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Executive Summary 

This set of rules is being submitted by the NC Child Care Commission (“the Commission”) in response to 
Session Laws 2023-40 and 2024-34 regarding the modernization of the state’s quality rating improvement 
system (QRIS). QRIS is based on a star-rating licensing system that applies to child care centers and family 
child care homes that meet all minimum child care requirements which include but are not limited to health 
and safety standards and those who voluntarily choose to meet higher standards. The purpose of the star- 
rating system is twofold: 

 
1) to promote high-quality child care by providing pathways for child care facilities to meet 
enhanced standards; and 
2) to give parents a simple tool to help make informed decisions about the quality of a facility 

based on standardized educational and programmatic factors. 
 

In February 2023, the Commission initiated a project to modernize North Carolina’s QRIS, commonly 
known as the Star Rated License, in anticipation of impending legislation. The Commission formed a QRIS 
Sub-Committee that was tasked with developing recommendations for QRIS Modernization. One of the 
products of the QRIS Sub-Committee was a legislative report, which was submitted to the Joint Legislative 
Oversight Committee on Health and Human Services on March 28, 2024. The report outlined a 
recommended plan for QRIS Modernization which reflected feedback from the community regarding the 
needs of licensed child care operators and staff throughout North Carolina. The Commission has focused 
on providing additional pathways for early childhood professionals to demonstrate quality and for child 
care facilities to earn Star Rated Licenses. 

In July 2024, Session Law 2024-34 became effective and outlines the QRIS framework, pathways and 
recommendations of the legislative report. However, as stated in the legislative report, “The Child Care 
Commission recognizes that modernizing the state’s QRIS system provides one small step towards 
improving the early care and education system in our state. It does not, and cannot, address the ongoing, 
critical issues of funding for child care access, affordability, compensation, and quality in the state of North 
Carolina." 

 
The proposed rules incorporate all the elements of QRIS required by legislation as well as additional 
changes necessary for administrative clarity. The rules preserve the integrity of the state’s existing QRIS 
while providing more options for child care facilities to demonstrate and meet quality standards. These 
options include adjustments to current requirements related to staff/child ratio and enrollment that will 
result in more availability for families, options for early childhood education professionals to meet 
education standards at all star levels, and a choice of three licensure pathways to earn a Star Rated License. 
This will enable operators to demonstrate quality care practices by meeting standards that best fit the needs 
of the families they serve and the early childhood education professionals they employ. 

 
Estimated quantified costs to state government associated with implementation of the rules includes 
approximately $6,800 one-time opportunity costs to DHHS for initial rollout of the new QRIS pathways 
and allocating an estimated $400,000 from the existing Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) to pay 
five evaluators to implement competency evaluations through contracted services with a partner agency. The 
number of evaluators (and, accordingly, the total amount of funding) that will be needed is uncertain and will 
depend on uptake of the new competency evaluation option by child care centers and FCCHs. 

 
Child care centers and FCCHs will incur annual opportunity (time) costs associated with the new 
requirement for CQI plans. DHHS estimates the amount of time needed for FCCHs and child care centers 
to complete this task is about one hour per year per employee (average hourly wage = $14.20). Facilities 
could incur other costs depending on what, if any, options they pursue. For example, there could be costs 

https://webservices.ncleg.gov/ViewDocSiteFile/87398
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Child-Care-Development-Fund-CCDF
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associated with preparing a portfolio for the competency evaluation option, planning family and 
community engagement activities, pursuing accreditation or CEUs, and using a new curriculum or 
formative assessment. Presumably, they would only pursue these options if they believe the benefits would 
outweigh the costs. 

Most of the impacts to child care center and FCCH owners from the proposed rules (and session law) are in 
the form of potential avoided costs and/or potential increased revenue. For example, changes to staff/child 
ratios could result in the creation of additional child care slots. This would then result in increased income 
to a facility (market rate is currently $462 - $1,276 depending on location, age of child). Enhanced space 
requirements could allow facilities to operate in smaller spaces, potentially saving on building/leasing 
costs. More facilities may choose to pursue higher star ratings which, in turn, could help attract clientele 
and enhance profitability. Finally, the option to pursue competency evaluations in place of higher 
education to achieve higher star ratings could allow some early childhood education professionals to avoid 
direct costs and opportunity costs associated with higher education and potentially help to attract more 
workers. Based on stakeholder feedback received during the development of these rules, the Commission 
expects that all of these benefits are likely to occur. The timing and magnitude of these benefits are more 
uncertain, however, as they depend entirely on the voluntary actions of licensed child care centers and 
FCCHs. 

 
The Commission expects that the new rules will result in significant unquantifiable benefits associated with 
lower barriers to entry, encouragement of proliferation of child care facilities, and a way to maintain the 
high quality of care for which North Carolina is known. Ultimately, these changes to QRIS should further 
improve developmental outcomes for more children which will benefit them in both the short-term and 
long-term as well as provide families with more options for child care, better enabling them to maintain 
employment. The magnitude and likelihood of these potential benefits is uncertain and will depend on the 
uptake of the various options by existing and new child care centers and FCCHs. Even so, the benefits to 
children and their families from having a high quality and flexible QRIS are likely to be significant. It 
should be noted that the bulk of impacts associated with the updates to QRIS are attributable to session 
law. 

 
 

Need for Child Care in NC 

Child care facilities in NC are eligible to be licensed to care for children from Birth through 12 years of 
age. The US Census Bureau noted that, as of 2023, there were over 1.48 million children under the age of 
12 in NC. While not all families choose to enroll in services outside of their home, the early care and 
education industry is critical for a significant number of families to gain and sustain employment, a factor 
that affects a family’s personal life as well as ensures the success of all types of industry workforces. 

According to the NC Statewide Birth to Five Needs Assessment Update Addendum regarding Family  
Child Care Home and Child Care Desert Needs Assessment and Strategic Plan (March 2024), “… 44% of 
families live in a child care desert. Rural and immigrant families are more likely to live in a child care 
desert, and families with infant and toddlers and children with disabilities also have greater difficulty 
accessing care for their children.” This addendum focused on FCCHs and referenced the need for revision 
to the Quality Rating Improvement System (QRIS) as one way to better support those child care facilities. 

 
QRIS in North Carolina 

North Carolina has been a national leader in implementing QRIS, beginning in 1999. There has been one 
revision to the QRIS since initial implementation with a continued emphasis on many of the same 

https://data.census.gov/table/ACSST1Y2023.S0901?q=child%20care%20in%20nc
https://childandfamilypolicy.duke.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2024/09/NC-Child-Care-Homes-and-Deserts-Report.pdf
https://childandfamilypolicy.duke.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2024/09/NC-Child-Care-Homes-and-Deserts-Report.pdf
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standards. QRIS Modernization is focused on meeting the current needs of families and the early care and 
education workforce, using information from community outreach and building on 24 years of quality 
child care practices. Offering innovative choices in QRIS through multiple licensure pathways and 
education standard options will support families, early childhood education professionals and the early care 
and learning system. 

Figures 1 through 4 show trends in provider participation in QRIS and child enrollment in select years. 
Note that data prior to 2004 was unavailable, and data after 2018 was excluded due to pandemic related 
exemptions. In general, the number of child care centers participating in QRIS and the number of children 
enrolled in participating child care centers has been relatively stable over time (pre-pandemic). There has 
been an increase in the proportion of child care centers with higher star ratings over time. Conversely, there 
has been a decline in the number of FCCHs participating in QRIS as well as the number of children 
enrolled in participating FCCHs over time. Similar to child care centers, a higher proportion of FCCHs 
were operating under higher star ratings over time. There continues to be ongoing, critical issues of 
funding for child care access, affordability, and compensation as described in a recent documentary about 
the child care crisis in North Carolina titled “Take Care”. 

 
 

Figure 1. Participation in QRIS by Star Rating for Child Care Centers in Select Years 
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Figure 2. Participation in QRIS by Star Rating for FCCHs in Select Years 
 

 
Figure 3. Child Enrollment in QRIS by Star Rating for Child Care Centers in Select Years 
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Figure 4. Child Enrollment in QRIS by Star Rating for FCCHs in Select Years 
 

 

 
Current Participation in Star-Rating System 
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after the temporary period. This standard can be obtained by child care facilities that are implementing 
some, but not all, quality standards. As of October 1, 2024, the North Carolina Star Rated License system 
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Figure 5. Percentage of Licenses by Star Rating for Child Care Centers as of 10/1/24 
 

 
 

Figure 6. Percentage of Licenses by Star Rating for FCCHs as of 10/1/24 
 

 
 
 
 

Proposed Rules 
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for all recommendations. 
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Table 1: Overview of New Requirements from Session Law versus Proposed Rules (10A NCAC 09) 

 
Requirement 

Source of Impact  
Comments 

Session Law 10A NCAC 09 

 
Scope 
10A NCAC 09 .3201 

 
 

X 

 Applicable content of 10A NCAC 09 .2801 moved to Section .3200. 
Describes scope of requirements for a child care facility to earn a 
two through five star rated license, noting the licensure pathways 
described in S.L. 2024-34. No impact beyond that created by 
session law. 

 
Application for a Two through 
Five Star Rated License 
10A NCAC 09 .3202 

 
 

 
X 

 
 

 
X 

Applicable content of 10A NCAC 09 .2802 moved to Section 
.3200. Describes process for applying for a two through five star 
rated license, including the licensure pathways described in S.L. 
2024-34. An additional change clarifies that a facility may apply 
for a 2-5 Rated License during the six month temporary time 
period. This enables new facilities to get a 2-5 Star Rated License 
quicker than if they had to wait until the end of the temporary 
period to apply. 

 
Pathway #1 – Program 
Assessment for Child Care 
Centers and FCCHs 
10A NCAC 09 .3203 and 
.3204 

 
 

 
X 

 
 

 
X 

This licensure pathway is required by S.L. 2024-34, Section 
(8)(a)(1) and aligns with the current QRIS system. Use of a new 
edition of the Environment Rating Scale is required by S.L. 2024- 
34, Section (8)(e) and is included in this pathway. Requirements of 
this licensure pathway comply with S.L. 2024-34, Section (8)(g) 
regarding the program and education standards for QRIS. The 
Commission proposes supporting rules to further define the 
requirements of earning a Star Rated License through this pathway. 

Pathway #2 – Classroom & 
Instructional Quality for Child 
Care Centers and FCCHs 
10A NCAC 09 .3205 and 
.3206 

 

 
X 

 

 
X 

This new licensure pathway is required by S.L. 2024-34, Section 
(8)(a)(2). Requirements of this licensure pathway comply with S.L. 
2024-34, Section (8)(g) regarding the program and education 
standards for QRIS. The Commission proposes supporting rules to 
further define the requirements of earning a Star Rated License 
through this pathway. 

 
Pathway #3 – Accreditation 
and Head Start 
10A NCAC 09 .3207 

 

 
X 

 

 
X 

This new licensure pathway is described in S.L. 2024-34, Sections 
(8)(a)(3), (8)(b), (8)(c) and (8)(i). This rule is necessary since 
Sections (8)(b) and (8)(c) will expire on the effective date of rules 
implementing QRIS reform. The Commission proposes supporting 
rules to further define the requirements of earning a Star Rated 
License through this pathway. 

 
 
 

Enhanced Staff/Child Ratios 
for a Child Care Center 
10A NCAC 09 .3208 

  
 

 
X 

Content of 10A NCAC 09 .2818(b) moved to this rule in Section 
.3200. Language was added to clarify that enhanced staff/child 
ratios do not apply to facilities who choose to use multi-age group 
staff child ratios in accordance with Rule .0713(f). This 
requirement is proposed to be used in all licensure pathways, at 
varying star levels. This is a current requirement in QRIS but is only 
a choice at lower point levels. The impact would depend on an 
operator’s choice of requirements. 

Reduced, Enhanced 
Staff/Child Ratios for a Child 
Care Center 
10A NCAC 09 .3209 

  

 
X 

Content of 10A NCAC 09 .2818(c) moved to this rule in Section 
.3200. This requirement is proposed to be applicable at the highest 
level of Pathway #2 only. It is not proposed to apply to Pathway #1 
or Pathway #3. This is a change since it is a current requirement at 
the highest star level. The impact would depend on an operator’s 
choice of requirements. 
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Enhanced Space Requirements 
for Child Care Centers 
10A NCAC 09.3210 

 
 

X 

Content of 10A NCAC 09 .2809 moved to this rule in Section 
.3200. This requirement is proposed to be applicable to Pathway #1 
and Pathway #2 as a choice at varying star levels. The impact 
would depend on an operator’s choice of requirements. 

 
Enhanced Education 
Standards 
10A NCAC 09 .3211-.3217 

 
 
 

X 

 
 
 

X 

Education requirements were revised to address workforce 
challenges with the options for education standards described in 
S.L. 2024-34, Section (8)(g). New options added by session law 
include Child Development Associate, early childhood education 
certificates, and experience-based options. The Commission 
proposes supporting rules to further define the requirements of 
education standards for all employment positions. 

 
Competency Evaluations 
10A NCAC 09 .3218 

 

 
X 

 

 
X 

This new rule specifies the requirements for competency 
evaluations as required by S.L. 2024-34, Section (8)(g). This is a 
new option in education standards for lead teachers, teachers, and 
FCCH operators that have not completed higher education. The 
Commission proposes supporting rules to further define the 
requirements of competency evaluations. 

Family and Community 
Engagement Standards 
10A NCAC 09 .3219 and 
.3220 

 

 
X 

 

 
X 

This new rule specifies the requirements regarding family and 
community engagement practices described in S.L. 2024-34, 
Section (8)(g) regarding program standards. The Commission 
proposes supporting rules to further define the requirements of 
family and community engagement practices, including choices for 
all child care facilities. 

Continuous Quality 
Improvement 
10A NCAC 09 .3221 

 
X 

 
X 

This new rule specifies the requirements regarding continuous 
quality improvement standards described in S.L. 2024-34, Section 
(8)(g) regarding program standards. The Commission proposes 
supporting rules to further define the requirements of continuous 
quality improvement for individuals and child care facilities. 

 
 

Maintaining the Star Rating 
10A NCAC 09 .3222 

 

 
X 

 

 
X 

Content of 10A NCAC 09 .2830 moved to Section .3200. Describes 
requirements for maintaining a two through five star rated license, 
noting the licensure pathways described in S.L. 2024-34. Language 
regarding employment related changes to a facility were revised to 
allow more flexibility for operators. Clarifications regarding 
accreditation related situations were also added in response to the 
addition of that licensure pathway. 

How An Operator May 
Request of Appeal a Change 
in Rating 
10A NCAC 09 .3223 

 
 

X 

 Content of 10A NCAC 09 .2831 moved to Section .3200. Describes 
requirements for requesting a change in star rating and how to 
appeal a change in star rating. Minor revisions were made to the 
current language to align with proposed QRIS revisions. No 
impact beyond that created by session law. 

 
Recognition of Quality 
Initiatives 10A NCAC 09 .3224 

 

 
X 

 

 
X 

This new rule specifies the opportunities to earn recognition or 
acknowledgment for voluntary participation in other quality 
initiatives or specialties that are implemented in addition to QRIS 
standards, as described in S.L. 2024-34, Section (8)(g). The 
Commission proposes rules to further define the requirements of 
these opportunities. 

Accrediting Organizations and 
Star Rating Equivalency 
10A NCAC 09 .3225 

 
X 

 This new rule reiterates the requirements of S.L. 2024-34, Section 
(8)(c). This rule is necessary since Section (8)(c) will expire on the 
effective date of rules implementing QRIS reform. No impact 
beyond that created by session law. 

 
Approval of Formative 
Assessments 
10A NCAC 09 .3226 

 

 
X 

 

 
X 

This new rule specifies the requirements for the approval of 
formative assessments, described in S.L. 2024-34, Section (8)(g) 
regarding program standards related to child observation and 
assessment. This will be a new requirement for child care facilities 
that choose Pathway #2 to earn a Star Rated License. It is a current 
requirement for NC Pre-Kindergarten facilities. The approval 
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   process is a current Child Care Commission activity. 

Definitions 
10A NCAC 09 .0102 

 
X 

 
X 

Includes revised definitions based on the requirements of S.L. 2024- 
34 and additional definitions for clarification of rules in Section 
.3200. 

Developmental Day Services: 
License 
10A NCAC 09 .2902 

 
X 

 Aligns licensure requirements for Developmental Day Services with 
the licensure pathways described in S.L. 2024-34. No impact 
beyond that created by session law and proposed rules in Section 
.3200. 

Developmental Day Services: 
Family Services 
10A NCAC 09 .2905 

 
 

X 

 Aligns family services requirements for Developmental Day 
Services with the requirements regarding family and community 
engagement practices described in S.L. 2024-34, Section (8)(g) 
regarding program standards. No impact beyond that created by 
session law and proposed rules in Section .3200. 

NC Pre-Kindergarten: 
Facility Requirements 
10A NCAC 09 .3002 

 
X 

 Aligns licensure requirements for NC Pre-Kindergarten programs 
with the licensure pathways described in S.L. 2024-34. No impact 
beyond that created by session law and proposed rules in Section 
.3200. 

NC Pre-Kindergarten: Staff- 
To-Child Ratio and Class Size 
10A NCAC 09 .3009 

 
X 

 Aligns rule with S.L. 2023-134 requirements for staff/child ratio and 
group size requirements. This is an existing requirement that needs 
clarification in Child Care Rules. No impact beyond that created by 
session law. 

