the Commission has no way to estimate how many hunters will
take advantage of this opportunity now or in the future, or what the harvest outcomes will be.
Thus, the agency has no means to quantify this benefit.

15A NCAC 10B .0205 RACOON AND OPOSSUM
15A NCAC 10B .0111 RESTRICTIONS ON RACCOON AND OPPOSSUM HUNTING

When this rule was adopted in the 1970’s, raccoon hunting was one of the 5 most popular sports
in North Carolina. At that time, there were concerns among hunters that there were inadequate
populations of raccoons to support the increased participation in raccoon hunting and dog
training. Since then, and despite decreases in the number of raccoon hunters, fewer trips afield,
and lower harvest levels, raccoon hunter success is similar to that observed in the 1970’s,
indicating increased raccoon populations. Depredation caused by raccoons has increased over the
years, and outbreaks of canine distemper virus (CDV) in raccoons has increased between 2012



(n=1 CDV cases) and 2020 (n=21 CDV cases).

Biologists believe that raccoon populations are abundant, and overabundant in some areas. The
amendment to this rule removes the restriction on daylight raccoon hunting west of US1, as there
is no longer a biological or management justification.

10B .0111 is being repealed and merged into .0205 to keep racoon and opossum hunting
regulations in one rule.

Impacts & Benefits

State Impact
Benefits

Due a decline in raccoon hunters, increasing opportunities to hunt raccoons may assist the
Commission in managing abundant raccoon populations. Currently, Commission staff spends
time managing conflicts with racoons by providing technical guidance to the public. This is done
by email or phone informing the public of their ability to take racoons in the act of causing
damage, hire a wildlife control agent, trap on their property during trapping season, or obtain a
depredation permit outside the trapping season to landowners themselves. There is not a system
currently in place that tracks how much time is spent in these conversations and thus the agency
cannot accurately determine the potential savings.

Additionally, though not expected to be notable, the increase in hunter opportunity created by the
proposed amendment could increase the number of raccoon hunters. There are currently an
estimated 12,530 racoon hunters in North Carolina.

Local Impact

This rule has no local government impact.
Private Impact

Benefits

This amendment allows for an increase in hunter opportunity to take racoons. The Commission
has no way to estimate how many hunters will take advantage of this opportunity now or in the
future, thus has no means to quantify this benefit.

15A NCAC 10B .0206 SQUIRRELS

This proposed amendment allows for a 14-day spring gray squirrel season on private lands with a
daily limit of eight squirrels. Squirrels are an abundant and widely distributed natural resource
that is underutilized across the state. In the 1970’s squirrel harvest was four times higher than it
is currently.



Tennessee, Virginia, South Carolina and Georgia all have spring squirrel seasons. At least eight
other states also have a spring squirrel season. In NC, reproductive biology allows for a spring
season as gray squirrels have completed their winter/spring breeding cycle. This proposed
season follows the spring breeding pulse at the same interval that the fall season follows the
summer breeding pulse. Thus, the Commission believes this will have no impact on the squirrel
population.

Impacts & Benefits

State Impact
Benefits

This rule amendment provides additional opportunity for hunters and has the potential to benefit
the state by positively impacting recruitment and retention of hunters, leading to increased
hunting license sales. The average annual harvest per hunter ranges from 3 to 14 depending
where in the state the individual is hunting. The opportunity for additional harvest allows the
chance for continued participation. However, this additional opportunity is unquantifiable.

Local Impact

This rule is anticipated to have no local government impact.
Private Impact

Benefits

This amendment increases hunting opportunity for those that already squirrel hunt and for those
that may want to hunt small game. Small game is a good place for newer and younger hunters to
start their hunting experience because the resource is abundant, which increases their likelihood
of success, creating an enjoyable hunting experience and increasing their chances of continuing
in the activity. However, the Commission has no way to estimate how many hunters will take
advantage of this opportunity now or in the future, thus has no means to quantify this benefit.

15A NCAC 10B .0403 APPLICATION FOR TAGS

CITES tags are used by trappers that want to sell otter and bobcat furs. In the past, these tags
have cost trappers $2.20 each. The market for furs and pelts as drastically decreased in recent
years and to require them to pay a tagging fee that is close to what pelts are worth now, would
place a financial burden on the trappers who want them. The CITES tags are provided to the
Commission free of charge from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and the fees collected were
revenue.

Due to the decreasing market for pelts and furs that have driven down the cost, the Commission
is removing the tag fee. To ensure that an excess of tags are not being provided to individuals



which could diminish or exhaust supply during the season, making them unavailable to
individuals that need CITES tags, there will be a maximum request limit of 50 tags for bobcat
and 150 tags for otter.

Impacts & Benefits

State Impact
Costs

Eliminating the fee ($2.20 per tag) for CITES tags will reduce revenue to the Commission by
approximately $2,268.20* per year (1,031tags/year x $2.20/tag = $2,268.20/year). However,
when compared to the other revenue generated by the Commission, this loss is negligible.

Benefits

The elimination of the CITES tag fee may help with retention of trappers who sell bobcat and
otter furs. If this is the case, trapping license sales revenue would remain consistent instead of
declining.

Local Impact

This rule is anticipated to have no local government impact.
Private Impact

Benefit

The trappers that purchase these tags will be saving $2.20 per tag for an average savings of
$33.00 per year? [(10 otter tags x $2.20) + (5 bobcat tags at $2.20) = $33].

15A NCAC 10H .1401 CAPTIVITY LICENSE FOR REHABILITATION

Proposed amendments to this rule will prohibit the rehabilitation of the nine-banded armadillo
and upland game bird eggs. The nine-banded armadillo is a non-native species that is expanding
its range into North Carolina. Since 2007, it has been confirmed in 23 counties and has become
established in several counties in western North Carolina. The nine-banded armadillo is
susceptible to collisions with vehicles and almost all observations of dead armadillos are the
result from such collisions. This proposal will clarify that nine-banded armadillos cannot be
rehabilitated, just as other non-native species (e.g., coyote, nutria, feral swine) are prohibited
from being rehabilitated. The Commission is not aware of a desire by licensed rehabilitators to
rehabilitate armadillos, due to their inexperience with this species, as well as the severity of most
injuries.

Rehabilitation of upland game bird eggs would likely cause chicks hatched in captivity to
become imprinted to humans, making survival in the wild after release unlikely.

! Revenue generated from 1,031 tags sold in 2019-2020 trapping season
2 Based upon average number of otter and bobcat tags provided per person per season



Impacts & Benefits

State Impact

This rule is anticipated to have no state government impact.

Local Impact

This rule is anticipated to have no local government impact.
Private Impact

Costs

The proposed changes could be considered a lost opportunity for rehabilitators. However, the
Commission only knows of one rehabilitator that has attempted to rehab an injured armadillo and
based on their experience, would not be likely to do this again. Additionally, the Commission is
unaware of how many licensed rehabilitators have been hatching upland game bird eggs. Thus,
the agency has no way to quantify this loss.

SUMMARY

Quantifiable Impacts

State
The following quantifiable costs are anticipated from the proposed CITES tag rule change:

e Lost revenue = $2,268.20/year

The following quantifiable benefits were identified for the proposed change refunds:

e Estimated increased revenue of $620/ year.