NC Pre-Kindergarten: Family 
Engagement 
10A NCAC 09 .3010 

 
X 

 Aligns family services requirements for NC Pre-Kindergarten 
programs with the requirements regarding family and community 
engagement practices described in S.L. 2024-34, Section (8)(g) 
regarding program standards. No impact beyond that created by 
session law and proposed rules in Section .3200. 

 
QRIS System Overview 
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Program Assessment 

 

 
 

Pathway #2: 
Classroom & Instructional 
Quality 
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4 Star All 4 Star Standards All 4 Star Standards AND 4 Star 
Education 
Standards 

5 Star All 5 Star Standards All 5 Star Standards AND 5 Star 
Education 
Standards 
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10A NCAC 09 .3201 – Scope 
This Rule defines the scope of the proposed rules for “Pathways to the Stars: Where Quality and Choice 
Meet”, the requirements for child care facilities to meet in order to earn a Two through Five Star Rated 
License. This is similar to the existing Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2801. One subparagraph, 10A 
NCAC 09 .2801(c), is not included in 10A NCAC 09 .3201 since it refers to One Star License requirements 
and is not applicable to QRIS which focuses on requirements for Two through Five Star Rated Licenses. 

10A NCAC 09 .3202 – Application for a Two through Five Star Rated License 
This Rule outlines the application process for applying for a Two through Five Star Rated License. This is 
similar to the existing Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2802. Notable changes from existing requirements are 
as follows: 

• Revisions to paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2802(a) are included in 10A NCAC 09 .3202(a) to clarify the 
operational requirements to apply for a Two through Five Star Rated License. Existing language 
specifies that a facility must be in operation for a minimum of six consecutive months in order to 
apply. Revised language specifies demonstration of compliance while operating with a Temporary 
License which provides necessary clarification regarding when an operator may apply for a Two 
through Five Star Rated License. This allows application for a Two through Five Star License during 
the six month temporary time period, rather than at the end, ensuring a smoother and quicker 
transition from the Temporary License to a Two through Five Star Rated License. 

• Revisions to paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2802(c) are included in 10A NCAC 09 .3202(c) to address 
new licensure pathway options in QRIS. 

• Paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2802(d) regarding curriculum has been moved to 10A NCAC 09 .3203, 
.3204, .3205 and .3206 as part of those licensure pathway requirements. 

• Paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2802(f) regarding the Environment Rating Scale (ERS) has been moved 
to 10A NCAC 09 .3203 and .3204 as part of the program assessment pathway requirements and 
revised to reflect use of an updated version of ERS as set forth in Session Law 2024-34. 

10A NCAC 09 .3203 – Pathway 1: Program Assessment for Child Care Centers 
This Rule describes one of three licensure pathways that a child care center may choose to earn a Two 
through Five Star Rated License using program assessment, a familiar process since this licensure pathway 
is most similar to current QRIS requirements in Section .2800 for child care centers. Notable changes from 
existing requirements are as follows: 

• Existing enhanced ratio and/or enhanced space requirements depending on the star level desired. 
• Existing curriculum requirements for 4 year olds in 4 and 5 Star Rated Licensed centers. 
• Proposed education standards regarding Lead Teachers were initially revised during the pandemic 

from 75% of Lead Teachers meeting education requirements to 50%, as set forth in Session Law 
2021-127. Session Law 2024-34 continues the requirements for 50% of Lead Teachers to meet star 
level requirements, rather than 75%. In addition, the Commission elected to consistently evaluate 
the education of all other staffing positions, including a requirement that 50% of other educators 
must meet the desired star level. The star level of these two groups of staff impacts a center’s 
eligibility for a star rated license. This is in lieu of a points-based system where each type of staff 
position impacts the overall star rated license for a center. 

• Notation of the updated version of the Environment Rating Scales (ERS) – Third Edition and 
SACERS-U as set forth in Session Law 2024-34, with revised threshold scores that include averages. 
Average threshold scores are required at the 4 and 5 Star Rated License levels only, in lieu of earning 
points toward a star rated license. A transitional threshold score and a long term threshold score are 
built into the rules to allow centers to adjust to and plan for the updated requirements of ERS. 

• Addition of a structured self-study requirement at every star level. 
• Addition of continuous quality improvement standards at every star level. 
• Addition of family and community engagement standards at every star level. This includes 

foundational practices and additional activity choices depending on the desired star level. 
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• Addition of a method for the Commission to approve additional program assessment tools, if 
requested. 

• Continues caregiving requirements related to activity schedules and areas as currently specified in 
Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2806. 

• Continues to require a second administrator when a center is licensed to care for 200 or more children 
as currently specified in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2819(f). 

• Continues to require a second program coordinator when a center is licensed to care for 200 or more 
school-age children as currently specified in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2822(c). 

10A NCAC 09 .3204 – Pathway 1: Program Assessment for Family Child Care Homes (FCCH) 
This Rule describes one of three licensure pathways that a FCCH may choose to earn a Two through Five 
Star Rated License using program assessment, a familiar process since this licensure pathway is most 
similar to current QRIS requirements in Section .2800 for FCCH. Notable changes from existing 
requirements are as follows: 

• No enrollment reductions for any star level, in lieu of the points-based system that required fewer 
infants be enrolled to earn higher programmatic points toward licensure. 

• Existing curriculum requirements for 4 year olds in 4 and 5 Star Rated Licensed FCCHs. 
• The FCCH operator meets the requirements of the desired star level. This is in lieu of a points-based 

system where the number of points earned impacts the overall star rated license for a FCCH. 
• Notation of the updated version of the Environment Rating Scales (ERS) – Third Edition aligns with 

Session Law 2024-34, with revised threshold scores. The threshold scores are required at the 4 and 
5 Star Rated License levels only, in lieu of earning points toward a star rated license. A transitional 
threshold score and a long term threshold score are built into the rules to allow FCCHs to adjust to 
and plan for the updated requirements of ERS. 

• Continued self-study requirement at every star level. Self-study requirements are part of current 
FCCH rules specified in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2828 to earn any programmatic points 
toward a star rated license. 

• Addition of continuous quality improvement standards at every star level. 
• Addition of family and community engagement standards at every star level. This includes 

foundational practices and additional activity choices depending on the desired star level. 
• Addition of a method for the Commission to approve additional program assessment tools, if 

requested. 

10A NCAC 09 .3205 – Pathway 2: Classroom and Instructional Quality for Child Care Centers 
This new Rule describes one of three licensure pathways that a child care center may choose to earn a Two 
through Five Star Rated License. This is a new licensure pathway set forth in Session Law 2024-34. 

• Existing enhanced ratio and/or enhanced space requirements depending on the star level desired. At 
the Five Star Rated License level, centers must meet existing reduced, enhanced ratio requirements. 
This requirement is comparable to the highest programmatic standard of the current QRIS. This 
more stringent ratio is intentional for this pathway to ensure effective implementation of curriculum 
and child assessment requirements. 

• Existing curriculum requirements for 4 year olds in 4 and 5 Star Rated Licensed centers. 
• Proposed education standards that continue Hold Harmless requirements for 50% of Lead Teachers 

to meet star level requirements. In addition, 50% of other educators must meet the desired star level. 
The star level of these two groups of staff impacts a center’s eligibility for a star rated license. This 
is in lieu of a points-based system where each type of staff position impacts the overall star rated 
license for a center. 

• Continuous quality improvement standards at every star level. 
• Family and community engagement standards at every star level. This includes foundational 

practices and additional activity choices depending on the desired star level. 
• Curriculum implementation for all ages served. At the Four and Five Star rated License levels, 
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implementation of an approved curriculum for all ages served is required. 
• At the Three Star Rated License level, child observation for each child enrolled is required. At the 

Four and Five Star Rated License levels, approved formative assessments are required to be used for 
each child enrolled. 

• At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, results of the formative assessment are shared with 
families. 

• At the Three through Five Star Rated License levels, the center administrator and/or lead teachers 
participate in one of three coaching or training choices regarding classroom and instructional 
practices. 

• At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, the center administrator and/or lead teachers 
complete training in the curriculum and formative assessment tool used. 

 
10A NCAC 09 .3206 – Pathway 2: Classroom and Instructional Quality for Family Child Care 
Homes 
This new Rule describes one of three licensure pathways that a FCCH may choose to earn a Two through 
Five Star Rated License. This is a new licensure pathway set forth in Session Law 2024-34. 

• No enrollment reductions to earn Two through Four Star Rated Licenses. At the Five Star Rated 
License level, FCCHs meeting the capacity requirements of G.S. 110-91(7)(b)(1) shall not have more 
than four children enrolled under the age of 24 months who are birth to five years of age. This 
requirement is comparable to the current requirement that reduces the number of infants served by 
one but less stringent than the current requirement to earn maximum points toward licensure by 
reducing the number of infants served by two. Enrollment reduction is an intentional requirement 
for this pathway to ensure effective implementation of curriculum and child assessment 
requirements. 

• Existing curriculum requirements for 4 year olds in 4 and 5 Star Rated Licensed FCCHs. 
• The FCCH operator meets the requirements of the desired star level. This is in lieu of a points-based 

system where the number of points earned impacts the overall star rated license for a FCCH. 
• Continuous quality improvement standards at every star level. 
• Family and community engagement standards at every star level. This includes foundational 

practices and additional activity choices depending on the desired star level. 
• Curriculum implementation for all ages served. At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, 

implementation of an approved curriculum for all ages served is required. 
• At the Three Star Rated License level, child observation for each child enrolled is required. At the 

Four and Five Star Rated License levels, approved formative assessments are required to be used for 
each child enrolled. 

• At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, results of the formative assessment are shared with 
families. 

• At the Three through Five Star Rated License levels, the FCCH operator participates in one of three 
coaching or training choices regarding classroom and instructional practices. 

• At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, the FCCH operator completes training in the 
curriculum and formative assessment tool used. 

10A NCAC 09 .3207 – Pathway 3: Accreditation and Head Start 
This new Rule describes one of three licensure pathways that a child care facility may choose to earn a 
Two through Five Star Rated License. This is a new licensure pathway set forth in Session Law 2024-34, 
which states that a child care facility may be awarded a star rated license based on accreditation that is in 
good standing. 

• Accreditation through seven approved accreditation organizations shall receive either a Three or 
Five Star Rated License. All seven of those organizations are included in this rule with the 
designated star rating. 

• For facilities that earn a Three Star Rated License through accreditation, the Session Law specifies 
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that there shall be opportunities to allow that facility to increase its star rating. This rule describes 
the education standards that will be required for those facilities to increase to a Four or Five Star 
Rated License. 

• Subparagraph (g) of this Rule states a Five Star Rated License may be issued to Head Start or Early 
Head Start facilities as allowed in Session Law 2024-34. 

• Subparagraph (i) of this Rule sets forth the staff/child ratio requirements for accredited facilities. 
This allows for implementation of required accreditation standards regarding staff/child ratio or a 
choice between accreditation standards and QRIS standards in proposed Child Care Rule 10A 
NCAC 09 .3208. 

• Subparagraph (j) exempts accredited and Head Start facilities from additional programmatic 
requirements regarding curriculum, continuous quality improvement and family/community 
engagement since those standards are addressed as part of the accreditation award or Head Start 
designation. This eliminates duplication of licensing requirements for these child care facilities. 

• Continues caregiving requirements related to activity schedules and areas as currently specified in 
Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2806. 

• Continues to require a second administrator when a center is licensed to care for 200 or more children 
as currently specified in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2819(f). 

• Continues to require a second program coordinator when a center is licensed to care for 200 or more 
school-age children as currently specified in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2822(c). 

10A NCAC 09 .3208 – Enhanced Ratio for Child Care Centers 
The staff/child ratios and group sizes in this Rule are identical to the staff/child ratios and group size 
requirements currently in 10A NCAC 09 .2818(a), (b), (d) and (e). One clarification was added, 10A 
NCAC 09 .3208(e) specifies that use of 10A NCAC 09 .0713(f) by a child care center satisfies the 
requirement for enhanced staff/child ratios in QRIS. 

10A NCAC 09 .3209 – Reduced, Enhanced Ratio for Child Care Centers 
The staff/child ratios and group sizes in this Rule are identical to the staff/child ratios and group size 
requirements currently in 10A NCAC 09 .2818(a), (c), (d) and (e). One clarification was added, 10A NCAC 
09 .3209(e) specifies that use of 10A NCAC 09 .0713(f) by a child care center satisfies the requirement for 
reduced, enhanced staff/child ratios in QRIS. 

10A NCAC 09 .3210 – Enhanced Space for Child Care Centers 
The indoor and outdoor space requirements in this Rule are identical to the enhanced space requirements 
currently in 10A NCAC 09 .2809. 

10A NCAC 09 .3211 - .3217 – Enhanced Education Standards 
Education standards have been revised to address workforce challenges and to include experience and 
competency based options. The entry level education requirements for QRIS have not been increased and 
the highest standards remain in place. The revisions offer options throughout the different star levels and 
employment position for an educator to achieve their professional goals. These revisions support a person 
who is just entering this profession and the experience of those that have been part of our system for years. 
New options include the Child Development Associate (CDA), early childhood education certificates and 
experience based options that include completion of continuing education units (CEU’s) or competency 
evaluations. All of these options align with Session Law 2024-34, Section 8(g) regarding education 
standards. 

 
10A NCAC 09 .3218 – Competency Evaluation Standards 
Competency Evaluation is a new option in education standards set forth in Session Law 2024-34. As 
proposed, it applies to individuals who are lead teachers, teachers and family child care home operators that 
have not completed higher education. This is combined with years of experience as an option to meet various 
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star levels depending on the employment role of this individual. 
 

10A NCAC 09 .3219 – Family and Community Engagement Standards for Child Care Centers 
This new Rule describes new standards that focus on family and community engagement for child care 
centers as set forth in Session Law 2024-34. Foundational practices begin at the Two Star Rated License 
level and to earn a Three through Five Star Rated License, a child care center chooses additional options 
from three categories of engagement. The number of additional options a child care center must implement 
increases with every star level. 

10A NCAC 09 .3220 – Family and Community Engagement Standards for Family Child Care Homes 
This new Rule describes new standards that focus on family and community engagement for FCCHs as set 
forth in Session Law 2024-34. Foundational practices begin at the Two Star Rated License level and to earn 
a Three through Five Star Rated License, a FCCH operator chooses additional options from three categories 
of engagement. The number of additional options the operator must implement increases with every star 
level. 

 
10A NCAC 09 .3221 – Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) Standards 
This new Rule outlines CQI plan requirements as set forth in Session Law 2024-34. As proposed, it applies 
to individuals and facilities by requiring development of goals for continuous quality improvement. This 
includes documenting the reason/need for the goals, resources needed to accomplish the goal, and a yearly 
evaluation of the progress toward the goal. This is intended to promote a reflective process that leads to 
sustained quality regarding teaching, learning and practices that achieve better outcomes for children, staff 
and programs. 

 
10A NCAC 09 .3222 – Maintaining the Star Rating 
This Rule defines the requirements for child care facilities to maintain a Two through Five Star Rated 
License. This Rule is similar to the existing Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2830. Notable changes from 
existing requirements are as follows: 

• Revisions to sub-paragraphs of 10A NCAC 09 .2830(a) are included in 10A NCAC 09 .3222(a) to 
address new licensure pathway options in QRIS. 

• Revisions to paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2830(c) are included in 10A NCAC 09 .3222(c) and are 
intended to address workforce crisis issues regarding employment related changes. 

• Revisions to paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2830(d) are included in 10A NCAC 09 .3222(d) and (e) to 
address new licensure pathway options in QRIS. 

• Addition of paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .3222(f) to address accreditation licensure pathway situations. 

10A NCAC 09 .3223 – How An Operator May Request or Appeal a Change in Rating 
This Rule outlines the process for requesting a change in star rating and how to appeal a change in star 
rating. This Rule is similar to the existing Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2831. Minor revisions to 
paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2831(b) are included in 10A NCAC 09 .3223(b) to address proposed revisions 
regarding program assessment. 

 
10A NCAC 09 .3224 – Recognition of Quality Initiatives 
This is a new Rule that acknowledges participation in or completion of quality initiatives and practices that 
are not otherwise addressed in QRIS as set forth in Session Law 2024-34. These are options that child care 
facilities may choose to earn and that accompany any Two through Five Star Rated License.  This recognition 
is not used to earn a Two through Five Star Rated License. 

10A NCAC 09 .3225 – Accrediting Organizations and Star Rating Equivalency 
This is a new Rule that aligns with Session Law 2024-34 regarding the Child Care Commission’s 
reassessment of an accreditation organization’s star rating designation within QRIS and the discretionary 
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assessment and approval of additional accreditation organizations for QRIS upon request. This Rule 
specifies that the accreditation standards will be compared to QRIS standards in Section .3200 to determine 
star rating designation and/or approval. 

 
10A NCAC 09 .3226 – Approval of Formative Assessments 
This is a new Rule that specifies the review and approval process of formative assessment tools to support 
the requirements of the licensure pathway described in proposed rules .3205 and .3206 and set forth in 
Session Law 2024-34. Formative assessments are an existing requirement in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 
09 .3008 for NC Pre-K facilities. The Child Care Commission already approves formative assessment tools 
using the specified criteria and the current list of approved formative assessment tools is published on the 
Division’s website. Since non-NC Pre-K child care facilities may already be using formative assessment 
tools that are not part of the currently approved list, this Rule provides information regarding approval of 
additional formative assessment tools. 

 
10A NCAC 09 .0102 – Definitions 
This revised Rule is in response to Session Law 2024-34 regarding QRIS Modernization and the proposed rules of 
Section .3200. These rules are directly related to the implementation of QRIS for all child care facilities and 
the proposed changes reflect the recommendations in the legislative report, new legislation that requires 
rulemaking, and aligns with the proposed rules in Section .3200 for QRIS. Notable changes from existing 
requirements are as follows: 

• Addition of definition for “administrative work experience” in 10A NCAC 09 .0102(2). There was 
not a definition for this type of work experience though the term is used throughout the Child Care 
Rules, including QRIS requirements. 

• Addition of definition for “centers located in a residence” in 10A NCAC 09 .0102(8). There was not 
a definition for this type of facility though the term is used throughout the Child Care Rules, including 
QRIS requirements. 

• Updated definition for Environment Rating Scale (ERS) tools in 10A NCAC 09 .0102 (18), (21), (29) 
and (45) as set forth in Session Law 2024-34. 

• Addition of definition for “early childhood education work experience” in 10A NCAC 09 .0102(19). 
There was not a definition for this type of work experience though the term is used throughout the 
Child Care Rules, including QRIS requirements. 

• Updated definition for “Family Child Care Home” to reflect existing law. 

10A NCAC 09 .2902 - License (Developmental Day Services) 
This revised Rule is in response to Session Law 2024-34 regarding QRIS Modernization and the proposed rules of 
Section .3200. These rules are directly related to the implementation of QRIS for Developmental Day 
Centers which are required to maintain a 4 or 5 Star Rated License in addition to other requirements that 
are specific to Developmental Day facilities. The revisions align this rule with proposed rules in Section 
.3200 that describe three licensure pathways. Notable changes from existing requirements are as follows: 

• Subparagraph (c) of this Rule is being revised so that operators of Developmental Day Centers 
may choose from the three licensure pathways described in proposed Section .3200 regarding 
QRIS. 

• The requirement for an Environment Rating Scale (ERS) and threshold score has been revised to 
reflect that it will only be applicable if the operator chooses to meet the requirements of proposed 
Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .3202 regarding program assessment to earn a four or five star 
rated license. 

10A NCAC 09 .2905 – Family Services (Developmental Day Services) 
This revised Rule is in response to Session Law 2024-34 regarding QRIS Modernization and the proposed rules of 
Section .3200. These rules are directly related to the implementation of QRIS for Developmental Day 
Centers and the revisions eliminate duplication of requirements between this rule and family/community 
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engagement standards in proposed Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .3219. It was further specified that the 
remaining activities shall not be used to meet any other choices selected to fulfill licensure requirements 
regarding family/community engagement standards of QRIS. 

10A NCAC 09 .3002 – Facility Requirements (NC Pre-Kindergarten) 
This revised Rule is in response to Session Law 2024-34 regarding QRIS Modernization and the proposed rules of 
Section .3200. The revisions reflect requirements related to the implementation of QRIS for NC Pre- 
Kindergarten facilities which are required to maintain a 4 or 5 Star Rated License in addition to other NC 
Pre-Kindergarten rules. The revisions align this rule with proposed rules in Section .3200 that describe 
three licensure pathways. Notable changes from existing requirements are as follows: 

• Subparagraph (a) of this Rule is being revised so that operators of NC Pre-K facilities may choose 
from the three licensure pathways described in proposed Section .3200 regarding QRIS. 

• Subparagraph (b) of this Rule is being revised to reflect the updated edition of the Environment 
Rating Scale (ERS) tool as set forth in Session Law 2024-34. The requirement for an ERS 
assessment and threshold score will only be applicable if the operator chooses to earn a Four or 
Five Star Rated License by meeting the requirements of proposed Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 
.3202 regarding program assessment or proposed Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .3205 regarding 
classroom and instructional quality. Operators that choose to earn a Four or Five Star Rated 
License by meeting the requirements of proposed Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .3207 regarding 
accreditation and Head Start designation will not be required to complete an ERS assessment. 

10A NCAC 09 .3009 – Staff-To-Child Ratio and Class Size (NC Pre-Kindergarten) 
This revised Rule is in response to Session Law 2023-134 regarding staff-to-child ratio and class size for NC Pre-K 
facilities. Currently licensed NC Pre-K facilities are already meeting this requirement. 

 
10A NCAC 09 .3010 – Family Engagement (NC Pre-Kindergarten) 
This revised Rule is in response to Session Law 2024-34 regarding QRIS Modernization and the proposed 
rules of Section .3200. These rules are directly related to the implementation of QRIS for NC Pre- 
Kindergarten facilities and are being revised to align requirements between this rule and family/community 
engagement standards in proposed Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .3219. The revisions specify that four 
of the six activities may be used to fulfill licensure requirements regarding family/community engagement 
standards of QRIS. 

 
*It is anticipated that Section .2800 “Two Through Five Star Rated Licenses” will be repealed at the time that 
Section .3200 is adopted. 

 
 
 

Impact Analysis 
The availability of new licensure pathways for child care facilities has the potential to support and promote 
quality ratings as stakeholders will be able to find their place in the system. The addition of choices with 
QRIS is expected to remove barriers for the individuals of the early childhood workforce as well as the 
child care facilities in earning their star rated license. Examples of barriers identified by stakeholders and 
described in the legislative report: 

 
• Staff shortages, turnover and education requirements, including opposing views regarding higher 

education requirements vs. experience-based knowledge. These rules create more choices in 
education standards, including higher education coursework/degrees and experience, training and 
competency options. This offers early childhood professionals more opportunities to demonstrate 
knowledge, skills and abilities regarding quality care practices. 

https://webservices.ncleg.gov/ViewDocSiteFile/87398
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• Barriers in applying program assessment standards for programs with a specific teaching 
philosophy or pedagogy. Accreditation for Montessori programs is included in QRIS as required 
by Session Law 2024-34 and eliminates program requirements that have previously presented 
challenges such as program assessment and curriculum requirements. The Classroom and 
Instructional Quality Pathway offers an additional option for programs that prefer to demonstrate 
quality through smaller groups of children, implementation of curriculum practices and child 
focused planning through observation and assessment of children’s needs. 

• External program assessment was frequently identified as “stressful” for teaching staff and 
operators, presenting a challenge in earning required scores. The addition of two licensure 
pathways that do not include external program assessment offers options for demonstrating quality. 

• QRIS was described as “rigid” or that there is only one way to achieve a high star rating and 
demonstrate quality practices. Choices have been incorporated for individuals and facilities 
through education standards and throughout requirements for each licensure pathway. For child 
care facilities that have invested in program assessment related quality, the Program Assessment 
Pathway remains an option. 

 
Impacts to State Government 

 
Initial Rollout 

 
Implementation of these rules will not require additional Division staffing above existing requirements but 
rather a shift in focus of work regarding training and procedural changes. There are currently existing 
positions whose job descriptions include the scope of work needed to develop and deliver training and 
procedural changes. There is expected to be some additional workload during the initial rollout of the new 
QRIS pathways. It is estimated that existing positions will spend the following time on activities preparing 
for implementation of these rules: 

• Approximately 60 hours for procedures and corresponding resources and documents 
• Approximately 5 hours for agency website updates 
• Approximately 40 hours for development of training modules 
• Approximately 34 hours of regional staff meetings that are routinely scheduled bi-annually 
• Approximately 10 hours of preparation for consumer education materials for families 

 
 Full-Time 

Annual Salary 
+ Fringe 

Hourly Rate # of Hours Total 

State Employee Time $95,170 $45.75 5 $6,817 one-time costs 
Cost 1   10  

   34  
   40  
   60  

The time that will be spent by Division staff during the child care facility visits for Two through Five Star 
Rated License assessments using revised QRIS rules is expected to be comparable to time expected for 
star rated license assessment and reassessment activities with current QRIS standards. The only difference 
is that the pathways created within the rules include choices in requirements to earn the star rated licenses, 

 

1 Average salary was based on State Employee Compensation and Benefits Report. Total compensation hourly rate includes 
salary plus benefits for an employee with 12 years of service. NC OSHR: Total Compensation Calculator 

https://oshr.nc.gov/2023-compensation-and-benefits-report/open#%3A%7E%3Atext%3DTOTAL%20COMPENSATION%2C-Total%20Compensation%20encompasses%26text%3DThis%20report%20includes%20comparisons%20of%2Care%20depicted%20in%20Table%201
https://oshr.nc.gov/state-employee-resources/classification-compensation/total-compensation-calculator
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which is addressed in the procedural changes already described. Division staff already assist child care 
operators with understanding rules and how the rules relate to their individual facility, in addition to 
monitoring for compliance. Disseminating new information and navigating the choices offered in the new 
QRIS is within their existing scope of work. 

Education Standards 
 

All child care facilities and early childhood education professionals currently submit education information to 
the Division of Child Development and Early Education Workforce Unit for evaluation so there would not be 
an additional cost incurred by the Division for evaluation of the Child Development Associate (CDA), the 
NC Early Childhood Credential, the NC Early Childhood Administration Credential, the NC Family Child 
Care Credential, equivalency determinations and higher education coursework, certificates and degrees. 
Other education standard impacts are as follows: 

 
• Years of work experience for all positions is currently verified by Division staff and will not result in 

any additional time during monitoring visits. Operators and early childhood education professionals 
already document their work experience as related to their employment positions. School age care 
work experience has been revised from a total number of hours of experience to a require 
months/years of experience. This will be simpler for operators, early childhood education 
professionals to document and Division staff to verify. This could result in negligible time savings 
for Division staff. 

• The Division expects to implement competency evaluations through contracted services with a 
partner agency funded through quality dollars already allotted via the Child Care and Development  
Fund (CCDF). The total number of evaluators needed within the system will depend on the number 
of requests received once proposed rules are adopted. Responsibility for implementation of this 
QRIS activity has not been assigned to a specific partner agency. However, it is estimated that to 
employ five evaluators (assuming even distribution across all regions of the state), the estimated cost 
would be about $398,090 based on existing contracts with a partner agency whose staff have 
comparable responsibilities, as described below: 

 

 Full-Time 
Annual Salary 
for One 
Evaluator 

Fringe 
Benefits 

Total System Cost for Five 
Evaluators 

Average based on $51,700 54% $79,618 $398,090 
Existing Contracts with  ($27,918)   
Partner Agencies     

The estimated salary range includes the cost of observation and portfolio reviews. Travel costs to 
and from in-person observations will be in addition to the estimated salary/benefit range, determined 
by the number of evaluators employed and the location of the individuals requesting a competency 
evaluation. These variables are difficult to predict in total but would align with NC OSBM Travel 
Policies that include eligible reimbursement items such as lodging, meals and mileage rates. 
Development of the competency evaluation tool and materials is an activity funded through the 
Preschool Development Grant (PDG). Anticipated costs for early childhood education professionals 
to utilize this option are captured within the cost to child care facilities. 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Child-Care-Development-Fund-CCDF
https://www.osbm.nc.gov/budget/budget-manual#Sect50
https://www.osbm.nc.gov/budget/budget-manual#Sect50


22 
 

Impacts to Local Government 

There are no expected impacts on local government. N.C.G.S. 110-91 states that all child care facilities 
shall comply with local ordinances that pertain to child health, safety and welfare. This is a mandatory 
standard for all child care licenses and is routinely monitored as part of minimum licensing requirements. 
This includes sanitation standards, local building codes and fire prevention. QRIS standards remain 
voluntary for child care operators and are in addition to minimum licensing requirements. 

 
Impacts to Child Care Facilities 

Estimating the number of child care facilities that may choose each of the three licensure pathways will be 
difficult since the requirements have not yet become effective. Participation in QRIS will remain voluntary 
while continuing to provide an incentive to increase and maintain quality of child care practices. A child care 
facility may choose to operate with a One Star Rated License indefinitely. Those facilities that choose to earn 
a Two through Five Star Rated License may have other variables that impact outcomes including facility 
goals regarding star level, licensure pathway selection, individual choices in education standards, an 
operator’s choice regarding family and community engagement standards, the number of staff employed at a 
child care center, the number of FCCH operators that employ an additional caregiver, and the number and 
ages of children enrolled in any facility. 

 
Family Child Care Home Enrollment/Capacity 

 
Current enrollment requirements for FCCHs have been revised as part of QRIS reform. 

• For Pathway #1 and Pathway #3, there are no recommended enrollment restrictions for any star level. 

• For Pathway #2, an enrollment restriction applies to earning the highest star rating by reducing the 
number of children under the age of twenty-four months by one, if the FCCH is meeting N.C.G.S. 
110-91(7)(b)(1) for their licensed capacity. This enrollment restriction does not impact the licensed 
capacity of the FCCH; rather, it limits the ages served within the licensed capacity. 

Using current licensure data, the following outcomes could occur depending on a FCCH operator’s choice of 
licensure pathways: 

• There are 51 FCCH facilities meeting the current QRIS requirements to earn six program points 
as described in Rule .2828(b), which reduces enrollment of infants by one. 

o If these facilities choose Pathway #2, they can maintain their current enrollment and be 
eligible for the highest star rating. 

o If all of these facilities choose Pathway #1 or Pathway #3, they could increase the 
number of infants/toddlers enrolled within their licensed capacity. This could result in a 
maximum of 51 additional available slots for infants/toddlers within the existing 
licensed capacity, a benefit to families seeking child care. The available slots result in a 
potential increase in income for each family child care home operator ranging from $462 
-$1,276 depending on the county in which they operate (North Carolina Child Care 
Market Rate Survey of 2023). 

• There are 164 FCCH facilities meeting the current QRIS requirements to earn seven program 
points as described in Rule .2828(b), which reduces enrollment of infants by two. 

o If all of these facilities choose Pathway #2, they can earn the highest star rating and care 
for one additional infant/toddler within their licensed capacity. This would result in a 
maximum of 164 additional available slots for infants/toddlers within the existing 
licensed capacity, a benefit to families seeking child care. The available slots result in a 
potential increase in income for each family child care home operator ranging from $462 
-$1,276 depending on the county in which they operate (North Carolina Child Care 
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Market Rate Survey of 2023). 
o If all of these facilities choose Pathway #1 or Pathway #3, they can increase the number 

of infants/toddlers enrolled within their licensed capacity by two. This could result in a 
maximum of 328 additional available slots for infants/toddlers within the existing 
licensed capacity, a benefit to families seeking child care. The available slots result in a 
potential increase in income for each family child care home operator ranging from $924 
-$2,548 depending on the county in which they operate (North Carolina Child Care 
Market Rate Survey of 2023). 

 
Child Care Center Staff/Child Ratio and Space Requirements 

Current staff/child ratio and space requirements for child care centers are as follows and remain unchanged 
regarding the content of the rules and apply to all licensure pathways: 

• enhanced staff/child ratios are a reduction of one child per age group served; 

• reduced enhanced staff/child ratios are a reduction of two children per age group served; and 

• enhanced space is a reduction of 5 square feet per child indoors and 25 square feet per child using the 
outdoor space at any given time. 

However, the method in which the requirements are used for each pathway will be different. Using current 
licensure data, the following outcomes could occur depending on a child care center operator’s choice of 
licensure pathways: 

• There are 975 child care centers meeting the current QRIS requirements to earn one through three 
points as described in Rule .2817(b) that are meeting enhanced ratio requirements or enhanced space 
requirements. Those facilities could maintain their choice for Pathway #1 to earn a Two, Three or 
Four Star Rated License and for Pathway #2 to earn a Two or Three Star Rated License. If these 
facilities choose Pathway #3, they will likely have to implement the enhanced ratio requirement. 

• There are 1,391 child care centers meeting the current QRIS requirements to earn four through six 
points as described in Rule .2817(b) that are meeting enhanced ratio requirements. Those facilities 
could maintain their choice for Pathway #1 and Pathway #3 to be eligible for a Five Star Rated 
License and for Pathway #2 to be eligible for up to a Four Star Rated License. 

• There are 1,343 child care centers meeting the current QRIS requirements to earn seven program 
points as described in Rule .2817(b). This includes meeting reduced, enhanced ratio requirements 
and enhanced space requirements. 

o If these facilities choose Pathway #1, they no longer need to meet reduced, enhanced ratio 
requirements. At the Five Star Rated License level, enhanced ratio requirements must be 
implemented. Pathway #1 is the most similar to the current system but without the 
requirement to meet the most stringent ratio requirements. An example of the enrollment 
and tuition benefit is as follows: If a facility served six groups of children, infants through 
school age at the maximum group size with two caregivers, their capacity would be 117. In 
the current system, this capacity would have been reduced to 93. This reduction in capacity 
equals an estimated loss of tuition ranging from $942 to $3,748 per month based on the 
Child Care Market Rate Study of 2023. By continuing to use this pathway to earn their Two 
through Five Star Rated License, a facility could increase their monthly revenue. 

o If these facilities choose Pathway #2, they can earn the highest star rating by maintaining the 
reduced, enhanced ratio requirements. 

o If these facilities choose Pathway #3, they no longer need to meet reduced, enhanced ratio 
requirements. They must meet the required ratio requirements of the accreditation or Head 
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Start standards when required to obtain accreditation or Head Start designation. If ratio 
requirements are not required to achieve accreditation or Head Start designation, the facility 
would choose to meet either the accreditation or Head Start standards or the enhanced ratio 
requirements of QRIS. 