The following quantifiable costs are anticipated from the collection license rule change:

e Lost revenue = $950/year

The total annual quantifiable impact to the state is anticipated at approximately $3,838.
Private
The following quantifiable costs are anticipated from the proposed Tegu Lizard rule change:

e Potential lost revenue = $300-$2,000/lizard



The following quantifiable costs are anticipated from the proposed importation permit and
possession permit rule change:

e $10 permit fee
e Potential lost importation revenue = $100-$1,000/native reptile or amphibian

The following quantifiable benefits were identified for the proposed rule changes:

e Auverage CITES tag savings = $33/annually

Though quantifiable, the potential private costs of the proposed rule changes cannot be
determined due to lack of data.

Unquantifiable Impacts

State
The following unguantifiable state benefits were identified for the proposed rule changes:

e Adding native reptiles and amphibian to the list of species requiring a permit may
increase revenue.

e Restrictions on snapping turtle collection is anticipated to reduce pressure on the
snapping turtle population.

e Collection license and possession permit amendment allows increased oversight of native

reptile and amphibian species.

e Prohibiting the possession and release of Tegus protects native species.

e Removing the western blackpowder either sex restriction line reduces regulatory
complexity of either-sex season hunting in the west and increases consistency across
open seasons.

e Removing the daylight hunting restriction on raccoons, increases hunter opportunity
while managing the racoon population.

e Opening a spring squirrel season on private land increases opportunity and may promote

hunter recruitment and retention.

Private

The following unquantifiable private benefits were identified for the proposed rule changes:

e Removing the special sea duck season expands hunter opportunity by allowing hunting in

special seas duck areas.

e Snapping turtle collection license changing from per person to per physical address
reduces the competition for snapping turtles and increases opportunity for more
participation from others.

e Allowing additional antlerless harvest of either sex increases hunter opportunity.



Allowing additional antlerless harvest of either sex may increase revenue for taxidermists
and deer processors.

Removing raccoon hunting restrictions increases hunter opportunity.
Opening a spring squirrel season on private land increases hunter opportunity.

The following unquantifiable private costs were identified for the proposed rule changes:

Changing the per person collection license limit to a per household license limit, adding
qualifications, and limiting collection to NC residents is likely to decrease of the number
of snapping turtles being sold per individual, resulting in a loss of revenue of
approximately $14.75/pound.

Prohibiting the sale of native amphibians and reptiles and changing the per-person
possession limit to a per-household possession limit may result in lost income.
Prohibiting the possession of Tegu Lizards after (August 1, 2022) will mean individuals
can no longer have them as pets.

While most of the impacts are unquantifiable, the Commission believes that benefits to both the
state and private entities outweigh the costs.
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APPENDIX A

15A NCAC 10A .1601  LICENSE FEES.
(@) License fees established by the Commission in this Rule shall be subject to the requirements of G.S. 113-
270.1B(e).
(b) The following fees shall apply to combination hunting and inland fishing licenses issued by the Commission, as
set forth in G.S. 113-270.1C:
1) Resident Annual Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing License - $35.00.
(2) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing License - $11.00.
3) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing License - $11.00.
(c) The following fees shall apply to sportsman licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.1D:
(@) Annual Sportsman License - $53.00.
2 Infant Lifetime Sportsman License - $212.00.
3) Youth Lifetime Sportsman License - $371.00.
4) Adult Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - $530.00.
(5) Nonresident Lifetime Sportsman License - $1,272.00.
(6) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - $16.00.
(7 Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Sportsman License - $106.00.
(8) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Sportsman License - $106.00.
(d) The following fees shall apply to hunting licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.2:
(@) Resident State Hunting License - $25.00.
2 Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Hunting License - $265.00.
3) Controlled Hunting Preserve Hunting License - $22.00.
4) Resident Annual Comprehensive Hunting License - $39.00.
(5) Nonresident State Hunting Licenses:
(A) Season License - $100.00.
(B) Ten-Day License - $80.00.
(6) Falconry Hunting License - $25.00.
(e) The following fees shall apply to special activity licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-
270.3:
Q) Resident Big Game Hunting License - $14.00.
(2) Nonresident Bear Hunting License - $239.00.
3) Bear Management Stamp - $11.00.
4) Nonresident Big Game Hunting License:
(A) Season License - $100.00.
(B) Ten-Day License - $80.00.
(5) Bonus Antlerless Deer License - $11.00.
(6) Game Land License - $16.00.
@) Falconry License - $11.00.
(8) Migratory Waterfowl Hunting License - $14.00.

15
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APPENDIX A

9) Resident American Alligator License - $250.00.

(10) Nonresident American Alligator License - $500.00.

(11) Resident Elk License - $500.00.

(12) Nonresident Elk License - $1,000.00.
(F) The following fees shall apply to hunting and fishing guide licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S.
113-270.4:

1) Resident Hunting and Fishing Guide License - $16.00.

(2) Nonresident Hunting and Fishing Guide License - $159.00.
(9) The following fees shall apply to trapping licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.5:

1) Resident State Trapping License - $32.00.

2 Resident Lifetime Trapping License - $300.00.

3) Nonresident State Trapping License - $133.00.
(h) The following fees shall apply to hook-and-line licenses in inland and joint fishing waters issued by the
Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-271:

Q) Resident State Inland Fishing License - $25.00.

(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Inland Fishing License - $265.00.

(3) Nonresident State Inland Fishing License - $45.00.

4) Short-Term Inland Fishing License:

(A) Resident 10-day Inland Fishing License - $9.00.
(B) Nonresident 10-day Inland Fishing License - $23.00.

(5) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Inland Fishing License - $16.00.

(6) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Inland Fishing License - $11.00.

(7 Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Inland Fishing License - $11.00.

(8) Special Landholder and Guest Fishing License - $106.00.

9) Mountain Heritage Trout Waters 3-Day Fishing License - $8.00.
(i) The following non-refundable fees shall apply to special device licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in
G.S. 113-272.2:

Q) Resident Special Device License - $80.00.

(2) Nonresident Special Device License - $530.00.
(i) The fee for a collection license issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.4 shall be $10.00.
(k) The following non-refundable fees shall apply to captivity licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S.
113-272.5:

(@) Captivity License for Holding - $50.00.

2 Captivity License for Rehabilitation - $10.00.
() The following non-refundable fees shall apply to dealer licenses issued by the Commission as set forth in G.S.
113-273:

1) Resident Fur-dealer License - $64.00.

2 Nonresident Fur-dealer License - $318.00.
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)
(4)
(5)
(6)
()
(8)
©)
(10)

Fur-dealer Station License - $128.00.
Controlled Hunting Preserve Operator License - $100.00.

Game Bird Propagation License - $10.00.

Furbearer Propagation License - $27.00.

Taxidermy License - $50.00.

Taxidermy Cervid Certification - $5.00.
Wildlife Control Agent License - $50.00.
Alligator Control Agent Certification - $25.00.

(m) The following non-refundable fees shall apply to permits issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-274:

(1)
()
®3)
(4)
Q)

1)

@)
©)

(4)

Possession Permit - $10.00.

Exportation or Importation Permit - $10.00.

Trophy Wildlife Sale Permit - $10.00.

Endangered Species Permit - $10.00.

Field Trial Permit - $10.00.

(n) Unified hunting and fishing licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-351.

Annual Resident Unified Sportsman/Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $69.00.

Annual Resident Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $41.00.

Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal Recreational Fishing Licenses:

(A)
(B)
(©)
(D)
(E)
(F)

(G)

Infant Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $292.00.
Youth Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $477.00.
Resident Adult Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal Recreational Fishing License -
$716.00.

Nonresident Adult Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal Recreational Fishing License -
$1,643.00.

Resident Age 70 Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal Recreational Fishing License -
$32.00.

Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal Recreational Fishing
License - $117.00.

Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal Recreational Fishing
License - $117.00.

Resident Lifetime Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $477.00.

(o) The following fees shall apply to Coastal Recreational Fishing Licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in

G.S. 113-174.2:

(1)
)
®3)
(4)
()

Annual Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $16.00.

Annual Nonresident Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $32.00.

Ten-Day Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $6.00.

Ten-Day Nonresident Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $11.00.

Infant Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $106.00.
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(6) Youth Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $159.00.
@) Resident Adult Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $265.00.

(8) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $530.00.

9) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $16.00.
(10) Resident Disabled Veteran Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $11.00.
(11) Resident Totally Disabled Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $11.00.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-270.1B(e);
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2020;
Eff. July 1, 2020.
Amended Eff. August 1, 2022.
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APPENDIX A

15ANCAC 10B .0101 IMPORTATION OF WILD ANIMALS, ANIMALS-ANB-BIRBS BIRDS, AND
NATIVE REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS

(a) Before any live wild bird, bird-or wild animal animal, or any native reptile or amphibian, is imported into North

Carolina for any purpose, a permit shall be obtained from the Executive Director of the North Carolina Wildlife

Resources Commission authorizing the importation, using application forms provided by the Commission.

(d) Waterfow! imported into North Carolina must be received from facilities or individuals who are certified under

the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) as pullorum-typhoid and avian influenza negative. If the source birds
are not part of NPIP, they must be tested pullorum-typhoid and avian influenza negative by NPIP standards within 30
days prior to entry into North Carolina. Health certificates for imported waterfowl shall be available for inspection by

authorized Commission personnel upon request.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 106.549.97; 113-134; 113-272.6; 113-274; 113-291.3;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 8, 2002; May 17, 2002;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2010; May 1, 2010; June 1, 2005; August 1, 2004.
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2022.

19
Fiscal Note for Proposed Wildlife Management Rule Amendments



24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38

APPENDIX A

15ANCAC 10B .0105 MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

(@) Cooperative State Rules:

1)

@)

a Ota na old A \
a—od S 7 c—oHo—StuavWw o O—t c at . c o0 S

i The waters of the Atlantic Ocean, and te those coastal

waters south of US 64 that are separated by a distance of at least 800 yards of open water from any

shore, island or marsh—marsh are designated as a special hunting area for the taking of sea ducks

(scoter, eider, and long-tailed duck) as referenced by the Federal frameworks calling for state rules

designating these special areas.

Tundra swans may be taken during the open season by permit only subject to annual limitations
imposed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Based upon the annual limitations imposed by the
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the Wildlife Resources Commission shall issue nontransferable
swan permits to applicants who will be selected at random by computer. Only one swan may shall
be taken under each permit which shall be cancelled at the time of the kill by cutting out the month
and day of the kill. Accompanying the permit is a tag which must be affixed to the swan at the time
and place of the kill. The tag must be affixed in accordance with instructions provided with the
permit. In addition, a preaddressed post-paid card is supplied to each permittee on which to report
the number of days hunted and the details of the kill if made. His-unlawfulto-hunt-Hunting swans
without having the permit and the tag in possession or to possess a swan without the cancelled permit
in possession and the tag affixed in accordance with instructions provided with the permit to the

swahn. swan is prohibited.-H-is-urlawful-to-possess-Possessing a swan permit or tag while hunting
that was assigned to another person or to alter the permit or tag in any way other than cutting out

the proper month and day of kiH-kill is prohibited.

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of G.S. 113-291.1(a) and (b), the following restrictions apply to the taking of

migratory game birds:

(1)

No migratory game bird may be taken:

(A) With arifle;

(B) With a shotgun of any description capable of holding more than three shells, unless it is
plugged with a one-piece filler, incapable of removal without disassembling the gun, se-as
to limit its total capacity to not more than three shells.

{A) (C) From or by the use of a sinkbox or any other type of low floating device affording the
hunter a means of concealment beneath the surface of the water;

{8} (D) With the aid of bait, or on, over, or within 300 yards of any place where any grain, salt or
other feed is exposed so as to constitute an attraction to migratory game birds or has been
so exposed during any of the 10 consecutive days preceding the taking, except that this
Part shall not apply to standing crops, flooded croplands, grain crops shocked on the field
where grown, or grains found scattered solely as the result of normal agricultural planting

or harvesting;
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{S) (E) With the aid of live decoys, or on, over or within 300 yards of any place where tame or
captive migratory game birds are present, unless such birds are and have been for a period
of 10 consecutive days prior to such taking confined within an enclosure which eliminates
the audibility of their calls and totally conceals them from the sight of wild migratory game
birds.

3) Crippled waterfowl may be taken from a motorboat under power in those areas described,

delineated, and designated as special sea duck hunting areas in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule.

{5) (4) Inthat area of Roanoke Sound adjacent to and immediately Northeast of Roanoke Island as marked
by buoys designating the waterfowl rest area, it is unlawful to harass or take any waterfowl.
{6} (5) The area east of US 17 is designated as a an-experimental-September teal season zone as referenced
by the Federal frameworks calling for state rules designating experimental-areas. these zones.
{e)—Reporting-Reguirements:—For tundra swan and Canada goose seasons where a permit is required to hunt by
Memorandum of Agreement with the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, hunter questionnaires shall be filled out online at

www.ncwildlife.org, or on the Commission supplied, supplied—en preaddressed, postage-paid eards cards.
Questionnaires shall be completed by or returned-te-the-Cemmissien-and-postmarked no later than April 1 following
the end of the applicable season. Failure-te-return-the-questionnaire-and-animal-partsifrequired;-by-this-date-sha

(d) Failure to return the questionnaire and animal parts, if required, by this date shall make the individual ineligible to

receive a permit for the following applicable season.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 50 C.F.R. 20.21; 50 C.F.R. 20.105;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. July 1, 1995; April 1, 1992; February 1, 1990; September 1, 1989;
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 10, 1998;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; June 1, 2005; May 1, 2004; July 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2022.
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15ANCAC 10B .0111 RESTRICTIONS ON RACCOON AND OPOSSUM HUNTING

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1981; August 1, 1979; August 1, 1978; August 1, 1977.

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2022.

Fiscal Note for Proposed Wildlife Management Rule Amendments
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15ANCAC 10B .0119 WILDLIFE COLLECTORS

Fiscal Note for Proposed Wildlife Management Rule Amendments
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(a) Wildlife Collection Licenses may be issued to qualified individuals to take, as defined in G.S. 113-130, any species

of wildlife resources for the following purposes:

Q) scientific collection;
2 educational collection; or
3) shapping turtle collection.

(b) The following definitions shall apply to this Rule:

(€3] “Scientific collection” shall mean collection for the purpose of conducting scientific research or
survey.
(2) “Educational collection” means collection for the purpose of providing instruction, training, or

information to the public.