• Use of enhanced space requirements is optional for all star levels and licensure pathways. Child care 
centers that are currently meeting this requirement will see a benefit in planning for new and existing 
indoor and outdoor spaces. According to Crexi.com the average cost to design/build retail space 
ranges from $245 per square foot in a rural area like Martin County to $427 per square foot in an 
urban area like Mecklenburg County. The space savings for an existing facility would range from 
$1,225 - $2,135 for a reduction of 5 square feet of indoor space per child and range from $6,125 - 
$10,675 for a reduction of 25 square feet of outdoor space depending on the county where the center 
is located. Outdoor space is determined by the number of children using the space at any given time, 
rather than a requirement for each child included in licensed capacity. For a new facility, the cost 
savings for both space and capacity will be very beneficial as they can build a smaller building or 
consider the extra space in existing facilities for added classrooms and tuition. For child care centers 
that are leasing space, they could also realize a cost savings if they are able to lease a smaller space. 

 
Overall, child care facilities will see a benefit in the re-structuring of enrollment, ratio and space requirements 
for QRIS. This will allow an increase in the number of children that may be served within each child care 
facility’s existing licensed capacity, a more profitable use of existing space and cost savings when planning 
for new facilities. The potential for increased availability of slots in each age bracket and child care setting is 
a system-wide benefit for operators and families. 

Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) 
 

Session Law 2024-34 includes continuous quality improvement as a QRIS standard, and Section .3200 sets 
forth the recommended rules regarding continuous quality improvement plans for individuals and facilities. 
The estimated costs described below are largely attributable to the session law. 

 
Each center administrator and staff members with caregiving responsibilities will need to complete a 
Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) plan. This is an extension of the professional development plan 
already required to be completed annually in Child Care Rules 10A NCAC 09 .1104 and .1703(f). It is 
estimated that each staff member will spend approximately 1 hour per year to prepare and reflect on their CQI 
plan. A FCCH operator’s CQI plan may include both the individual and facility perspective, with an overall 
estimate of 1 hour per year to prepare and reflect on their CQI plan. In addition, each center administrator will 
need to complete a CQI Plan for the facility annually, a new requirement. It is estimated that each center 
administrator will spend approximately 1 hour per year to prepare and reflect on the facility CQI plan. 

Some possible scenarios regarding costs for individual facilities follow: 
1. For an individual FCCH, this would be an estimated opportunity cost of $14.20 annually if there are 

no additional caregivers employed. This includes the individual and facility requirements for 
implementation. 

2. For a child care center employing 12 staff that are required to complete a CQI Plan, this would be an 
estimated opportunity cost of $170.40 annually for individual requirements plus an estimated 
opportunity cost of $21.00 for the facility requirements for a total of $191.40 for implementation of 
CQI standards. 

These estimates are based on the average wage of child care professionals using the Bureau of Labor Statistics 
for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov) and the average wage for administrators based on 
information in “Working in Early Care and Education in NC, 2023 Workforce Study, Child Care Services 
Association”. 

https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
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Family and Community Engagement 
 

Family/Community Engagement is a new set of programmatic standards for QRIS set forth in Session Law 
2024-34 and applies to this licensure pathway. It builds on parent participation requirements for child care 
centers in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .0515 and establishes similar requirements for FCCHs through 
foundational practices at the Two Star Rated License. As a facility increases their star rating, they continue to 
implement foundational practices and select additional options from three categories of engagement. 

Family and Community Engagement was consistently identified as critical to providing quality child care to 
families during community outreach efforts regarding QRIS Modernization and the options outlined in these 
rules were activities that directly reflect that feedback. More information, including direct quotes from 
community outreach, were included in the legislative report. 

 
The total cost for each child care facility will be determined by an operator’s choices in meeting the 
requirements of their desired star rating. Estimated costs of foundational practices and possible choices are 
outlined below: 

 
• Foundational practices are estimated to require 4 hours of planning by the center administrator or 

FCCH operator annually in providing communication and planning required opportunities. Estimating 
one center administrator for each child care center at $21.00 per hour average wage: $21.00 x 4 hours 
= $84 average opportunity cost for facility implementation. Average wage for administrators is based 
on information in “Working in Early Care and Education in NC, 2023 Workforce Study, Child Care 
Services Association”. For FCCH operators, estimating $14.20 per hour average wage x 4 hours = 
$56.80 opportunity cost for facility implementation. Average wage for FCCH operators is based on 
Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov). 

An additional 1.5 hours is estimated per child enrolled for Lead Teachers or a FCCH operator to plan 
and conduct annual family conferences. This opportunity cost is estimated at $21.30 per enrolled child, 
based on a $14.20 average hourly wage using Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in 
NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov). We are unable determine how many families have multiple children in 
a single facility and how many facilities already use these practices in their daily operation, variables 
that will affect the specific costs to individual child care facilities. Some possible scenarios follow: 

1. For a FCCH operator that is licensed to care for a total of 8 children x $21.30 = $170.40 is 
the estimated opportunity cost for implementation of this requirement. 

2. For a child care center with 100 children in care x $21.30 = $2,130.00 is the estimated 
opportunity cost for implementation of this requirement. 

 
Implementation of foundational practices is estimated to have an opportunity cost at least $227.20 for 
FCCHs and approximately $2,214 for child care centers with 100 children in care. The main variable 
for implementation of estimated cost is the number of children enrolled at any given time. 

 
• The first category of engagement, communication options, includes choices that range in the amount 

of time needed to implement the selected option. Three of the four options are estimated to require 6 
hours of planning by the center administrator or the FCCH operator annually. Estimating one center 
administrator for each child care center at $21.00 per hour average wage: $21.00 x 6 hours = $126 
average opportunity cost for facility implementation. Average wage for administrators is based on 
information in “Working in Early Care and Education in NC, 2023 Workforce Study, Child Care 
Services Association”. For FCCH operators, estimating $14.20 per hour average wage x 6 hours = 
$85.20 opportunity cost for facility implementation. Average wage for FCCH operators is based on 
Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov). 

An additional 3 hours is estimated per child enrolled for Lead Teachers or a FCCH operator to plan 

https://webservices.ncleg.gov/ViewDocSiteFile/87398
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf


26 
 

and conduct family conferences twice annually. This opportunity cost is estimated at $42.60 per 
enrolled child, based on a $14.20 average hourly wage using Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care 
Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov). We are unable determine how many families have multiple 
children in a single facility and how many facilities already use these practices in their daily operation, 
variables that will affect the specific costs to individual child care facilities. Some possible scenarios 
follow: 
1. For a FCCH operator that is licensed to care for a total of 8 children x $42.60 = $340.80 is the 

estimated opportunity cost for implementation of this option. 
2. For a child care center with 100 children in care x $42.60 = $4,260.00 is the estimated opportunity 

cost for implementation of this option. 

Overall, choices for this category of engagement range from $85.20 to $4,260 (opportunity cost) per 
facility depending on what option is selected and how many children are enrolled. 

 
• The second category of engagement, engagement and leadership options includes choices that range 

in the amount of time needed to implement the selected option. Establishing an ongoing process to 
receive and review feedback, offering an annual survey to families, and developing a transition plan 
are three of the eight options that are estimated to require 4 hours of planning by the center 
administrator or the FCCH operator annually. Estimating one center administrator for each child care 
center at $21.00 per hour average wage: $21.00 x 4 hours = $84 average opportunity cost for facility 
implementation. Average wage for administrators is based on information in “Working in Early Care 
and Education in NC, 2023 Workforce Study, Child Care Services Association”. For FCCH operators, 
estimating $14.20 per hour average wage x 4 hours = $56.80 opportunity cost for facility 
implementation. Average wage for FCCH operators is based on Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child 
Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov). 

Offering an enrollment orientation, working collaboratively with service providers, organizing family 
events or establishing a family council, board or representative are five of the eight options that are 
estimated to require 8 hours of planning by the center administrator or FCCH operator annually. 
Estimating one center administrator for each child care center at $21.00 per hour average wage: $21.00 
x 8 hours = $168 average opportunity cost for facility implementation. Average wage for 
administrators is based on information in “Working in Early Care and Education in NC, 2023 
Workforce Study, Child Care Services Association”. For FCCH operators, estimating $14.20 per hour 
average wage x 8 hours = $113.60 opportunity cost for facility implementation. Average wage for 
FCCH operators is based on Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 
(bls.gov). 

 
Overall, choices for this category of engagement range from an opportunity cost of $56.80 to $168 per 
facility depending on what is selected. 

 
• The third category of engagement, education opportunity options, includes choices that range in the 

amount of time and resources needed to implement the selected option. Organizing family events 
where staff and families learn together is estimated to require at least 3 hours of planning time and 
additional costs as determined by the center administrator or FCCH operator. This includes four of 
the six choices for this category of engagement. Estimating one center administrator for each child 
care center at $21.00 per hour average wage: $21.00 x 3 hours = $63 average opportunity cost for 
facility implementation. Average wage for administrators is based on information in “Working in 
Early Care and Education in NC, 2023 Workforce Study, Child Care Services Association”. For 
FCCH operators, estimating $14.20 per hour average wage x 3 hours = $42.60 opportunity cost for 
facility implementation. Average wage for FCCH operators is based on Bureau of Labor Statistics for 
Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov). 

https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
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Another option described providing supports for families such as interpreter services, meals/snacks or 
materials during family involvement can vary in cost depending on local resources and how a center 
administrator or a FCCH operator plans the events. As one example, if a child care facility chooses to 
use this option and schedules interpreter services, the pay rate from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: 
Median hourly pay for Interpreters and Translators for 2023 was $27.45/hour. Interpreters and 
Translators : Occupational Outlook Handbook: : U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. 

 
For child care centers, providing paid planning time for Lead Teachers to conduct conferences is 
estimated to be 1.5 hours per child enrolled, each time a conference is needed. It is estimated to have 
an opportunity cost of $21.30 per enrolled child, based on a $14.20 average hourly wage using Bureau 
of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov). We are unable determine 
how many families have multiple children in a single facility and how many facilities already use these 
practices in their daily operation, variables that will affect the specific costs to individual child care 
facilities. One example is for a child care center with 100 children in care x $42.60 = $4,260.00 is the 
total estimated opportunity cost for implementation of this option. 

 
Overall, choices for this category of engagement range from an opportunity cost of $42.60 to $4,260 
per facility depending on what is selected. Additional costs would be incurred if a facility opts to 
provide additional supports such as hired interpreter services, meals, and other resources. 

 
 

Education Standards 

All child care facilities and early childhood education professionals currently submit education information to 
the Division of Child Development and Early Education Workforce Unit for evaluation, so there would not 
be an additional cost incurred for evaluation of the Child Development Associate (CDA), the NC Early 
Childhood Credential, the NC Early Childhood Administration Credential, the NC Family Child Care 
Credential, equivalency determinations and higher education coursework, certificates and degrees. 

 
In the current QRIS standards, education standards apply to earning points, either as an individual or part of a 
group of staff, across a possible range of 2-7 points. Those point levels have been condensed and revised in 
star level requirements, ranging from the 2-star level through the 5-star level. Information related to each 
employment position are as follows: 

 
For FCCH operators 

2 Star Current education standards at the 2- and 3-point level include semester hour completion and FCC 
Credential options and remain part of QRIS at this star level. The CDA is currently used as an 
equivalency to minimum licensing standards but will be included in a more specific manner for QRIS, a 
benefit to individuals who already have a CDA. According to the CDA Council, the initial cost to 
obtain the CDA ranges from $425 - $500 and renewal costs range from $125-$150 every three years. 
The experience-based option is a new standard intended to benefit individuals who are able to 
demonstrate competency in quality care practices without higher education, a solution to many potential 
barriers an individual may experience. 

3 Star Current education standards at the 4-point level include semester hour completion and FCC Credential 
options and remain part of QRIS at this star level. The CDA is currently used as an equivalency to 
minimum licensing standards but will be included in a more specific manner for QRIS, a benefit to 
individuals who already have a CDA. According to the CDA Council, the initial cost to obtain the CDA 
ranges from $425 - $500 and renewal costs range from $125-$150 every three years. The experience- 
based option is a new standard intended to benefit individuals who are able to demonstrate competency 
in quality care practices without higher education, a solution to many potential barriers an individual 
may experience. 

4 Star Current education standards at the 5-point level include semester hour completion and FCC Credential 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bls.gov%2Fooh%2Fmedia-and-communication%2Finterpreters-and-translators.htm%23tab-1&data=05%7C02%7Ckimberly.mallady%40dhhs.nc.gov%7C2d273611cfdc481d6e4708dd00128254%7C7a7681dcb9d0449a85c3ecc26cd7ed19%7C0%7C0%7C638666801673334835%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJFbXB0eU1hcGkiOnRydWUsIlYiOiIwLjAuMDAwMCIsIlAiOiJXaW4zMiIsIkFOIjoiTWFpbCIsIldUIjoyfQ%3D%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=IEEXlBeEZdqFWUvRH0XT3Aj49YvhcVgF6jF02Eoy%2Fos%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bls.gov%2Fooh%2Fmedia-and-communication%2Finterpreters-and-translators.htm%23tab-1&data=05%7C02%7Ckimberly.mallady%40dhhs.nc.gov%7C2d273611cfdc481d6e4708dd00128254%7C7a7681dcb9d0449a85c3ecc26cd7ed19%7C0%7C0%7C638666801673334835%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJFbXB0eU1hcGkiOnRydWUsIlYiOiIwLjAuMDAwMCIsIlAiOiJXaW4zMiIsIkFOIjoiTWFpbCIsIldUIjoyfQ%3D%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=IEEXlBeEZdqFWUvRH0XT3Aj49YvhcVgF6jF02Eoy%2Fos%3D&reserved=0
https://www.cdacouncil.org/faqs/#before-you-apply
https://www.cdacouncil.org/faqs/#before-you-apply
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 options and remain part of QRIS at this star level. The early childhood education certificate is a new 
stand-alone option in rule but is currently used to meet semester hour requirements since certificates are 
offered through higher education institutions. The experience-based option is a new standard intended 
to benefit individuals who are able to demonstrate competency in quality care practices without higher 
education, a solution to many potential barriers an individual may experience. 

5 Star Current education standards at the 6- and 7-point levels include semester hour completion, FCC 
Credential options, completion of degrees and work experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star 
level. The new option to count completion of all required ECE coursework for an AAS degree without 
full completion of degree is intended to be a benefit to individuals who are still completing a degree. 
The experience-based option is a new standard intended to benefit individuals who are able to 
demonstrate competency in quality care practices without higher education, a solution to many potential 
barriers an individual may experience. 

 
For Lead Teachers 

2 Star Current education standards at the 2- and 3-point level include semester hour completion and work 
experience and remain part of QRIS at this star level. The CDA is currently used as an equivalency to 
minimum licensing standards but will be included in a more specific manner for QRIS, a benefit to 
individuals who already have a CDA. According to the CDA Council, the initial cost to obtain the CDA 
ranges from $425 - $500 and renewal costs range from $125-$150 every three years. The experience- 
based option is a new standard intended to benefit individuals who are able to demonstrate competency 
in quality care practices without higher education, a solution to many potential barriers an individual 
may experience. 

3 Star Current education standards at the 4- and 5-point level include semester hour completion and work 
experience and remain part of QRIS at this star level. The CDA is currently used as an equivalency to 
minimum licensing standards but will be included in a more specific manner for QRIS, a benefit to 
individuals who already have a CDA. According to the CDA Council, the initial cost to obtain the CDA 
ranges from $425 - $500 and renewal costs range from $125-$150 every three years. The experience- 
based option is a new standard intended to benefit individuals who are able to demonstrate competency 
in quality care practices without higher education, a solution to many potential barriers an individual 
may experience. 

4 Star Current education standards at the 4-point level include work experience that remains part of QRIS at 
this star level. The option for completion of 12 semester hours is new to rule language for this position 
but provides an opportunity for acknowledgement of progress toward a degree in QRIS between the 3- 
and 5-star levels. The early childhood education certificate is a new stand-alone option in rule but is 
currently used to meet semester hour requirements since certificates are offered through higher 
education institutions. The experience-based option is a new standard intended to benefit individuals 
who are able to demonstrate competency in quality care practices without higher education, a solution to 
many potential barriers an individual may experience. 

5 Star Current education standards at the 6- and 7-point levels include semester hour completion, completion 
of degrees and work experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star level. The new option to count 
completion of all required ECE coursework for an AAS degree without full completion of degree is 
intended to be a benefit to individuals who are still completing a degree. For those with a degree, an 
option for coaching/mentoring has been added in lieu of work experience to support newly graduating 
individuals in programs that require degrees, either through facility policy or other child care rules. The 
experience-based option is a new standard intended to benefit individuals who are able to demonstrate 
competency in quality care practices without higher education, a solution to many potential barriers an 
individual may experience. 

https://www.cdacouncil.org/faqs/#before-you-apply
https://www.cdacouncil.org/faqs/#before-you-apply
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For Teachers 
2 Star Current education standards at the 2-point level include semester hour completion and work experience 

and remain part of QRIS at this star level. 
3 Star Current education standards at the 2-, 3- and 4-point levels include semester hour completion, the NC 

Early Childhood Credential and work experience and remain part of QRIS at this star level. The 
experience-based option is a new standard intended to benefit individuals who are able to demonstrate 
competency in quality care practices without higher education, a solution to many potential barriers an 
individual may experience. 

4 Star Current education standards at the 5- and 6-point levels include the NC Early Childhood Credential, 
completion of semester hours and work experience and remains part of QRIS at this star level. The 
CDA is currently used as an equivalency to the NC Early Childhood Credential but will be included at 
this star level as a stand-alone item, a benefit to individuals since it is not paired with a work experience 
requirement. According to the CDA Council, the initial cost to obtain the CDA ranges from $425 - 
$500 and renewal costs range from $125-$150 every three years. The experience-based option is a new 
standard intended to benefit individuals who are able to demonstrate competency in quality care 
practices without higher education, a solution to many potential barriers an individual may experience. 