3) “Snapping turtle collection” means collection of snapping turtles from the family Chelydridae for
sale pursuant to 10H .1301.
4 “Personal use” means collection and holding, using as bait, or personal consumption of reptiles or

amphibians.
(c) The Commission may consider the following qualifications when issuing a license:

prior research or educational experience in the same or similar field;

work with or for an educational institution;

type of study requested of license (permanent or catch and release);

current state and guantity of species requested;

collection methodology proposed; and

EEEEBRE

disposition of collection.

(d) Individuals collecting and holding reptiles or amphibians for personal use shall not be required to obtain a Wildlife

Collection License so long as the following conditions are met:

Q) no more than 4 reptile species and 24 amphibian species per physical address;
(2 collected reptiles and amphibians shall not be bought or sold; and
3) no endangered, threatened, or special concern species shall be collected and retained.

(e) Endangered, threatened, and special concern species may not be taken or collected except under an endangered

species permit unless there is an open season for the species. If an open season exists for the species, then the

appropriate hunting, fishing, or trapping license serves as the authorization for take.

(f) Wildlife Collection licenses may be issued to any individual, so long as the take is not deemed harmful to the

efficient conservation of the species to be collected or to other wildlife species that may be dependent thereon.

(q) Individuals interested in obtaining a Wildlife Collection License shall apply by completing and submitting an

application online at www.ncwildlife.org. Information required by the applicant shall include:

1) name, address, date of birth, email, and driver’s license number; and

2) species information.

Additional information required for scientific and educational collection shall include:

Q) organizational affiliation, if any; and

2) full documentation of research or educational proposal(s) and IACUC, if applicable.
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(h) Wildlife Collection Licenses shall be used in lieu of any other hunting or trapping license required by law and

shall authorize possession and transportation of the wildlife incidental to the authorized taking. It shall not authorize

the taking, possession, or transportation of any species of wildlife in violation of the Endangered Species Act, the

Migratory Bird Treaty Act, The Bald and Golden Eagle Protection Act or any other federal act to prohibit or restrict

the possession and transportation of wildlife resources.

(i) Wildlife Collection Licenses for snapping turtle collection shall only be available to North Carolina residents. The

following conditions shall apply:

collection shall occur from June 1 through September 30;

no more than 10 snapping turtles per physical address per day;

no more than 100 snapping turtles per physical address per season;

turtles shall have a minimum curved carapace length of 13 inches; and

GEEBRE

no more than 10 trapping devices per license. Devices shall be:

Q Clearly labeled with a waterproof tag that shows the licensee’s name, or WRC Customer

Number, or Wildlife Collection License number.

(2) Hoop traps or other trap style that allows for the unharmed release of any nontarget species

or snapping turtles less than 13 inches.
3) Checked daily per 15A NCAC 10B .0110.

(1) Unless a more limited duration is designated on the license, Wildlife Collection Licenses shall be valid from January

1 through December 31 of the applicable year.

(k) Licensed individuals shall submit the following information to the Wildlife Resources Commission within 15

days of license expiration depending on the species taken:

Q the numbers of each species taken under the license and the use or disposition thereof;

(2) dates and location of the taking; and

3) sex, size, weight, condition, or approximate age of each specimen taken as specified on the license.

() Wildlife Collections License shall not be transferable either by license holder or by site of a facility.

(m) The Executive Director or his or her designee may, pursuant to G.S. 113-272.4(d), require further restrictions or

conditions on individuals licensed under this Rule as they may deem to be necessary to the efficient administration of

the wildlife conservation statutes and rules.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272.4;
Eff. January 1, 1981;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2017; January 1, 2013; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; April 1, 2001; February
1, 1994; November 1, 1990; September 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2022.
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15A NCAC 10B .0123

LIMITATIONS ON CERTAIN EXOTIC SPECIES

(a) Except as provided in this Rule, it shall be unlawful to import, transport, export, purchase, possess, sell, transfer,

or release into public or private waters or lands of the State, any live specimen(s) of

(1) Tongueless or African Clawed Frog (Xenopus spp.);

(2) Brown Anole (Anolis sagrei);

(3) Cuban Treefrog (Osteopilus septentrionalis);

(4) any Asian Newts (genera Cynops, Pachytriton, Paramesotriton, Laotriton, Tylototriton);

(5) Red-eared Slider (Trachemys scripta elegans);

(6) any Tegu (genera Salyator and Tupinambis); or

(7) Greenhouse Frog (Eleutherodactlyus planirostris).

(b) The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission may by permit authorize importation, transportation,

exportation, purchase, possession, sale, or transfer of any species in this Rule by the following entities, subject to the

specified limitations:

1) Retail and Wholesale Establishments. Importation, possession, sale, transfer, transportation, and

exportation of these species within North Carolina, by retail and wholesale establishments whose

primary business is providing scientific supplies for research, shall be allowed by permit, provided

the following conditions are met:

(A) the application for a permit shall be in writing and include plans for holding, transportation,
advertisement, and sale to allow a determination of the safeguards employed to prevent
accidental escape and sales to unauthorized individuals;

(B) in-state sale or transfer is allowed only to agencies, entities, and institutions listed in
Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph;

(© exportation shall comply with all applicable rules and regulations of the importing state;

(D) all specimens shall be possessed in indoor facilities; and

(E) transportation of specimens shall employ safeguards that prevent accidental escape.

(2) Government Agencies and Research Institutions. Purchase, importation, possession, transfer,

transportation, and exportation of these species within North Carolina shall be allowed by permitted

state and federal governmental agencies, corporate research entities, and research institutions,

provided the following conditions are met:

(A)

(B)
(©)

the application for a permit shall be in writing and include plans for holding, transportation,
final disposition, and safeguards to prevent accidental escape;
exportation shall comply with all applicable rules and regulations of the importing state;

all specimens shall be possessed in indoor facilities;
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(D) transportation of specimens shall employ safeguards that prevent accidental escape; and
(E) the agency's, entity's, or institution's Animal Use and Care Committee has approved the
research protocol for these species.
(c) Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, it shall be lawful for private individuals in possession of a live
specimen(s) of Red-eared Slider(s)(Trachemys scripta elegans) prior to August 1, 2018, to retain, transport, transfer,

or export the animal(s) in their possession. Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, it shall be lawful for private

individuals in possession of a live specimen(s) of Tequ(s) (genera Salvator and Tupinambis) and Greenhouse Frogs

(Eleutherodactlyus planirostris) prior to August 1, 2022, to retain, transport, transfer, or export the animal(s) in their
possession.

(d) Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, facilities open to the public for education may apply for a permit to
collect, receive, and possess Red-eared-Slider(s)- any of the species listed in Paragraph (a).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274; 113-292;
Eff. February 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; April 1, 1997.
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2022.
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15A NCAC 10B .0203

DEER (WHITE-TAILED)

(@) Open Seasons (All Lawful Weapons) for hunting deer:

Q) Deer With Visible Antlers. Deer with antlers or spikes protruding through the skin, as distinguished

from knobs or buttons covered by skin or velvet, may be taken on all game lands except Buffalo
Cove, Nicholson Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and South Mountains Game Lands (Refer to
15A NCAC 10D .0103 for Deer With Visible Antlers seasons on these Game Lands), during the

following seasons:

(A)

(B)

(©)

(D)

(E)

(F)

Saturday on or nearest October 15 through January 1 in all of Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick,
Carteret, Columbus*, Cumberland, Craven, Dare, Duplin, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Jones,
Lenoir, Moore, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson,
Scotland, Tyrrell, and Washington counties.

*Unlawful to hunt or kill deer in Lake Waccamaw or within 50 yards of its shoreline.
Saturday on or nearest October 15 through January 1 in all of Bertie, Camden, Chowan,
Currituck, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Johnston, Martin,
Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Vance, Wake, Warren, Wayne, and
Wilson counties.

Saturday before Thanksgiving Day through January 1 in all of Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe,
Catawba, Cleveland, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Polk, Rutherford, Stokes,
Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin counties.

Monday of Thanksgiving week through the third Saturday after Thanksgiving Day in all
of Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson,
Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey
counties.

Two Saturdays before Thanksgiving Day through January 1 in all of Alamance, Anson,
Cabarrus, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Durham, Granville, Guilford, Lee, Mecklenburg,
Montgomery, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stanly, and Union
counties.

Saturday on or nearest September 10 through January 1 in those parts of Camden, Gates,
and Pasquotank counties known as the Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge; in those
parts of Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington counties known as the Pocosin Lakes National
Wildlife Refuge; in that part of Hyde county known as Lake Mattamuskeet National
Wildlife Refuge; in those parts of Dare and Hyde counties known as Alligator River
National Wildlife Refuge; in those parts of Anson and Richmond counties known as the
Pee Dee National Wildlife Refuge; and in that part of Currituck County known as the
Mackay Island National Wildlife Refuge.

2 Deer of Either Sex. Except on Game Lands, deer of either sex may be taken during the open seasons
and in the counties and portions of counties listed in Parts (A), (B), (C), (D), (E), (F), and (G) of this
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Subparagraph (Refer to 15A NCAC 10D .0103 for either-sex deer seasons on Game Lands). Deer

of either sex may be taken during the open season identified in Part (H) of this Subparagraph.

(A)

(B)

(€)

(D)

(E)

(F)

(G)

The open either-sex deer hunting dates established by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
during the period from the Saturday on or nearest September 10 through January 1 in those
parts of Camden, Gates, and Pasquotank counties known as the Dismal Swamp National
Wildlife Refuge; in those parts of Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington counties known as the
Pocosin Lakes National Wildlife Refuge; in those parts of Anson and Richmond counties
known as the Pee Dee National Wildlife Refuge; and in those parts of Currituck County
known as the Currituck National Wildlife Refuge and the Mackay Island National Wildlife
Refuge.

The open either-sex deer hunting dates established by the appropriate military commands
at each of the military installations listed in this Paragraph, during the period from Saturday
on or nearest October 15 through January 1 in that part of Brunswick County known as the
Sunny Point Military Ocean Terminal, in that part of Craven County known and marked
as Cherry Point Marine Base, in that part of Onslow County known and marked as the
Camp Lejeune Marine Base, on Fort Bragg Military Reservation, and on Camp Mackall
Military Reservation.

Youth either-sex deer hunts. First Saturday in October for youth either-sex deer hunting by
permit only on a portion of Belews Creek Steam Station in Stokes County designated by
agents of the Commission; the third Saturday in October for youth either-sex deer hunting
by permit only on Mountain Island State Forest in Lincoln and Gaston counties; and the
second Saturday in November for youth either-sex deer hunting by permit only on
apportion of Warrior Creek located on W. Kerr Scott Reservoir, Wilkes County designated
by agents of the Commission. A youth is defined as a person under 18 years of age.

The first open Saturday of the Deer with Visible Antlers season described in Subparagraph
(a)(1) of this Rule in all of Buncombe*, Haywood, Henderson, Madison, and Transylvania
counties.

*Except for that part east of NC 191, south of the French Broad and Swannanoa Rivers,
west of US 25, and north of NC 280

The first open day of the Deer With Visible Antlers season described in Subparagraph
(@)(1) of this Rule through the first Saturday thereafter in all of Avery, Burke, Caldwell,
McDowell, Mitchell, and Yancey counties.

The first open day of the Deer with Visible Antlers season described in Subparagraph (a)(1)
of this Rule through the second Friday thereafter in all of Cleveland, Polk, and Rutherford
counties.

All the open days of the Deer With Visible Antlers season described in Subparagraph (a)(1)
of this Rule in and east of Ashe, Watauga, Wilkes, Alexander, Catawba, Lincoln, and

Gaston counties and in the following parts of counties: Buncombe: That part east of NC
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(H)

191, south of the French Broad and Swannanoa Rivers, west of US 25, and north of NC
280; and Henderson: That part east of NC 191 and north and west of NC 280.
The fourth Saturday in September in all counties, subject to the following restriction: only

persons under the age of 18 years may hunt.

(b) Open Seasons (Archery) for hunting deer:

(1)

)

Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph and the bag

limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, deer may be taken with archery equipment during the

following seasons:

(A)

(B)

Saturday on or nearest September 10 through the day immediately preceding the first open
day of the Blackpowder Firearms and Archery Seasons described in Subparagraph (c)(1)
of this Rule; and the Sunday immediately following the closing of blackpowder firearms
and archery season identified in Part (c)(1)(B) of this Rule to the Sunday before
Thanksgiving in the counties and parts of counties having the open seasons for Deer With
Visible Antlers specified by Part (a)(1)(D) of this Rule except on Buffalo Cove, Nicholson
Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and South Mountains Game Lands (Refer to 15A NCAC
10D .0103 for Archery seasons on these Game Lands).

Sunday immediately following the closing of the open season for Deer With Visible
Antlers through January 1 in the counties and parts of counties having the open season for
Deer With Visible Antlers specified by Part (a)(1)(D) of this Rule.

Restrictions

(A)

(B)

(©)

(D)

In the areas of the State where the Commission is authorized to regulate the use of dogs as
provided in G.S. 113-291.5, dogs may not be used for hunting deer during the archery
season, except a single dog on a leash may be used to retrieve a dead or wounded deer in
accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k).

Only archery equipment of the types authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 for taking deer
may be used during the archery deer hunting season.

Deer of either sex may be taken during archery seasons specified by Part (b)(1)(A) of this
Rule.

Only deer with antlers or spikes protruding through the skin, as distinguished from knobs
or buttons covered by skin or velvet, shall be taken during the archery season specified by
Part (b)(1)(B) of this Rule.

(c) Open Seasons (Blackpowder Firearms and Archery) for hunting deer:

(1)

Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, deer may be

taken only with blackpowder firearms and archery equipment during the following seasons:

(A)

Two Saturdays preceding the first day of the Deer with Visible Antlers seasons described
in Parts (a)(1)(A), (B), (C), (E), and (F) of this Rule through the second Friday thereafter
except on Buffalo Cove, Nicholson Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and South
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APPENDIX A

()

®3)

Mountains Game Lands (Refer to 15A NCAC 10D .0103 for Blackpowder Firearms and
Archery seasons on these Game Lands):

(B) Monday on or nearest October 1 through the second Saturday thereafter in the counties and
parts of counties having the open seasons for Deer With Visible Antlers specified by Part
(@)(1)(D) of this Rule.

Restrictions

(A) Deer of either sex may be taken during blackpowder firearms and archery season in any
county or county part set forth in Part (2)(2)(G) of this Rule that has either-sex days for all
lawful weapons and in the following counties: Polk, Rutherford, McDowell, Burke,
Caldwell, and Cleveland. Deer-of eithersex-may-be-taken-on-the first Saturday-day-of this

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken during the first open day of the blackpowder firearms and

archery season thru the first Saturday thereafter in any county or county part set forth in
Part (a)(2)(D) of this Rule

© Deer of either sex may be taken on the first open Saturday of the blackpowder firearms

and archery season in any county or county part not set forth in Part (a)(2) of this Rule.