5 Star Current education standards at the 4-, 6- and 7-point levels include semester hour completion, the NC 
Early Childhood Credential and work experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star level. The CDA is 
currently used as an equivalency to the NC Early Childhood Credential but will be included at this star 
level as a stand-alone item, a benefit to individuals since it is not paired with a work experience 
requirement. According to the CDA Council, the initial cost to obtain the CDA ranges from $425 - 
$500 and renewal costs range from $125-$150 every three years. An option combining the NC Early 
Childhood Credential with some semester hours, some CEU’s and work experience is an option to 
completing a higher number of semester hours, a benefit to individuals experiencing a barrier regarding 
higher education. The experience-based option is a new standard intended to benefit individuals who 
are able to demonstrate competency in quality care practices without higher education, a solution to 
many potential barriers an individual may experience. 

 
For Administrators of Centers with a School Age Program 

2 Star Current education standards at the 2- and 3-point levels include semester hour completion, the NC Early 
Childhood Administration Credential and work experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star level. 
Completion of Basic School Age Care (BSAC) training remains an option to school age care work 
experience. School age care work experience has been converted from a number of hours to a number of 
months/years but remains an option to BSAC training. All of the above adjustments are not anticipated to 
result in fiscal impact. A new option to complete a CEU combined with less school age care work 
experience is included at this star level, a benefit to individuals experiencing a barrier regarding higher 
education. 

3 Star Current education standards at the 2-, 3- and 4-point levels include semester hour completion, the NC 
Early Childhood Administration Credential and work experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star 
level. Completion of Basic School Age Care (BSAC) training remains an option to school age care work 
experience. School age care work experience has been converted from a number of hours to a number of 
months/years but remains an option to BSAC training. All of the above adjustments are not anticipated to 
result in fiscal impact. Two reductions are proposed in revised options, including a reduction of semester 
hours by 6 and a reduction of 7 years of administrative work experience compared to current 4-point 
requirements, a benefit to individuals choosing those options. The reduction in work experience ensures 
that this individual star level requirement is more attainable. Based on NC Community Colleges estimate 
that tuition per credit hour is $76, that could be an avoided cost of $456 (6 hours x $76/credit hour). 

4 Star Current education standards at the 2-, 3-, 4-, 5- and 6-point levels include the NC Early Childhood 
Administration Credential and work experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star level. Completion 
of Basic School Age Care (BSAC) training remains an option to school age care work experience. School 
age care work experience has been converted from a number of hours to a number of months/years 

https://www.cdacouncil.org/faqs/#before-you-apply
https://www.cdacouncil.org/faqs/#before-you-apply
https://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/students/paying-for-college/
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 resulting in a slight increase in experience but that remains an option to BSAC training. All of the above 
adjustments are not anticipated to result in fiscal impact. A reduction of semester hours by 6 is proposed 
in the revised options, paired with being enrolled in a degree program and allows individuals that are in 
pursuit of a degree to be acknowledged at a higher star level for QRIS. Based on NC Community Colleges 
estimate that tuition per credit hour is $76, that could be a cost savings of $456. In addition, an individual 
with a Level I NC Early Childhood Administration Credential has the option of meeting a 4 star level 
requirement, a benefit to facilities when employing administrators. 

5 Star Current education standards at the 5-, 6- and 7-point levels include the NC Early Childhood 
Administration Credential and work experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star level. Completion 
of Basic School Age Care (BSAC) training remains an option to school age care work experience. School 
age care work experience has been converted from a number of hours to a number of months/years 
resulting in a slight increase in experience but that remains an option to BSAC training. All of the above 
adjustments are not anticipated to result in fiscal impact. An option for an individual with a Level II NC 
Early Childhood Administration Credential, who has semester hours and is enrolled in a degree program is 
proposed, allowing individuals that are in pursuit of a degree to be acknowledged at a higher star level for 
QRIS and resulting in a benefit to facilities when employing administrators. 

 
For Administrators of a School Age Only Program 

2 Star Current education standards at the 2-, 3- and 4-point levels include enrollment in semester hours, the NC 
Early Childhood Administration Credential and work experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star 
level. School age care work experience has been converted from a number of hours to a number of 
months/years and is an increase of 2 months but is paired with enrollment in the NC Early Childhood 
Administration Credential as an intentional balance of requirements for that option. Typically, a school 
age only program operates for three hours each day. The increase in experience at an average wage of 
$21.00 per hour x 15 hours = $315 per week. Considering 8 weeks as equal to 2 months x $315 = $2,520 
is the estimated cost associated with this increase in experience requirements. Average wage for 
administrators is based on information in “Working in Early Care and Education in NC, 2023 Workforce 
Study, Child Care Services Association”. 

3 Star Current education standards at the 2-, 3- and 4-point levels include the NC Early Childhood 
Administration Credential and work experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star level. School age 
care work experience has been converted from a number of hours to a number of months/years and is an 
increase of 3 months for one option and comparable to current requirement for the other option. Typically, 
a school age only program operates for three hours each day. The increase in experience at an average 
wage of $21.00 per hour x 15 hours = $315 per week. Considering 12 weeks as equal to 3 months x $315 
= $3,780 is the estimated cost associated with this increase in experience requirements. Average wage for 
administrators is based on information in “Working in Early Care and Education in NC, 2023 Workforce 
Study, Child Care Services Association”. The addition of Basic School Age Care (BSAC) training is 
included in the option with less experience as an intentional balance of requirements for that option and is 
estimated to cost the individual $25 based on the Child Care Resources, Inc. training catalog. Overall, 
the fiscal impact could vary depending upon the individual’s choice. 

4 Star Current education standards at the 2-, 3-, 4-, 5- and 6-point levels include the NC Early Childhood 
Administration Credential and work experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star level. School age 
care work experience has been converted from a number of hours to a number of months/years resulting in 
no significant changes. All of the above adjustments are not anticipated to result in fiscal impact. In 
revised options, an individual with a Level I NC Early Childhood Administration Credential has the option 
of meeting a 4-star level requirement, a benefit to facilities when employing administrators. 

5 Star Current education standards at the 5-, 6- and 7-point levels include the NC Early Childhood 
Administration Credential and work experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star level. Completion 
of Basic School Age Care (BSAC) training was paired with work experience and a Level II NC Early 
Childhood Administration Credential as an intentional balance of requirements for that option, a benefit to 
facilities when employing administrators. The highest current education standard remains part of QRIS at 

https://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/students/paying-for-college/
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.flipsnack.com/8ADBBD77C6F/ccri-training-catalog/full-view.html
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 this star level. 
 

For Program Coordinators 
2 Star Current education standards at the 2- and 3-point levels include enrollment in semester hours and work 

experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star level. School age care work experience has been 
converted from a number of hours to a number of months/years and is an increase of 3 months for one 
option but is an option to enrollment in semester hours which is a current requirement. In many facilities 
the program coordinator is a dual role with them also serving as the facility administrator. The calculations 
here are representative of a stand-alone school age program. For persons serving in a dual role, the cost is 
captured within the administrator costs. Typically, a school age only program operates for three hours each 
day. The increase in experience at an average wage of $14.20 per hour x 15 hours = $213 per week. 
Considering 12 weeks as equal to 3 months x $213 = $2,556 is the estimated cost associated with this 
increase in experience requirements. Average wage for program coordinators is based on an $14.20 
average hourly wage using Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 
(bls.gov). The cost of 3 semester hours at NC Community Colleges with tuition at $76 per credit hour is 
estimated to cost $228. Overall, the fiscal impact could vary depending upon the individual’s choice. 

3 Star Current education standards at the 3 and 4 point levels includes completion of semester hours and work 
experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star level. School age care work experience has been 
converted from a number of hours to a number of months/years and is an average increase of 2 months 
when paired with coursework and an increase of 6 months when not paired with coursework. In many 
facilities the program coordinator is a dual role with them also serving as the facility administrator. The 
calculations here are representative of a stand-alone school age program. For persons serving in a dual 
role, the cost is captured within the administrator costs. Typically, a school age only program operates for 
three hours each day. The increase in experience at an average wage of $14.20 per hour x 15 hours = $213 
per week. Considering 8 weeks as equal to 2 months x $213 = $1,704 and 24 weeks as equal to 6 months 
= $5,112 are the estimated cost ranges associated with this increase in experience requirements. Average 
wage for program coordinators is based on an $14.20 average hourly wage using Bureau of Labor 
Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov). 

4 Star Current education standards at the 5-point level includes completion of semester hours and work 
experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star level. School age care work experience has been 
converted from a number of hours to a number of months/years resulting in an increase of 5 months but is 
an option to semester hours, resulting in no significant fiscal impact. Two options were added to this star 
level for individuals who may have an associate’s degree in early childhood education, child development, 
a school age related field or any other major. The current requirements do not specifically acknowledge 
associate’s degrees for this position and these options create a place in QRIS for those individuals. 

5 Star Current education standards at the 6- and 7-point levels include the completion of bachelor’s degrees, 
completion of semester hours and work experience, remaining part of QRIS at this star level. There is 
no anticipated fiscal impact for this star level. 

 
For Group Leaders 

2 Star Current education standards at the 2-point level remain in place at this star level based on completion 
of Basic School Age Care (BSAC) training. 

3 Star Current education standards for all point levels require completion of Basic School Age Care (BSAC) 
training and this remains in place at this star level. School age care work experience has been converted 
from a number of hours to a number of months/years resulting in an increase of 2 months but is an option 
to completion of 0.5 CEU. Typically, a school age only program operates for three hours each day. 
Estimating that group leaders are paid a minimum wage of $7.25 per hour x 15 hours = $108.75. 
Considering 8 weeks as equal to 2 months x $108.75 = $870 is the estimated cost associated with this 
increase in experience requirements. Minimum wage is based on US Department of Labor Statistics for 
NC. To complete 0.5 CEU, an individual is estimated to pay approximately $0 through Zero To Three to 

https://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/students/paying-for-college/
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/minimum-wage/state#nc
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/minimum-wage/state#nc
https://www.zerotothree.org/resource/earn-ceus-from-zero-to-three/
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 $36 based CEU cost information from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. Overall, the 
fiscal impact could vary depending upon the individual’s choice. 

4 Star Current education standards for all point levels require completion of Basic School Age Care (BSAC) 
training and this remains in place at this star level. For one option, a new requirement of 1.0 CEU 
includes an estimated cost of $0 through Zero To Three to approximately $72 to $92 per CEU credit, 
based on information from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington is paired with BSAC. For 
another option, being enrolled in 2 semester hours is an option to completion of BSAC if is not yet 
required based on minimum licensing standards since semester hours compare to or exceed the BSAC 
requirement. NC Community Colleges estimate that tuition per credit hour is $76 x 2 semester hours = 
$152. Another option is comparable to current 5- and 6-point requirements regarding BSAC combined 
with school age care work experience. Overall, the fiscal impact could vary depending upon the 
individual’s choice, ranging from no impact to a potential impact of $152. 

5 Star Current education standards for all point levels require completion of Basic School Age Care (BSAC) 
training and this remains in place at this star level. At the current 3-, 4-, 5-, 6- and 7-point levels, 
enrollment in or completion of semester hours is required and remains in place for this star level. 
Current 7 point requirements require that all group leaders be at least 18 years of age, remaining a 
requirement at this star level. 

 
Competency Evaluation 

 
The use of competency evaluations is a new option in education standards for individuals who are lead 
teachers, teachers and family child care home operators that have not completed higher education. Since 
these individuals are not in the Division’s Workforce system, the specific impact is difficult to estimate until 
the option is available in rule. According to “Working in Early Care and Education in NC, 2023 Workforce 
Study, Child Care Services Association, (Table 4. Regarding Education of the ECE Workforce)” it is 
estimated that approximately 4% of lead teachers, 12% of assistant teachers and 15% of FCCH operators 
may have completed only their High School degree. It is those individuals who may find a benefit in this 
new education standards option. 

It is estimated to take an individual approximately 20-40 hours to prepare an initial portfolio. Based on an 
$14.20 average hourly wage using Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 
(bls.gov) x 20 hours = $284 or x 40 hours = $568, is the estimated cost range per individual for 
implementation. Every three years, those same individuals would be required to provide an updated portfolio 
with an estimated 5 hours for preparation x $14.20 = $71, for a three-year renewal cost. 

 
Pathway 1 

 
This licensure pathway is most similar to current QRIS and was included in Session Law 2024-34 as one of 
three licensure pathways to earn a Two though Five Star Rated License. Familiarity with this type of QRIS 
may be appealing to both child care centers and FCCH operators based on their years of experience in preparing 
for program assessment activities and may be a reason for a facility to choose this licensure pathway. For new 
child care facilities, this licensure pathway offers a cost-effective way to earn a Star Rated License and learn 
more about quality practices. 

 
Summary of QRIS Standards set forth in NCGS 110-90(4) and revised in Session Law 2024-34 that are 
applicable to Pathway #1. 

 
 2 Star 3 Star 4 Star 5 Star 

Program Standards 
75% Compliance History Score*     

https://uncw.edu/seahawk-life/get-involved/community/continuing-professional-ed/teacher-prof-dev
https://www.zerotothree.org/resource/earn-ceus-from-zero-to-three/
https://uncw.edu/seahawk-life/get-involved/community/continuing-professional-ed/teacher-prof-dev
https://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/students/paying-for-college/
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
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Enhanced Ratio for Centers* optional optional optional  
Reduced, Enhanced Ratio for Centers* X X X X 
Enhanced Space for Centers* optional optional optional optional 
Enrollment Restriction for FCCH* X X X X 
Continuous Quality Improvement     
Family and Community Engagement     
Environmental Rating Scale Evaluations*     
Curriculum* X X   
Child Observation and Assessment X X X X 
Staff coaching or mentoring X X X X 
Accreditation X X X X 
Acknowledgement of quality initiatives or specialties optional optional optional optional 

Education Standards (requirements vary per employment position) 
Staff Education*     
Early Childhood and Child Development Coursework*     
Early Childhood Education Certificates*     
Child Development Associate Credentials*     
Associate or Bachelor’s Degrees*     
Continuous Quality Improvement Standards for Staff     
Continuing Education Units (CEU’s)     
Early Childhood Education Competency Evaluations     
Work Experience in Child Care*     
Coaching or Mentoring     
Educations Standards within an Accreditation Award X X X X 

*Indicates current QRIS standard. 
 

Pathway 1 - Program Assessment 
Session Law 2024-34 specified that an updated version of the current program assessment tool (Environment 
Rating Scale) be implemented by February 1, 2025. The costs associated with that change are directly 
attributable to statutory requirements and include training for child care operators who are interested in earning 
a Star Rated License through this licensure pathway. That training is offered at no cost to operators through 
the NC Rated License Assessment Project and implementation has been initiated to ensure compliance with 
statutory requirements. 

 
Child care facilities that choose this pathway will be required to have an external program assessment using the 
Infant/Toddler (ITERS-3), Early Childhood (ECERS-3), Family Child Care (FCCERS-3) and School Age Care 
(SACERS-U) Environment Rating Scales depending on the setting and the ages of children served. For child 
care centers that serve all age groups, ITERS-3, ECERS-3, and SACERS-U will be used. For FCCH and 
Centers Located in a Residence, FCCERS-3 will be used. Program assessment is offered at no cost to child 
care operators that choose this licensure pathway. 

 
Pathway 1 - Curriculum 
For this pathway, only Four and Five Star Rated Licensed facilities are required to implement curriculum in 
classrooms that serve four year olds. This is a current requirement and does not result in any impact to facilities 
that are already serving four year olds. 

 
In addition to the above, QRIS standards applicable to this pathway also include staff/child ratio, space, 
continuous quality improvement, family and community engagement and education standards as previously 
described. 

https://www.ncrlap.org/Resources/Training/Register/
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Pathway 2 

This is a new licensure pathway that was one of three options included in Session Law 2024-34 to earn a Two 
though Five Star Rated License. It will be difficult to estimate all associated costs since it has not been 
previously implemented in NC. Child care facilities may select this licensure pathway if they are interested in 
demonstrating quality practices in a new way, if program assessment presents a barrier for the children being 
served or the program philosophy, and as a way to alleviate communicated perception of stress for facilities 
and staff participating in the program assessment process as part of the current QRIS system. 

 
Summary of QRIS Standards set forth in NCGS 110-90(4) and revised in Session Law 2024-34 that are 
applicable to Pathway #2. 

 
 2 Star 3 Star 4 Star 5 Star 

Program Standards 
75% Compliance History Score*     
Enhanced Ratio for Centers* optional optional  X 
Reduced, Enhanced Ratio for Centers* X X X  
Enhanced Space for Centers* optional optional optional optional 
Enrollment Restriction for FCCH* X X X  
Continuous Quality Improvement     
Family and Community Engagement     
Environmental Rating Scale Evaluations* X X X X 
Curriculum*     
Child Observation and Assessment X    
Staff coaching or mentoring X    
Accreditation X X X X 
Acknowledgement of quality initiatives or specialties optional optional optional optional 

Education Standards (requirements vary per employment position) 
Staff Education*     
Early Childhood and Child Development Coursework*     
Early Childhood Education Certificates*     
Child Development Associate Credentials*     
Associate or Bachelor’s Degrees*     
Continuous Quality Improvement Standards for Staff     
Continuing Education Units (CEU’s)     
Early Childhood Education Competency Evaluations     
Work Experience in Child Care*     
Coaching or Mentoring     
Educations Standards within an Accreditation Award X X X X 

*Indicates current QRIS standard. 
 