B)(D) In the areas of the State where the Commission is authorized to regulate the use of dogs as
provided in G.S. 113-291.5, dogs shall not be used for hunting deer during the blackpowder
firearms and archery seasons, except a single dog on a leash may be used to retrieve a dead
or wounded deer in accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k).

As used in this Rule, “blackpowder firearms” means Any firearm - including any firearm with a

matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or similar type of ignition system - manufactured in or before

1898, that cannot use fixed ammunition; any replica of this type of firearm if such replica is not

designed or redesigned for using rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition; and any

muzzle-loading rifle, muzzle-loading shotgun, or muzzle-loading or cylinder-loading handgun that
is designed to use blackpowder, blackpowder substitute, or any other propellant loaded through the

muzzle, cylinder, or breech and that cannot use fixed ammunition.

(d) Open Season (Urban Season) for hunting deer:

(1)

(@)

®3)

Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph and the bag
limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, deer of either sex may be taken with bow and arrow in
participating cities in the State, as defined in G.S. 160A-1(2), from the second Saturday following
January 1 through the sixth Sunday thereafter. Deer shall not be taken on any game land or part
thereof that occurs within a city boundary.

Participation. Cities that intend to participate in the urban season shall send a letter to that effect no
later than April 1 of the year prior to the start of the urban season to the Executive Director or his
designee at 1722 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1700. Cities shall also submit a map of
the city's boundaries within which the urban season shall apply.

Restrictions:
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(A) In the areas of the State where the Commission is authorized to regulate the use of dogs as
provided in G.S. 113-291.5, dogs shall not be used for hunting deer during the urban
season, except a single dog on a leash may be used to retrieve a dead or wounded deer in
accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k).

(B) Only archery equipment of the types authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 for taking deer
shall be used during the urban season.

(e) Bag limits. The possession and season limit is six deer, two of which may be deer with visible antlers and four of
which may be antlerless deer. Antlerless deer include males with knobs or buttons covered by skin or velvet as
distinguished from spikes protruding through the skin. In addition to the bag limits described above, a hunter may
obtain multiple bonus antlerless deer harvest report cards from the Wildlife Resources Commission or any Wildlife
Service Agent to allow the harvest of two additional antlerless deer per card for deer harvested during the season
described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule within the boundaries of participating municipalities, except on State-owned
game lands. Antlerless deer harvested and reported on the bonus antlerless harvest report card shall not count as part
of the possession and season limit. The bag limits described above do not apply to deer harvested in areas covered in
the Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP) as described in G.S. 113-291.2(e) for those individuals using
Commission-issued DMAP tags and reporting harvest as described on the DMAP license. Season bag limits shall be
set by the number of DMAP tags issued and in the hunters' possession. All deer harvested under this program,
regardless of the date of harvest, shall be tagged with these DMAP tags and reported as instructed on the DMAP
license. The hunter does not have to validate the Big Game Harvest Report Card provided with the hunting license for
deer tagged with the DMAP tags. Any deer harvested on lands enrolled in the DMAP and not tagged with DMAP tags
may only be harvested during the regularly established deer seasons subject to all the restrictions of those seasons,

including bag limits, and reported using the big game harvest report card or the bonus antlerless harvest report card.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.3; 113-276.1; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 113-291.5;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996, July 1, 1995; December 1, 1994; July 1,
1994; July 1, 1993;
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2000;
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (Approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 04/18/02);
Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003;
Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the amendment approved by RRC on July 17,
2003);
Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015;
August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; August 1, 2011; July 10, 2010; June 1, 2008; May
1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005.
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2022.
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15ANCAC 10B .0205 RACCOON AND OPOSSUM

(a) Open-Seasen—The open season for taking raccoon and opossum shall-be is from sunrise Monday on or nearest

October 15 through the last day of February.
(b) Bag Limits:

Q) The daily bag limit for raccoon is three and there are no season and no possession limits.

(2) There is no restriction on bag limits for opossum.

(c) Axes or saws shall not be carried when raccoon or opossum hunting.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. July 1, 1995; July 1, 1987; July 1, 1986; July 1, 1985;
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999;
Amended Eff. May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; July 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2022.
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APPENDIX A

15A NCAC 10B .0206 SQUIRRELS

(a) The open season for gray and red squirrels is the Monday on or closest to October 15 through the last day of

February.
(b) The open season for fox squirrels is the Monday on or nearest October 15 through January 31.

(c) Gray squirrels may be taken by hunting on the second Monday in May through the fourth Monday in May on

privately owned lands.

(c) The daily bag limit for gray and red squirrels is eight and there are no season or possession limits.

(d) The daily bag limit for fox squirrels is one; the possession limit is two; and the season limit is 10.

History Note Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2022; August 1, 2013; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 1,
2006; July 1, 1995; July 1, 1987; July 1, 1986; July 1, 1985;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019.
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APPENDIX A

15ANCAC 10B .0402 TAGGING FURS
(a) Except as provided in Rule .0404 and .0405 of this Section, it-is-untawful-to-transpoert-er-to-buy; buying, sel;

selling, barter; bartering, trade; trading, or otherwise transfer transferring possession or ownership of the carcass or
pelt of any bobcat, etter otter, or fox without having affixed to such carcass or pelt an individual tag provided by the

North Carolina Wildlife Resources Coemmission- Commission is prohibited. Each-such-tag-shal-bear-a-serialnumber:

(b) Hisunlawful-forany-person-to-impeort Importing into this State State, the carcass or pelt of any otter or bobcat
which that has not been previously affixed with a tag required and supplied by the state in-which where the animal
was taken. taken shall be prohibited. When-the-U.S—Fish-and-Wildlife-Service repeals-its-taggingrequirementsfo
otter-and-bebeat-this-Paragraph-shall-no-longerapply-

(c) Foxes shall be tagged in accordance with G.S. 113-291.4.

(d) The carcasses or pelts of foxes lawfully taken and lawfully tagged may be sold; except those taken under a

depredation permit in any county where the sale of foxes or parts thereof is prohibited by local law.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-276.1; 50 C.F.R. 23; 87 Stat. 884;
Eff. November 14, 1978;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2010; August 1, 2004; January 1, 1992; October 11, 1980; October 1, 1980;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2022.
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APPENDIX A

15ANCAC 10B .0403  APPLICATION FOR TAGS
(a) Fur tags shall be distributed issued free of charge, excluding postage if applicable, by completing and submitting

in-response-to a request form to apphications-made-on-forms-supphied-by the Commission. Commission online at

www.ncwildlife.org.

(b) Fur tag requests shall include the following applicant information:

Q name, telephone number, email address, and physical address;

2 date of birth and driver’s license number;
3) WRC Customer number; and
4 type and guantity of tags requested.

(c) The following restrictions shall apply to fur tags:

Q) no more than 50 bobcat tags shall be issued per request;
2 no more than 150 otter tags shall be issued per request; and
3) fox tags may be limited in accordance with area, bag, possession, or season limits.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1; 113-273; 113-276.1; 113-291.4;
Eff. November 14, 1978;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; January 1, 1992; August 1, 1988; July 1, 1988; July 1, 1984.
Readopt Eff. August 1, 2022.
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APPENDIX A

15ANCAC 10H .1301 cGOMMERGCIALTAKEOF CERTAIN-TURTLES PROHIBIHFED SALE OF
NATIVE TURTLES

(a) Buying or selling any native turtle species is prohibited except for snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) with a

curved carapace length of 13 inches or greater as authorized by 10B .0119.