Pathway 2 - Curriculum 
For this pathway, all child care facilities are required to implement curriculum. In our current system, this 
requirement only applies to Four and Five Star Rated Licensed facilities that serve 4 year olds. This pathway 
expands on the use of curriculum to include all ages and star levels. 

 
There are 56 curricula editions that are currently approved by the Child Care Commission. This includes 
curricula appropriate for ages Birth – 5 years of age and for child care centers and family child care home 
settings. The cost for each child care operator to purchase a curriculum will vary depending on their choice. 
Approximate costs are as follows: 
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• 2 curricula are free and are appropriate for age ranges of Birth – 5 years of age 
• 4 curricula offer monthly subscription fees ranging from approximately $24.95 - $557. 
• 2 curricula offer monthly subscription fees of $33 with an annual fee of $299. 
• 23 curricula editions include costs that range from approximately $199.95 - $4,200 
• 25 curricula are specific to franchise programs and included in the franchise costs. 

Pathway 2 - Child Observation and Formative Assessments 
Child observations are a new requirement for child care facilities, beginning at the Three Star Rated License 
level. At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, the use of an approved formative assessment is 
required. There are already 15 approved formative assessment tools approved by the Child Care Commission 
since this is a current requirement for NC Pre-Kindergarten programs. Seven of the approved formative 
assessment tools are required to be used in conjunction with an associated curriculum. The cost of formative 
assessments has not been historically captured as part of the approval process and information on assessment 
websites is limited. The overall cost for each child care operator to purchase a formative assessment tool 
will vary depending on their choice. There are four formative assessment toolkits that range from 
approximately $240-$365. 

 
• Sharing the results of the formative assessments with families is an annual requirement at the Four 

Star Rated License level and could be implemented at no additional cost during the family 
conference required by Family and Community Engagement foundational practices. 

• At the Five Star Rated License level, sharing of formative assessment results is required twice 
annually. If an operator has selected the communication option from Family and Community 
Engagement standards that requires two annual family conferences, this could be implemented at no 
additional cost. If that option was not selected, one conference requirement would be implemented 
through Family and Community Engagement foundational practices and the second conference 
would result in an additional cost. Using data from Family and Community Engagement standards, 
1.5 hours is estimated per child enrolled for Lead Teachers or a FCCH operator to plan and conduct 
one family conference. It is estimated to cost $21.30 per enrolled child, based on a $14.20 average 
hourly wage using Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov). 
Some examples follow: 
1. For a FCCH operator that is licensed to care for a total of 8 children x $21.30 = $170.40 is the 

estimated cost for implementation of this requirement. 
2. For a child care center with 100 children in care x $21.30 = $2,130.00 is the estimated cost for 

implementation of this requirement. 

Pathway 2 - Training and Coaching Options 
To earn a Three through Five Star Rated License in this pathway, the center administrator, lead teachers and 
a FCCH operator must complete 5 hours of training, 0.5 continuing education unit (CEU) or 5 hours of 
coaching/mentoring annually. Some examples of cost estimates are as follow: 

 
• Training hours are widely available in NC since on-going professional development is also a 

minimum licensing requirement. Rule specific training can be obtained at no cost to child care 
professionals using DCDEE’s Moodle. Numerous training organizations and individual trainers 
offer a variety of trainings, both in-person and virtual, for an average cost of $10 per hour based on 
consultation with individual trainers and partner agencies. For 5 hours annually x $10 per hour = 
$50 per individual employed. 

• Continuing Education Units (CEU’s) are offered through a variety of sources and vary in the 
associated costs: 

o At the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, CEU’s are estimated to cost 
approximately $72 to $92 per CEU credit. 

https://www.dcdee.moodle.nc.gov/
https://uncw.edu/seahawk-life/get-involved/community/continuing-professional-ed/teacher-prof-dev
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o Through Child Care Resources, Inc, CEU’s are offered at an estimated $15-$25 per CEU 
credit. 

o Through Zero To Three, free CEU’s are offered. 
o Through Teach Me Professional Development, unlimited CEU’s are offered for $95 per 

year. If choosing to pay per course, it is estimated to cost $12 per CEU credit. 
Overall, for an individual to obtain 0.5 CEU credit, estimated costs range from $0 - $92 depending 
on the resource selected. 

• An individual could participate in coaching/mentoring with a peer who is employed at a similarly 
licensed facility and would include the cost of time necessary to complete the requirement. 

o For a center administrator being coached by a peer, it is estimated to cost $21.00 x 2 
individuals = $41.00 x 5 hours = $210.00 annually. Average wage for administrators is based 
on information in “Working in Early Care and Education in NC, 2023 Workforce Study, Child 
Care Services Association”. 

o For a FCCH operator or lead teacher being coached by a peer, it is estimated to cost $14.20 x 
2 individuals = $28.40 x 5 hours = $142 annually. Average wage for FCCH operators and 
lead teachers is based on Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 
2023 (bls.gov). 

o Coaching/mentoring through a partner agency already occurs through technical assistance 
activities and would also fit into this pathway requirement. 

 
In addition to the above, QRIS standards applicable to this pathway also include staff/child ratio, space, 
continuous quality improvement, family and community engagement and education standards as previously 
described. 

Pathway 3 
 

This is a new pathway for QRIS required by Session Law 2023-40 and implemented in July 2024 through 
Session Law 2024-34 which allowed child care facilities to use their current accreditation while QRIS 
rulemaking continues. At least 58 child care facilities have requested and received licenses based on current 
accreditation status at no additional cost to the facility, with a long-term reduction in costs since current 
licensure requirements regarding program assessment will no longer be required. This pathway is not an 
option for newly established facilities due to the time it takes to achieve accreditation status. 

 
Summary of QRIS Standards set forth in NCGS 110-90(4) and revised in Session Law 2024-34 that are 
applicable to Pathway #3. 

 
 2 Star 3 Star 4 Star 5 Star 

Program Standards 
75% Compliance History Score*     
Enhanced Ratio for Centers* X optional X optional 
Reduced, Enhanced Ratio for Centers* X X X X 
Enhanced Space for Centers* X X X X 
Enrollment Restriction for FCCH* X X X X 
Continuous Quality Improvement X X X X 
Family and Community Engagement X X X X 
Environmental Rating Scale Evaluations* X X X X 
Curriculum* X X X X 
Child Observation and Assessment X X X X 
Staff coaching or mentoring X X X X 
Accreditation X    
Acknowledgement of quality initiatives or specialties optional optional optional optional 

https://www.flipsnack.com/8ADBBD77C6F/ccri-training-catalog/full-view.html
https://www.zerotothree.org/resource/earn-ceus-from-zero-to-three/
https://www.teachmeceus.com/ceu-categories/early-childhood-education.php
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
https://www.childcareservices.org/wp-content/uploads/Working-in-Early-Care-and-Education-in-North-Carolina2023-Workforce-Study.pdf
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Education Standards (requirements vary per employment position) 
Staff Education* X X   
Early Childhood and Child Development Coursework* X X   
Early Childhood Education Certificates* X X   
Child Development Associate Credentials* X X   
Associate or Bachelor’s Degrees* X X   
Continuous Quality Improvement Standards for Staff X X   
Continuing Education Units (CEU’s) X X   
Early Childhood Education Competency Evaluations X X   
Work Experience in Child Care* X X   
Coaching or Mentoring X X   
Educations Standards within an Accreditation Award X    

*Indicates current QRIS standard. 
 

Pathway 3 - Accreditation 
For facilities who want to become accredited, the fiscal impact would depend on the accreditation chosen. In 
addition, from application to accreditation award, the process is lengthy, taking anywhere from six months to 
two and a half years to complete all components of accreditation. The number of child care facilities that are 
in the process of becoming accredited or who may be interested in earning accreditation in the future is 
undetermined. 

 
The star rating designation assigned to each accreditation organization was based on evaluation of 
accreditation standards. Program standards such as curriculum, continuous quality improvement and family 
engagement are incorporated into all accreditation standards and therefore, not required separately for 
accredited facilities to earn a Three or Five Star Rated License. This is a benefit for accredited facilities, 
resulting in less duplication of standards that must be demonstrated. 

In rulemaking, the Commission proposes that when an accreditation award leads directly to a Three Star 
Rated License, the ability to increase to a Four or Five Star Rated License would be based on evaluation of 
education standards. This aligns with the requirements of Session Law 2024-34 regarding an increase in star 
level for these facilities. All child care facilities currently submit education information to the Division of 
Child Development and Early Education for evaluation so there would not be an additional cost incurred. 
Depending on the qualifications of the staff, there may be additional needs regarding coursework, experience, 
training or competency evaluations but that is difficult to estimate. 

• The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) has accredited approximately 
58 facilities in NC. Of those, 44 facilities have already earned a Five Star Rated License. The remaining 
14 facilities may be eligible to increase to a Five Star Rated License if they choose this licensure 
pathway. Overall, a facility that is interested in becoming accredited through NAEYC can expect to pay 
a minimum of $5,075-$6,450 for a five-year accreditation period. This accreditation is for child care 
centers. 

• The National Accreditation Commission for Early Care and Education Program (NAC) has accredited 
approximately 14 facilities in NC. Of those, 5 facilities have already earned a Five Star Rated License. 
The remaining 9 facilities may be eligible to increase to a Five Star Rated License if they choose this 
licensure pathway. Overall, a facility that is interested in becoming accredited through NAC can expect 
to pay a minimum of $2,200-$5,495 for a four-year accreditation period, depending on the licensed 
capacity of the facility. This accreditation is for child care centers only. 

• COGNIA has two types of accreditations that would apply to child care settings in NC. Overall, a facility 
that is interested in becoming accredited through COGNIA can expect to pay a minimum of $9,600 for a 
six-year accreditation period. 
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o The first type of COGNIA accreditation requires accreditation with early learning standards and 
is set forth in Session Law 2024-34. This type of accreditation has been achieved by 
approximately 33 facilities in NC. Of those, 12 facilities have already earned a Five Star Rated 
License. The remaining 21 facilities may be eligible to increase to a Five Star Rated License if 
they choose this licensure pathway. This accreditation is for child care centers only. 

o The second type of COGNIA accreditation requires accreditation with extended learning 
standards and is applicable to school age care facilities. There are no facilities in NC that are 
currently accredited with extended learning standards. This national early childhood education 
accreditation organization is already approved through Session Law 2023-40 and this Rule 
specifies which accreditation standards that are applicable to school age facilities. 

• The National Early Childhood Program Accreditation (NECPA) has one accredited facility in NC. That 
facility has already earned a Three Star Rated License, matching the designated star level for this 
accreditation. If that facility chose this pathway, the long-term benefit would be elimination of 
duplicative requirements. Overall, a facility that is interested in becoming accredited through NECPA 
can expect to pay a minimum of $2,395 to $2,860 for a three-year accreditation period. This accreditation 
is for child care centers, Family Child Care Homes and for school-age programs that operate as a 
component of a licensed child care program. 

• The National Association for Family Child Care (NAFCC) has accredited approximately 4 facilities in 
NC. Two of those facilities have already earned a Five Star Rated License, higher than the designated 
star level for this accreditation. If those Five Star Rated facilities chose this pathway and meet additional 
education evaluation requirements to maintain their Five Star Rated License, the long-term benefit would 
be elimination of duplicative requirements and a reduction of costs in preparing for program assessment. 
The other two facilities noted as accredited have not been verified as licensed family child care homes. 
Overall, a facility that is interested in becoming accredited through NAFCC can expect to pay a 
minimum of $990 for a three-year accreditation period. This accreditation is for Family Child Care 
Homes only. 

• The American Montessori Society (AMS) has accredited 5 facilities in NC. These facilities noted as 
accredited have not been verified as licensed child care facilities. If licensed, they could achieve a Three 
Star Rated License through verification of accreditation. Overall, a facility that is interested in becoming 
accredited through AMS can expect to pay a minimum of $6,454 for a seven-year accreditation period. 
This accreditation is for Montessori facilities only. 

• The International Montessori Council (IMC) has no accredited facilities in NC. Overall, a facility that is 
interested in becoming accredited through IMC can expect to pay a minimum of $500 but other fees may 
be incurred related to on-site visits during the five-year accreditation period. This accreditation is for 
Montessori facilities that have been in operation for three or more years. 

Pathway 3 - Head Start 
As of October 2024, there were 335 Head Start facilities in NC. Of those, 286 had already earned a Five Star 
Rated License. The remaining 49 facilities may be eligible to increase to a Five Star Rated License upon 
adoption of these rules. This option will be available to Head Start facilities upon adoption of QRIS rules as 
was allowed through Session Law 2024-34. This is a benefit to those programs, eliminating duplicative 
quality standards. 
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Recognition of Quality Initiatives 
This rule specifies opportunities to acknowledge participation in quality initiatives and practices that are not 
otherwise captured in QRIS requirements. These opportunities align with Session Law 2024-34, Section 
8(g) that states “The Department shall provide licensed facilities with a rating of two to five stars with an 
opportunity to earn recognition or acknowledgement for voluntary participation in other quality initiatives or 
specialties, including educational and programmatic options, that are implemented in addition to quality 
rating improvement system (QRIS) standards.” 

 
As proposed, this acknowledgement will accompany a Two through Five Star Rated License if an operator 
chooses to meet at least one option in each type of recognition but will not have any impact on earning a Star 
Rated License. An operator may choose to earn none, some or all of the recognitions. These options may 
be useful for child care facilities in marketing their program while providing information to parents about 
practices that may be important in their selection of child care for their family. However, compliance with 
this rule is voluntary for all child care facilities since it does not have any impact on earning a Star Rated 
License, resulting in no required fiscal impact to child care facilities. 

A description of options for each Recognition of Quality Initiatives are noted in the table below: 
Recognition Options and Impact Analysis 
Education Options 1-5 are comparable to current Quality Point Options in 10A NCAC 09 .2829(1). 

This is a benefit to programs that are already meeting one of these Quality Point Options, 
since they can earn this recognition without incurring any costs. For programs that are 
meeting this requirement and may experience workforce challenges, it is no longer 
necessary to maintain this standard for their Star Rated License. 

 
Option 6-8 provide opportunities for facilities that employ a high number of teachers with 
a Child Development Associate (CDA), support their employees by participating in 
existing educational initiatives and encourage participation in the NC Early Care and 
Education Professional Certification Scale. These options support education standards and 
professionalism in the early childhood education field. 

Professional Development Options 1 is comparable to a current Quality Point Option in 10A NCAC 09 .2829(1). 
This is a benefit to programs that are already meeting that Quality Point Option, since 
they can earn this recognition without incurring any costs. For programs that are meeting 
this requirement and may experience challenges in meeting the requirement, it is no longer 
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 necessary to maintain this standard for their Star Rated License.  
 
Options 2-8 provide opportunities that acknowledge the importance of training and 
trainers, supports and compensation for staff in completing professional development 
activities and promotion of professionalism in the early childhood education field. 

Longevity and Experience Options 1 and 2 provide opportunities that acknowledge experience in child care, 
compliance history and long-term quality practices. This recommendation was in 
response to community outreach activities that requested recognition of longevity and 
experience. 
 
Options 3-7 are comparable to current Quality Point Options in 10A NCAC 09 
.2829(1). This is a benefit to programs that are already meeting one of these Quality 
Point Options, since they can earn this recognition without incurring any costs. For 
programs that are meeting this requirement and may experience challenges in 
meeting the requirement, it is no longer necessary to maintain this standard for their 
Star Rated License. 

Staff Supports and Benefits Option 1 is comparable to a current Quality Point option in 10A NCAC 09 .2829(2). This 
is a benefit to programs that are already meeting this Quality Point Option, since they can 
earn this recognition without incurring any costs. For programs that are meeting this 
requirement and may experience challenges in meeting the requirement, it is no longer 
necessary to maintain this standard for their Star Rated License. 

Options 2-4 provide opportunities for teachers in planning, education and mental health, 
benefits that support the workforce and their ability to effectively care for children. 

Program Features Option 1 is comparable to a current Quality Point option in 10A NCAC 09 .2829(2). This 
is a benefit to programs that are already meeting this Quality Point Option, since they can 
earn this recognition without incurring any costs. For programs that are meeting this 
requirement and may experience challenges in meeting the requirement, it is no longer 
necessary to maintain this standard for their Star Rated License. 

Options 2-6 acknowledge participation in quality practices that are not part of an 
operator’s selected licensure pathway. 

Health and Wellness All eight options are intended to acknowledge participation in quality practices and 
initiatives that contribute to the health and wellness of children, staff or families in some 
way. 

Language Concentration All three options acknowledge use of languages other than English, either in daily 
routines or as part of a bilingual or immersion program. 

Culinary Emphasis All three options acknowledge activities that relate to the food and nutrition practices of a 
program. 

Ratio, Group Size and 
Enrollment Practices 

Both of the options are comparable to current Quality Point options in 10A NCAC 09 
.2829(2). This is a benefit to programs that are already meeting one of these Quality Point 
Options, since they can earn this recognition without incurring any costs. For programs 
that are meeting this requirement and may experience challenges in meeting the 
requirement, it is no longer necessary to maintain this standard for their Star Rated 
License. 

Supplemental Environments This is a recognition issued based on providing supplemental environments that support 
a child’s development. 

NC Breastfeeding-Friendly 
Child Care Designation 
Program 

This recognition is issued based on facility completion of this quality initiative. 
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Military Child Care in Your 
Neighborhood-PLUS 

This recognition is issued based on facility participation in this child care fee assistance 
program for military families. 