(e) Violators shall be subject to a replacement cost per individual turtle that shall equal the replacement cost for
"species with no open season" as set forth in 15A NCAC 10B .0117(c).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-333(a)(6);
Eff. May 1, 2007;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. December
6, 2016;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2022; November 1, 2019.
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APPENDIX A

15A NCAC 10H .1302 POSSESSION OF REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS

(a) Possession permits are required for the possession, importation, transportation, purchase, and sale per physical

address of:
1) 25 or more individuals of any combination of native amphibian species; or
2 five or more individuals of native reptile species.

(b) Possession permits are required for the rehabilitation of native reptiles and amphibians.

(c) Nothing in this Rule shall be construed to authorize the collection of any wildlife resources from the wild or the
taking, possession, transportation, sale, purchase, or release to the wild of any wildlife resources or their parts in
violation of State or federal laws or regulations.

(d) At no time shall permitted animals be released to the wild, except under situations of research or rehabilitation

with written permission from the Wildlife Resources Commission.

H(e) A possession permit shall not be issued for:

1) holding reptiles and amphibians that were acquired unlawfully;
2 holding reptiles and amphibians for unlawful sale or trade;

3) . .

(4)

&)

{6}(5) individuals in violation of the requirements of a collection license, as set forth in 15A NCAC 10B
4.0119, endangered species permit, as set forth in 15A NCAC 101 .0100, or possession permit as set
forth in this Section; or

£A(6) individuals who do not first obtain possession permits prior to acquiring the following wildlife
resources in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

{g)(f) Fhe Unless a more limited duration is designated on the permit permit, Possession Permits shall be valid from

January 1 through December 31 of the applicable year.
() Individuals permitted under this Rule shall submit a report to the Wildlife Resources Commission within 15
days following the date of permit expiration. The report shall contain the numbers of each species held under the

permit and the use or disposition thereof.
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(h) Any person engaged in the purchased transportation and sale of more than 100 snapping turtles is required to have

a possession permit. Permitted persons shall submit the numbers of snapping turtles taken under the permit and the

use or disposition thereof; to the Wildlife Resources Commission within 15 days of permit expiration.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-274(c)(1c);
Eff. May 1, 2007;
Amended Eff. May 1, 2009;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. December
6, 2016;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2022; November 1, 2019; August 1, 2017.
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APPENDIX A

15A NCAC 10H .1402 CAPTIVITY LICENSE FOR REHABILITATION
(@) A captivity license for rehabilitation shall be required for lawful possession of injured, crippled, or orphaned native
wild animals or wild birds for the purpose of providing short term care and eventual release into the animal's natural
habitat. A captivity license for rehabilitation shall not be issued for:
Q) Endangered, threatened, or special concern species as defined by 15A NCAC 101 .0100.
Rehabilitation of these species requires an endangered species permit from the Commission;

(2) Domestic animals;
(3) Feral swine;

4) Nutria;

(5) Coyote;

(6) Adult black bear; er

@) Adult white-tailed deer or ekk. elk;
(8) Nine-banded armadillo or;

9 Eggs of upland game birds.

(b) A captivity license for rehabilitation shall not be issued for the purpose of holding wild animals or wild birds:

1) As pets;

2 For education, exhibition, or scientific purposes, except as provided in Rule .1403 of this Section;

3) For dog training;

4) For hunting; or

(5) Acquired unlawfully.
(c¢) Individuals who do not possess a captivity license for rehabilitation may take temporary possession of injured,
crippled, or orphaned wild animals or wild birds, provided they are surrendered to a North Carolina licensed
veterinarian or an individual licensed under this Rule within 24 hours of taking possession of such animals.
(d) North Carolina licensed veterinarians providing medical care to sick, injured, or crippled wild animals or wild
birds are not required to have a license for rehabilitation from the Commission. North Carolina licensed veterinarians
without a captivity license for rehabilitation may hold wild animals or wild birds until the animal is medically stable.
Once medically stable, the wild animal or wild bird shall be transferred to an individual possessing a captivity license
for rehabilitation with the appropriate category for the given species. Licensed veterinarians rehabilitating wild
animals or wild birds shall have a valid captivity license for rehabilitation.
(e) Individuals applying for a captivity license for rehabilitation that have never held this license in North Carolina
or a similar license in another state shall be designated as an apprentice. The following requirements shall apply to an
apprentice license:

1) On the application, the apprentice shall designate a mentor with a valid captivity license for

rehabilitation in NC, who has held that license for two or more years;
2 An apprentice shall complete at least 12 months of supervised rehabilitation activities under a
licensed rehabilitator; and

3) An apprentice license shall only authorize the possession of squirrels, rabbits, and opossums.
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APPENDIX A

(f) Individuals applying for a captivity license for rehabilitation shall meet statutory and regulatory requirements,

including those in G.S. 113-272.5 and all applicable rules of this Section. Individuals seeking to rehabilitate migratory

birds shall provide proof of a valid and concurrent U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Federal Migratory Bird

Rehabilitation permit for each category of migratory birds to be rehabilitated. The Commission shall state on the

captivity license for rehabilitation the categories of wild animals and wild birds that the individual is licensed to

POsSsess.

(9) Required facilities.

1)

()

)
(4)

®)

Individuals holding a captivity license for rehabilitation shall conduct their rehabilitation activities
at the facility designated on their license that meets the minimum standards set forth in the "Miller,
E.A., edition. 2000. Minimum Standards for Wildlife Rehabilitation, 3rd edition. National Wildlife
Rehabilitators Association, St. Cloud, MN. 116 pages. ISBN 1-931439-00-1." This publication is
hereby incorporated by reference, excluding subsequent amendments and editions, and is available
at no cost at http://www.nwrawildlife.org/page/Minimum_Standards.

All wild animals and wild birds undergoing rehabilitation shall be separated from pets, domestic
animals, livestock, and non-native animals.

All wild animals shall be kept in separate enclosures by species.

Rehabilitation in a residence shall have designated, separate rooms used only for housing, treatment,
and rehabilitation.

Handling of animals shall be for treatment only.

(h) Wild animals or wild birds showing symptoms of or believed to be infected with a zoonotic disease shall be

euthanized or treated prior to release, based upon advice from a North Carolina licensed veterinarian.

(i) Release of rehabilitated wild animals and wild birds.

1)

(@)

3)

(4)

All rehabilitated wild animals and wild birds shall be released as soon as the animal can be expected
to survive in the wild or has attained full recovery from illness or injury, as determined by the
rehabilitator or a North Carolina licensed veterinarian.

Wild animals and wild birds may remain in a rehabilitation facility for no longer than 180 days. If
a longer rehabilitation period is needed, the license holder shall notify the Commission in writing.
The Commission shall consider extended rehabilitation on a case-by-case basis by evaluation, which
may include the nature of the animal's condition and recommended treatment plan.

Wild animals and wild birds shall not be released on property owned by another unless the
rehabilitator has written permission dated within the last 12 months from the landowner.

Wild animals or wild birds that are unfit shall be non-releasable and humanely euthanized.
However, the Commission shall consider transfer of wild animals and wild birds on a case-by-case
basis when written authorization is requested from the Commission. The wild animal or wild bird
shall only be transferred to an individual or facility with a captivity license for holding as set forth

in Rule .1403 of this Section when written authorization is obtained from the Commission.

(i) Transfer of Animals.
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)

)

3)

(4)

Wild animals originating outside the State shall not be accepted for the purpose of rehabilitation
unless written authorization is obtained from the Commission.

Wild animals received for rehabilitation may not be exported outside the State for the purpose of
rehabilitation or release after rehabilitation unless written authorization is obtained from both the
Commission and the state where the wild animal will be exported to or released from.

It shall be unlawful for a license holder to sell any wild animal or wild bird being held under a
license for rehabilitation.

It shall be lawful for a license holder to transfer a wild animal or wild bird to another individual who
possesses a valid captivity license for rehabilitation with the appropriate category for the given

species or a wild bird to another individual with a valid permit for the given species.

(k) White-tailed Deer Fawn.

(1)

@)

©)

(4)

®)

(6)

(I) Elk Calves.
@

(@)

®3)

Only individuals holding a captivity license for rehabilitation with the white-tailed deer fawn
category may possess, rehabilitate, and release white-tailed deer fawns. To become licensed to
rehabilitate white-tailed deer fawns, an individual shall meet all the requirements of the captivity
license for rehabilitation.

No white-tailed deer fawn shall be possessed until the applicant has constructed or acquired an
enclosure for keeping fawn that complies with the standards set forth in Paragraph (g) of this Rule,
and the facility has been verified by a representative of the Commission.

Any white-tailed deer fawn held for more than 48 hours shall be permanently tagged using only
Commission-provided tags.

Orphaned white-tailed deer fawns shall be held for no longer than 90 days. Injured white-tailed deer
fawns shall be held for no longer than 180 days or until December 31, whichever occurs first. If a
longer rehabilitation period is needed, the license holder shall notify the Commission in writing.
The Commission shall consider extended rehabilitation on a case-by-case basis. A fawn shall be
considered an adult on December 31 of the birth year.

Records of all white-tail deer fawn rehabilitation shall be maintained on a form, as set forth in Rule
.1406 of this Section, and submitted to the Commission within 15 days of expiration of the license
or prior to the request for reissuance of the license.

Any individual or facility with the white-tailed deer category may not rehabilitate white-tailed fawn

on properties licensed for farmed cervids.

Only individuals under a signed cooperative agreement with the Commission to meet conservation
objectives shall be authorized to rehabilitate elk calves.

Individuals in a cooperative agreement with the Commission shall obtain a captivity license for
rehabilitation with the elk calf category. To become licensed to rehabilitate elk calves, an individual
shall meet all the requirements of the captivity license for rehabilitation.

Any elk calves held for more than 48 hours shall be permanently tagged using only Commission-

provided tags.
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(4)

(5)

(6)

Any individual or facility with the elk calf category may not rehabilitate elk calves on properties
licensed for farmed cervids.

No elk calf shall be possessed until the applicant has constructed or acquired an enclosure for
keeping elk calves that complies with the standards set forth in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, and the
facility has been verified by a representative of the Commission.

Records of all elk calf rehabilitation shall be maintained on a form, as set forth in Rule .1406 of this
Section, and submitted to the Commission within 15 days of expiration of the license or prior to the

request for reissuance of the license

(m) Black Bear Cubs.

(1)

)

()

Only individuals under a signed cooperative agreement with the Commission to meet conservation
objectives shall be authorized to rehabilitate black bear cubs.

Individuals in a cooperative agreement with the Commission shall obtain a captivity license for
rehabilitation with the black bear category. To become licensed to rehabilitate black bear cubs, an
individual shall meet all the requirements of the captivity license for rehabilitation.

No black bear shall be possessed until the applicant has constructed or acquired an enclosure for
keeping black bear that complies with the standards set forth in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, and the

facility has been verified by a representative of the Commission.

(n) Rabies Species.

()

Only individuals holding a captivity license for rehabilitation with the rabies species category may

possess, rehabilitate, or release rabies species. To become licensed to rehabilitate rabies species, an

individual shall meet all requirements of the general captivity license for rehabilitation and shall:

(A) have held an active rehabilitation license within or outside of the State for at least the
previous three years and have rehabilitated during that time;

(B) certify 12 hours of rabies or rabies species-specific training or a combination thereof;

©) certify up-to-date rabies immunization in accordance with current Advisory Committee on
Immunization Practices of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention at
www.CDC.gov for any rehabilitator, staff member or volunteer, who may come in contact
with rabies species. Proof of immunization to demonstrate that the vaccine was
administered shall be provided upon the request of the Commission or authorized
representative and shall be kept at the license holder's facility;

(D) provide the name and contact information of a North Carolina licensed veterinarian with
whom the rehabilitator has consulted and who agrees to provide necessary medical
treatment to the rabies species. Contact information for the veterinarian shall be posted at
the facility where the rabies species are being rehabilitated;

(E) certify notification to the appropriate animal control authority and local health department
prior to making application to the Commission, to inform them of their anticipated
activities and location. Contact information for these agencies shall be posted at the facility

where the rabies species are being rehabilitated.
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APPENDIX A

@)

®3)

(4)

Q)

(6)

History Note:

(F) have separate facilities from non-rabies species adequate for the species to be rehabilitated.
Enclosures within the facility shall prevent escape of the animal and exposure to people,
pets, livestock, and other captive or free-ranging wildlife. Exterior caging shall be locked
and surrounded by double fencing or a solid wall barrier; and

(©)) coordinate with appropriate local health department regarding euthanasia and testing of
rabies species. A written protocol for testing shall be posted at the facility and made
available for inspection by the Commission upon request.

Except for bats, rehabilitation and release of rabies species is not authorized in counties where the

United States Department of Agriculture-Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service Oral Rabies

Vaccination (ORV) program is conducted, as specified by the United States Department of

Agriculture-Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service at www.aphis.usda.gov.

Except as otherwise specified in this Section, rabies species shall not be removed from their

containment except for treatment, release, maintenance of the enclosure, or euthanasia.

Rehabilitated rabies species must be released in either the county where they were rehabilitated or

the county where they were found.

All rabies species shall be considered potentially infected with the rabies virus. If any human or

domestic animal has been scratched, bitten, or exposed to saliva, the fluid that surrounds the brain

and spinal cord, or brain and spinal cord material from any rabies species, the license holder shall
contact the local Health Department immediately to report the incident. The local Health

Department may require euthanasia of the animal and submission of the brain for rabies testing.

Rehabilitators shall abide by all requests made by authorized public health department personnel,

animal control, or Commission personnel regarding disposition of the animal. No rabies species that

has scratched or bitten a human or domestic animal or dies in captivity can be released or disposed
of until the local Health Department investigates the situation to determine if testing is necessary.

Records of all rabies species rehabilitation shall be maintained on a form, as described in Rule .1406

of this Section, and submitted to the Commission within 15 days of expiration of the license or prior

to the request for reissuance of the license.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(b); 113-134; 113-272.5; 113-274;
Eff. January 1, 2020.
Amended Eff. August 1, 2022.

44

Fiscal Note for Proposed Wildlife Management Rule Amendments