42 
 

Impacts to Children and Families 

Historically, the Two through Five Star Rated License was intended to assist families when choosing a child 
care facility that would meet their needs. The revisions to licensure pathway requirements have the potential 
to allow more availability for child care services as described above regarding space, staff/child ratio and 
enrollment of children. The addition of family and community engagement standards will offer more 
opportunities for their participation in a child care facility’s program and events. As these standards are 
optional, families would not incur a fiscal impact, only potential for positive impact in the relationship that 
they can build with caregiving staff. Implementation of these rules will be accompanied by consumer 
education to ensure awareness and understanding of our QRIS system which will result in more information 
and choices for parents in searching for child care that is related to their values and preferences. 

A high quality early childhood care and education system is known to provide numerous, significant 
benefits for children both in the near term and over the course of their lives. Research on child 
development -- like that done by the Center on the Developing Child at Harvard University -- finds that 
early experiences affect the development of brain architecture, which provides the foundation for all future 
learning, behavior, and health. In addition, the resources of their “What Is Early Childhood Development? 
A Guide to the Science (ECD 1.0)” introduces the science that connects early experiences from birth (and 
even before birth) to future learning capacity, behaviors, and physical and mental health. 
Raise North Carolina is a public education campaign to build appreciation and support for North 
Carolina’s early care and learning network and the teachers who serve children, families and North 
Carolina. It describes that “better school and life outcomes for children depend on quality early childhood 
teachers who have the skills to ensure that children, supported by their families, have the early experiences 
they need for healthy development and a strong foundation for learning. Brain development that happens in 
the first five years of life sets the stage for future health and learning. Quality early childhood education 
programs implement practices that support each individual child’s physical, cognitive and emotional 
growth and development.” 

In Children’s Learning and Development Benefits from High-Quality Early Care and Education: A 
Summary of the Evidence from the Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation of the Administration for 
Children and Families of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the authors summarize the 
research evidence on how high-quality early childhood education benefits all young children. It was noted 
that participation in early childhood education helps children develop skills that will benefit them 
throughout their life and described how high quality programs go beyond basic requirements to build 
relationships to impact children’s development. Stimulating environments, caregiver interactions, 
developmentally appropriate curricula, and on-going training for educators were some of the factors 
described that resulted in cognitive, social and behavioral development. 

Impacts to Partner Agencies 

QRIS partners include agencies such as the NC Rated License Assessment Project, Child Care Resource 
and Referral agencies and Smart Start. Implementation of proposed QRIS rules will require a shift in the 
focus of existing work of these partner agencies regarding QRIS requirements, training, continuing 
education unit (CEU) opportunities, coaching/mentoring, and technical assistance activities. There are 
current contracts with these partner agencies that include deliverables regarding assessment of quality 
indicators and participation in quality initiatives that support our early childhood education 
system. However, the proposed QRIS rules are expected to create an increased demand for those 
activities. The rate of increase is undetermined since it will depend on choices selected by individual child 
care facilities to earn their Star Rated License. 

Session Law 2024-34 specified that an updated version of the current program assessment tool (Environment 
Rating Scale) be implemented by February 1, 2025. The costs associated with that change are directly 
attributable to statutory requirements and include training for Division staff, child care operators and technical 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdevelopingchild.harvard.edu%2Fscience%2Fkey-concepts%2Fbrain-architecture%2F&data=05%7C02%7Ckimberly.mallady%40dhhs.nc.gov%7C81c78a815b524c6ff9f408dcc1ea1056%7C7a7681dcb9d0449a85c3ecc26cd7ed19%7C0%7C0%7C638598458243695392%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=3HX0BhWLn20N467vg0vza4qKUQI0%2FmQPsRU8ny93ykI%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fharvardcenter.wpenginepowered.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2007%2F03%2FInBrief-The-Science-of-Early-Childhood-Development2.pdf&data=05%7C02%7Ckimberly.mallady%40dhhs.nc.gov%7C81c78a815b524c6ff9f408dcc1ea1056%7C7a7681dcb9d0449a85c3ecc26cd7ed19%7C0%7C0%7C638598458243703940%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=XFCIWIlSbn5JEjQu0HS5ZZW3bc41nxzUD0ABSv%2Bwrsw%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fharvardcenter.wpenginepowered.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2007%2F03%2FInBrief-The-Science-of-Early-Childhood-Development2.pdf&data=05%7C02%7Ckimberly.mallady%40dhhs.nc.gov%7C81c78a815b524c6ff9f408dcc1ea1056%7C7a7681dcb9d0449a85c3ecc26cd7ed19%7C0%7C0%7C638598458243703940%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=XFCIWIlSbn5JEjQu0HS5ZZW3bc41nxzUD0ABSv%2Bwrsw%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdevelopingchild.harvard.edu%2Fguide%2Fwhat-is-early-childhood-development-a-guide-to-the-science%2F&data=05%7C02%7Ckimberly.mallady%40dhhs.nc.gov%7C81c78a815b524c6ff9f408dcc1ea1056%7C7a7681dcb9d0449a85c3ecc26cd7ed19%7C0%7C0%7C638598458243712465%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=ZB0BbFXw4qjLGlZCh9WUrL7YTtmgmUc4tuogvPVuBBQ%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdevelopingchild.harvard.edu%2Fguide%2Fwhat-is-early-childhood-development-a-guide-to-the-science%2F&data=05%7C02%7Ckimberly.mallady%40dhhs.nc.gov%7C81c78a815b524c6ff9f408dcc1ea1056%7C7a7681dcb9d0449a85c3ecc26cd7ed19%7C0%7C0%7C638598458243712465%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=ZB0BbFXw4qjLGlZCh9WUrL7YTtmgmUc4tuogvPVuBBQ%3D&reserved=0
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/raise-nc-talking-points-how-talk-about-early-childhood-teachers-and-quality/open
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.acf.hhs.gov%2Fopre%2Freport%2Fchildrens-learning-and-development-benefits-high-quality-early-care-and-education&data=05%7C02%7Ckimberly.mallady%40dhhs.nc.gov%7C81c78a815b524c6ff9f408dcc1ea1056%7C7a7681dcb9d0449a85c3ecc26cd7ed19%7C0%7C0%7C638598458243687065%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=AZR%2BsCBqIXQZeBtqdhMbOm7c5AHs62ixSOqG52UBPQM%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.acf.hhs.gov%2Fopre%2Freport%2Fchildrens-learning-and-development-benefits-high-quality-early-care-and-education&data=05%7C02%7Ckimberly.mallady%40dhhs.nc.gov%7C81c78a815b524c6ff9f408dcc1ea1056%7C7a7681dcb9d0449a85c3ecc26cd7ed19%7C0%7C0%7C638598458243687065%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=AZR%2BsCBqIXQZeBtqdhMbOm7c5AHs62ixSOqG52UBPQM%3D&reserved=0
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assistance specialists in partner agencies. That training is offered at no additional cost to all necessary parties 
through the existing contract with the NC Rated License Assessment Project and implementation has been 
initiated to ensure compliance with statutory requirements. 

 
This impact analysis has possible impacts that are uncertain based on the variables described above, including 
indirect impacts and benefits. These rules will create indirect impacts by requiring existing opportunities 
such as CEU’s and may result in an increased demand based on individual choices. 

 
Alternatives 

The Child Care Commission acknowledges the importance of choice in demonstrating quality practices so 
that all participants in the early care and learning system see a place for themselves, the families they serve 
and the facilities that choose to meet quality standards. “Pathways to the Stars: Where Quality and Choice 
Meet” is a collaborative effort between the Child Care Commission, the Division of Child Development 
and Early Education and all stakeholders who participated in QRIS Modernization. 

Although the magnitude of benefits to be gained by modernizing QRIS is uncertain and unquantifiable, and a 
significant portion of any benefits would be attributable to the session law rather than these proposed rules, it 
is possible that the aggregative impact could meet the definition of “substantial economic impact” in NCGS 
150B-21.4(b1). As such, the Commission is including the following descriptions of two alternatives that were 
considered: 

1. Program Assessment – Stakeholder feedback indicated the need for an updated or different program 
assessment tool, particularly regarding language and interactions as a quality practice. Research on 
potential program assessment tools indicated that implementation costs for a new program 
assessment tool could be significant and include system-wide impacts for the state, partner agencies 
and child care facilities. Obtaining necessary certifications and materials for a new program 
assessment tool, development of reliability practices, preparation and delivery of training for all 
stakeholders and potential costs of preparation at the facility level for new measures of quality were 
factors that were considered. QRIS is already supported by a partner agency with 25 years of 
experience, training and reliability with the current program assessment tool. The Commission 
determined that transitioning to a newer version of a familiar program assessment tool that includes 
language and interaction measures would achieve similar outcomes regarding quality care practices 
with less cost to the system and all stakeholders. For these reasons, the alternative to adopt a totally 
new program assessment tool was rejected. 

2. Competency Evaluation – The option to demonstrate knowledge, skills and abilities through a 
competency evaluation provides a much-needed alternative to higher education for meeting the QRIS 
education standard. The session law requires the Commission to include competency evaluations as 
an option for evaluating education levels of staff. The Commission has some discretion to determine 
how a competency evaluation fits within the overall framework and offers this as an option for lead 
teachers, assistant teachers and FCCH operators. During the rule development process, the 
Commission considered using established competency standards published by national organizations 
but this alternative was rejected in favor of focusing on knowledge, skills, and abilities n related to 
the North Carolina Foundations for Early Learning and Development (NCFELD), a familiar 
publication used in minimum licensing standards related to activity planning. The rules related to 
competency evaluations align with an existing Preschool Development Grant (PDG) activity and will 
result in a custom set of competency standards for NC without the need for additional funding to 
purchase other competency standards, reducing the overall impact to the state. 

https://www.ncrlap.org/Resources/Training/Register/
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Portals/0/documents/pdf/N/NC_Foundations.pdf
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Conclusion 

In summary, the Child Care Commission was legislatively mandated to enact QRIS reform. The 
Commission’s work and recommendations reflect stakeholder engagement which resulted in a new 
framework for QRIS in NC being set forth in Session Law 2024-34. The purpose of QRIS Modernization 
has been to reduce the child care gap through changes that add flexibility for facility operators and early 
childhood education professionals, reducing duplicative standards where possible and creating pathways to 
increase the availability of slots for child care. The proposed QRIS standards continue to place an 
emphasis promoting high quality practices for children and families. Stakeholder engagement, research 
regarding national trends in QRIS, and NC’s own 24 years of experience under the current QRIS system 
continues to be reflected in the proposed rules which support the framework of that session law. 

The Child Care Commission acknowledges the importance of choice in demonstrating quality practices so 
that all participants in the early care and learning system see a place for themselves, the families they serve 
and the facilities that choose to meet quality standards. As the rulemaking process continues into a public 
comment period, the Child Care Commission remains committed to meeting the needs of our system 
through careful review and analysis of feedback from all interested parties. 
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Attachment of Rules 
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1 SECTION .3200 PATHWAYS TO THE STARS: WHERE QUALITY AND CHOICE MEET (TWO 
2 THROUGH FIVE STAR RATED LICENSES) 
3 
4 10A NCAC 09 .3201 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
5 10A NCAC 09 .3201 SCOPE 
6 (a) This Section shall apply to all child care facilities that have met requirements for a one-star rated license and 
7 choose to apply for and earn a rated license of two-stars or higher. 
8 (b) A child care facility shall be eligible for a rated license of two through five-stars upon application and assessment 
9 of compliance with the requirements of this Section. 

10 (c) No requirement in any component of a two-star or higher rating shall be less than the requirements for a one-star 
11 rating described in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter. Prior to issuance of an initial two through five-star rating, all 
12 requirements in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter shall be met at the time the program is assessed for a higher rating. The 
13 requirements for a rated license of two-stars or higher shall be in addition to the standards found in G.S. 110-91 and 
14 this Chapter. 
15 (d) Nothing in this Section shall preclude or interfere with the issuance of an administrative action as allowed by G.S. 
16 110, Article 7 and this Chapter. 
17 
18 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
19 Eff. 
20 
21 10A NCAC 09 .3202 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
22 
23 10A NCAC 09 .3202 APPLICATION FOR A TWO THROUGH FIVE STAR RATED LICENSE 
24 (a) After a licensed child care facility has demonstrated compliance with applicable child care requirements while 
25 operating with a temporary license, as set forth in Rule .0403 and .1702 of this Chapter, the operator may apply for an 
26 initial two through five-star rated license. 
27 (b) The operator shall submit a completed application to the Division for a two through five-star rated license on the 
28 form provided by the Division. 
29 (c) An operator may select one of three licensure pathways in order to earn a two through five-star rated license. The 
30 operator shall meet the requirements set forth in this Section for the star rating desired within the selected licensure 
31 pathway. Requirements from licensure pathways may not be combined. The three licensure pathways are as follow: 
32 (1) Program Assessment Pathway as set forth in Rules .3203 and .3204 of this Section; 
33 (2) Classroom and Instructional Quality Pathway as set forth in Rules .3205 and .3206 of this Section; and 
34 (3) Accreditation and Head Start Pathway as set forth in Rule .3207 of this Section. 
35 (d) A Division representative shall assess the facility requesting a two through five-star rated license to determine if 
36 all applicable requirements have been met to achieve the requested star rating. The assessment shall include a review 
37 of Division records and site visits. 
38 (e) Upon completion of the Division's assessment: 
39 (1) If the assessment indicates all the applicable requirements to achieve the requested rating have been 
40 met, the Division shall issue the rating. 
41 (2) If the assessment indicates all the applicable requirements to achieve the requested rating have not 
42 been met, the Division shall notify the operator of the requirements that were not met and the 
43 requested two through five-star rating shall not be issued. The operator may: 
44 (A) accept the rating for which the Division has found the operator to be eligible; 
45 (B) withdraw the request and reapply when the identified requirements to achieve the requested 
46 rating have been met; or 
47 (C) appeal the denial of the requested rating as provided in G.S. 110-94. 
48 
49 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2011-145, s.10.7(b); 42 USCS 
50 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
51 Eff. 
52 
53 10A NCAC 09 .3203 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
54 
55 10A NCAC 09 .3203 PROGRAM ASSESSMENT PATHWAY FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 
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1 (a) This Rule shall apply to child care centers, including centers located in a residence, that choose to earn a two 
2 through five-star rated license using the program assessment licensure pathway. 
3 (b) As used in this Rule, “educators” shall mean teachers, group leaders, and administrative staff, including 
4 directors, assistant directors, program coordinators, education coordinators, curriculum specialists, and other staff 
5 that have responsibility for planning, caregiving, mentoring or training on-site in a child care center. Educators shall 
6 meet the education standards of a position as set forth in Rules .3211, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this 
7 Section and work full-time. If a program operates less than 40 hours per week, full-time shall mean the hours the 
8 program is in operation. 
9 (c) As used in this Rule, “structured self-study” shall mean the process used to reflect on current teaching practices 

10 and educational environments, and identify areas of strength, needs, and action steps required to achieve the 
11 standards of the applicable program assessment tool(s) as set forth in (d) of this Rule, based on the age of children 
12 served. A structured self-study shall be completed over a minimum of three consecutive months and include a self- 
13 assessment using the appropriate program assessment tool and additional resources located at [insert weblink], a 
14 written reflection of the self-assessment, including identification of goals for continuous quality improvement, and 
15 documentation of the structured self-study using forms found on the Division’s website at 
16 https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider/Provider-Documents-and-Forms. 
17 (d) Child care centers shall be evaluated using “Infant/Toddler Environment Rating Scale, Third Edition” (ITERS- 
18 3), “Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale, Third Edition” (ECERS-3), and “School-Age Care Environment 
19 Rating Scale, Updated Edition” (SACERS-U), based on the ages of children served. Centers located in a residence, 
20 as described in Rule .0102 of this Chapter, shall be evaluated using “Family Child Care Environment Rating Scale, 
21 Third Edition” (FCCERS-3). Alternatively, the Commission may approve additional program assessment tools that 
22 meet the following criteria: 
23 (1) the program assessment tool is research-based; 
24 (2) the program assessment tool has demonstrated reliability and validity; 
25 (3) the program assessment tool has been developed and validated for the intended population; 
26 (4) the standards being evaluated by the program assessment tool are measurable; 
27 (5) the program assessment tool is published or otherwise publicly available; 
28 (6) the program assessment tool assesses and supports early childhood 
29 environments in a way that is sensitive and responsive to the needs of all children and families from 
30 culturally, linguistically, economically, and ability diverse backgrounds; and 
31 (7) the program assessment tool and training for its use has a process to reduce bias.  
32 Upon approval of additional program assessment tools, a child care center may choose which assessment tool they 
33 utilize to earn a star rating in this licensure pathway, as long as their choice is applicable to the ages of children 
34 served, the type of facility in operation, or other criteria specified by the Commission in its approval. 
35 (e) For a child care center to earn a two-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
36 (1) The child care center shall meet either the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this 
37 Section or the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section. 
38 (2) At least 50% of lead teachers and at least 50% of educators shall meet the individual education 
39 standards at the two star level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of 
40 this Section, or higher. 
41 (3) The child care center shall implement family and community engagement foundational practices set 
42 forth in Rule .3219 of this Section. 
43 (4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule 
44 .3221 of this Section. 
45 (5) All administrators and lead teachers shall complete a structured self-study. 
46 (f) For a child care center to earn a three-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
47 (1) The child care center shall meet either the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this 
48 Section or the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section. 
49 (2) At least 50% of lead teachers and at least 50% of educators shall meet the individual education 
50 standards at the three star level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of 
51 this Section, or higher. 
52 (3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule 
53 .3219 of this Section for a three-star rated license. 
54 (4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule 
55 .3221 of this Section. 
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1 (5) All administrators and lead teachers shall complete a structured self-study. 
2 (6) The child care center shall request and complete an external program assessment and use the results of 
3 the assessment in the continuous quality improvement plan set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section. 
4 (g) For a child care center to earn a four-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
5 (1) The child care center shall meet either the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this 
6 Section or the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section. 
7 (2) At least 50% of lead teachers and at least 50% of educators shall meet the individual education 
8 standards at the four star level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of 
9 this Section, or higher. 

10 (3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule 
11 .3219 of this Section for a four-star rated license. 
12 (4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule 
13 .3221 of this Section. 
14 (5) All administrators and lead teachers shall complete a structured self-study. 
15 (6) The child care center shall request and complete an external program assessment: 
16 (A) For any assessment that occurs prior to January 1, 2028, the child care center must earn an 
17 average score of 3.5 or higher for its ITERS-3 and ECERS-3 classrooms and an average score of 
18 4.0 or higher for its SACERS-U classrooms. When calculating an average score for ITERS-3 and 
19 ECERS-3 or SACERS-U, the child care center may drop one classroom’s assessment score, so 
20 long as there is at least one additional classroom serving the same age children and that 
21 classroom’s score is included in the average score. A child care center using an alternative 
22 approved program assessment tool shall earn a comparable assessment score based on the tool’s 
23 scoring scale, as determined by the Commission. 
24 (B) For any assessment that occurs on or after January 1, 2028, a child care center using the 
25 ITERS-3, ECERS-3, or SACERS-U assessments must earn an average score of 4.0 or higher by 
26 averaging all classroom scores. The child care center may drop one classroom’s assessment score, 
27 so long as there is at least one additional classroom serving the same age children and that 
28 classroom’s score is included in the average score. A child care center using an alternative 
29 approved program assessment tool shall earn a comparable score based on the tool’s scoring scale, 
30 as determined by the Commission. 
31 (7) Child care centers that are licensed to serve four-year-old children shall implement a curriculum as 
32 defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter in any classroom serving four-year old children and older. 
33 (h) For a child care center to earn a five-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
34 (1) The child care center shall meet the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this Section. 
35 Meeting the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section is optional. 
36 (2) At least 50% of all lead teachers and at least 50% of educators shall meet the individual education 
37 standards at the five star level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of 
38 this Section, or higher. 
39 (3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule 
40 .3219 of this Section for a five-star rated license. 
41 (4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule 
42 .3221 of this Section. 
43 (5) All administrators and lead teachers shall complete a structured self-study. 
44 (6) The child care center shall request and complete an external program assessment: 
45 (A) For any assessment that occurs prior to January 1, 2028, the child care center must earn an 
46 average score of 4.0 or higher for its ITERS-3 and ECERS-3 classrooms and an average score of 
47 5.0 or higher for its SACERS-U classrooms. When calculating an average score for ITERS-3 and 
48 ECERS-3 or SACERS-U, the child care center may drop one classroom’s assessment score, so 
49 long as there is at least one additional classroom serving the same age children and that 
50 classroom’s score is included in the average score. A child care center using an alternative 
51 approved program assessment tool shall earn a comparable assessment score based on the tool’s 
52 scoring scale, as determined by the Commission. 
53 (B) For any assessment that occurs on or after January 1, 2028, a child care center using the 
54 ITERS-3, ECERS-3, or SACERS-U assessments must earn an average score of 5.0 or higher by 
55 averaging all classroom scores. The child care center may drop one classroom’s assessment score, 
56 so long as there is at least one additional classroom serving the same age children and that 
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1 classroom’s score is included in the average score. A child care center using an alternative 
2 approved program assessment tool shall earn a comparable score based on the tool’s scoring scale, 
3 as determined by the Commission. 
4 (7) Child care centers that are licensed to serve four-year-old children shall implement a curriculum as 
5 defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter in any classroom serving four-year old children and older. 
6 (i) For any child care center serving pre-school age children, the following shall also apply: 
7 (1) Each child care center shall comply with the requirements set forth in Rule .0508 of this Chapter for 
8 written activity schedules and plans and Rule .0509 of this Chapter for general activity requirements; 
9 (2) Each child care center shall comply with the requirements for activity areas for preschool-age children as 

10 set forth in Rule .0510 of this Chapter, except that all five of the activity areas listed in G.S. 110-91(12) shall 
11 be available each day and the activities listed in Rule .0510(c) of this Chapter shall be offered for each group 
12 of children at least once per week; and 
13 (3) The requirements for activities for infants and toddlers set forth in Rule .0511 of this Chapter shall apply 
14 for children under three years of age. 
15 (j) For child care centers with a licensed capacity of 200 or more, there shall be a second administrator on-site for a 
16 minimum of 20 hours per week who shall have the Level I North Carolina Early Childhood Administration Credential 
17 or its approved equivalent. 
18 (k) For child care centers providing school-age care with 200 or more school-aged children enrolled, there shall be 
19 two program coordinators on site, one of whom shall not have concurrent group leader responsibilities. The additional 
20 program coordinator shall have completed all the applicable staff requirements in Rule .2510(b) of this Chapter. 
21 (l) The above requirements shall apply to centers located in a residence, as described in Rule .0102 of this Chapter, 
22 except that the following shall apply when determining individual staff education standards: 
23 (1) If the operator is the only lead teacher, the operator shall meet the individual education standards at the 
24 desired star level, as set forth in Rule .3212 of this Section, or higher. 
25 (2) If additional lead teachers are employed by the operator, at least 50% of all lead teachers, including the 
26 operator, shall meet the individual education standards at the desired star level, as set forth in Rule .3212, or 
27 higher. 
28 
29 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2011-145, s.10.7(b) and (d); 42 
30 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
31 Eff. 
32 10A NCAC 09 .3204 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
33 
34 10A NCAC 09 .3204 PROGRAM ASSESSMENT PATHWAY FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOMES 
35 (a) This Rule shall apply to operators of family child care homes that choose to earn a two through five star rated 
36 license using the program assessment licensure pathway. 
37 (b) For purposes of this Rule, “structured self-study” shall mean the process that family child care home operators 
38 use to reflect on current teaching practices and educational environments, and identify areas of strength, needs and 
39 action steps required to achieve the standards of the program assessment tool as set forth in (c) of this Rule. A 
40 structured self-study shall be completed over a minimum of three consecutive months and include a self-assessment 
41 using the appropriate program assessment tool and additional resources located at [insert weblink], a written 
42 reflection of the self-assessment, including identification of goals for continuous quality improvement, and 
43 documentation of the structured self-study using forms found on the Division’s website at 
44 https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider/Provider-Documents-and-Forms. 
45 (c) Family child care homes shall be evaluated using “Family Child Care Environment Rating Scale, Third Edition” 
46 (FCCERS-3). Alternatively, the Commission may approve additional program assessment tools that meet the 
47 following criteria: 
48 (1) the program assessment tool is research-based; 
49 (2) the program assessment tool has demonstrated reliability and validity; 
50 (3) the program assessment tool has been developed and validated for the intended population; 
51 (4) the standards being evaluated by the program assessment tool are measurable; 
52 (5) the program assessment tool is published or otherwise publicly available; 
53 (6) the program assessment tool assesses and supports early childhood 
54 environments in a way that is sensitive and responsive to the needs of all children and families from 
55 culturally, linguistically, economically, and ability diverse backgrounds; and 
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1 (7) the program assessment tool and training for its use has a process to reduce bias.  
2 Upon approval of additional program assessment tools, the operator of a family child care home may choose which 
3 assessment tool they utilize to earn a star rating in this licensure pathway, as long as their choice is applicable to the 
4 ages of children served, the type of facility in operation, or other criteria specified by the Commission in its 
5 approval. 
6 (d) For a family child care home to earn a two-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
7 (1) The operator shall meet education standards at the two star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section 
8 or higher. 
9 (2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement foundational practices set forth in 

10 Rule .3220 of this Section. 
11 (3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of 
12 this Section. 
13 (4) The operator shall complete a structured self-study. 
14 (e) For a family child care home to earn a three-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
15 (1) The operator shall meet education standards at the three star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section 
16 or higher. 
17 (2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3220 
18 of this Section for a three-star rated license. 
19 (3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of 
20 this Section. 
21 (4) The operator shall complete a structured self-study. 
22 (5) The operator shall request and complete an external program assessment and use the results of the 
23 assessment in the continuous quality improvement plan set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section. 
24 (f) For a family child care home to earn a four-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
25 (1) The operator shall meet education standards at the four star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section 
26 or higher. 
27 (2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3220 
28 of this Section for a four-star rated license. 
29 (3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of 
30 this Section. 
31 (4) The operator shall complete a structured self-study. 
32 (5) The family child care home operator shall request and complete an external program assessment: 
33 (A) For any assessment that occurs prior to January 1, 2028, the family child care home must earn 
34 a score of 3.5 or higher on its FCCERS-3 assessment. An operator using an approved alternative 
35 program assessment tool shall earn a comparable score based on the tool’s scoring scale, as 
36 determined by the Commission. 
37 (B) For any assessment that occurs on or after January 1, 2028, the family child care home shall 
38 earn a score of 4.0 or higher on its FCCERS-3 assessment. An operator using an alternative 
39 approved program assessment tool shall earn a comparable score based on the tool’s scoring scale, 
40 as determined by the Commission. 
41 (6) Operators that are licensed to serve four-year-old children shall implement a curriculum as defined in 
42 Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter for use with children four years old and older. 
43 (g) For a family child care home to earn a five-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
44 (1) The operator shall meet education standards at the five star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section, 
45 or higher. 
46 (2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3220 
47 of this Section for a five-star rated license. 
48 (3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of 
49 this Section. 
50 (4) The operator shall complete a structured self-study. 
51 (5) The operator shall request and complete an external program assessment: 
52 (A) For any assessment that occurs prior to January 1, 2028, the family child care home must earn 
53 a score of 4.0 or higher on its FCCERS-3 assessment. An operator using an approved alternative 
54 program assessment tool shall earn a comparable score based on the tool’s scoring scale, as 
55 determined by the Commission. 
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1 (B) For any assessment that occurs on or after January 1, 2028, the family child care home shall 
2 earn a score of 5.0 or higher on its FCCERS-3 assessment. An operator using an alternative 
3 approved program assessment tool shall earn a comparable score based on the tool’s scoring scale, 
4 as determined by the Commission. 
5 (6) Operators that are licensed to serve four-year-old children shall implement a curriculum as defined in 
6 Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter for use with children four years old or older. 
7 
8 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2011-145, s.10.7(b) and (d); 42 
9 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 

10 Eff. 
11 
12 10A NCAC 09 .3205 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
13 
14 10A NCAC 09 .3205 CLASSROOM AND INSTRUCTIONAL QUALITY PATHWAY FOR CHILD 
15 CARE CENTERS 
16 (a) This Rule shall apply to child care centers that choose to earn a two through five star rated license using the 
17 classroom and instructional quality licensure pathway. 
18 (b) As used in this Rule, “educators” shall mean teachers, group leaders, and administrative staff, including 
19 directors, assistant directors, program coordinators, education coordinators, curriculum specialists, and other staff 
20 that have responsibility for planning, caregiving, mentoring or training on-site in a child care center. Educators shall 
21 meet the education standards of a position as set forth in Rules .3211, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this 
22 Section and work full-time. If a program operates less than 40 hours per week, full-time shall mean the hours the 
23 program is in operation. 
24 (c) For a child care center to earn a two-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
25 (1) The child care center shall meet either the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this 
26 Section or the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section. 
27 (2) At least 50% of lead teachers and at least 50% of educators shall meet the individual education 
28 standards at the two star level as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of 
29 this Section or higher. 
30 (3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement foundational practices set 
31 forth in Rule .3219 of this Section. 
32 (4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule 
33 .3221 of this Section. 
34 (5) The child care center shall implement a curriculum for all ages served that is: 
35 (A) aligned with the North Carolina Foundations for Early Learning and Development; 
36 (B) child focused; 
37 (C) developmentally appropriate; and 
38 (D) culturally and linguistically appropriate. 
39 (6) In curriculum planning, the child care center shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to 
40 involve all children with special health and developmental needs. 
41 (d) For a child care center to earn a three-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
42 (1) The child care center shall meet either the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this 
43 Section or the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section. 
44 (2) At least 50% of lead teachers and at least 50% of educators shall meet the individual education 
45 standards at the three star level as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of 
46 this Section or higher. 
47 (3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule 
48 .3219 of this Section for a three-star rated license. 
49 (4) The child care center shall implement continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 
50 of this Section. 
51 (5) The child care center shall implement a curriculum for all ages served that is: 
52 (A) aligned with the North Carolina Foundations for Early Learning and Development; 
53 (B) child focused; 
54 (C) developmentally appropriate; and 
55 (D) culturally and linguistically appropriate. 
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1 (6) In curriculum planning, the child care center shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to 
2 involve all children with special health and developmental needs. 
3 (7) The child care center shall ensure child observations are conducted for each child enrolled in the 
4 facility. Child observations shall include evidence of the child’s activities and may include the following: 
5 (A) anecdotal notes; 
6 (B) portfolio of child’s work samples; 
7 (C) developmental screenings; 
8 (D) formative assessment tools; or 
9 (E) photographs, audio, or video recordings with permission from the child’s family. 

10 (8) The administrator participates in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional 
11 quality practices: 
12 (A) annual completion of 5 hours of coaching or mentoring by another administrator of a licensed 
13 child care center with a star-rating of three stars or higher, or a community resource partner; 
14 (B) annual completion of 5 ongoing training hours, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule 
15 .1103 of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section; 
16 or 
17 (C) annual completion of 0.5 continuing education unit, in addition to applicable requirements in 
18 Rule .1103 of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this 
19 Section. 
20 (e) For a child care center to earn a four-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
21 (1) The child care center shall meet the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this Section. 
22 The child care center may choose to meet the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this 
23 Section. 
24 (2) At least 50% of lead teachers and at least 50% of educators shall meet the individual education 
25 standards at the four star level as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of 
26 this Section or higher. 
27 (3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule 
28 .3219 of this Section for a four-star rated license. 
29 (4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule 
30 .3221 of this Section. 
31 (5) The child care center shall implement a curriculum that has been approved by the Commission as 
32 defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter for all ages served. A list of curricula that has been approved by 
33 the Commission is available at https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated- 
34 License/Curriculum. 
35 (6) In curriculum planning, the child care center shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to 
36 involve all children with special health and developmental needs. 
37 (7) The child care center shall conduct on-going formative assessments to gather information about each 
38 child’s growth and skill development based on individual development and learning needs and maintain 
39 evidence of each child’s on-going assessment. The child care center shall use a formative assessment(s) 
40 that has been approved by the Commission, available at 
41 https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum. Evidence of formative 
42 assessments shall include documentation required or contemplated by the approved formative assessment 
43 and may also include: 
44 (A) anecdotal notes; 
45 (B) portfolio of child’s work samples; 
46 (C) developmental screenings; or 
47 (D) photographs, audio, or video recordings with permission from the child’s family. 
48 (8) The lead teacher shall share the results of the formative assessment with families at least once annually. 
49 The manner in which the results are shared shall be convenient for the family such as by telephone, email, 
50 virtually, or in-person. 
51 (9) The administrator shall complete training related to the approved curriculum and formative assessment 
52 tool that is used by center staff with children, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1103 of this 
53 Chapter. Verification of this training shall be maintained in the administrator’s personnel file. 
54 (10) The administrator shall participate in one of the following activities regarding classroom and 
55 instructional quality practices: 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
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1 (A) annual completion of 5 hours of coaching or mentoring by another administrator of a licensed 
2 child care facility with a star-rating of four or five stars or a community resource partner; 
3 (B) annual completion of 5 ongoing training hours, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule 
4 .1103 of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section; 
5 or 
6 (C) annual completion of 0.5 continuing education unit, in addition to applicable requirements in 
7 Rule .1103 of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this 
8 Section. 
9 (11) All lead teachers shall participate in one of the following activities regarding classroom and 

10 instructional quality practices: 
11 (A) annual completion of 5 hours of coaching or mentoring by the administrator, another lead 
12 teacher in in the center, a lead teacher in another licensed child care center with a star-rating of 
13 four or five stars, an administrator of another licensed child care center with a star-rating of four or 
14 five stars, or a community resource partner; 
15 (B) annual completion of 5 ongoing training hours, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule 
16 .1103 of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section; 
17 or 
18 (C) annual completion of 0.5 continuing education unit, in addition to applicable requirements in 
19 Rule .1103 of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this 
20 Section. 
21 (f) For a child care center to earn a five-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
22 (1) The child care center shall meet the reduced, enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3209 of this 
23 Section. The child care center may choose to meet the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 
24 of this Section. 
25 (2) At least 50% of lead teachers and at least 50% of educators shall meet the individual education 
26 standards at the five star level as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of 
27 this Section, or higher. 
28 (3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule 
29 .3219 of this Section for a five-star rated license. 
30 (4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule 
31 .3221 of this Section. 
32 (5) The child care center shall implement a curriculum that has been approved by the Commission as 
33 defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter for all ages served. A list of curricula that has been approved by 
34 the Commission is available at https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated- 
35 License/Curriculum. 
36 (6) In curriculum planning, the child care center shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to 
37 involve all children with special health and developmental needs. 
38 (7) The child care center shall conduct on-going formative assessments to gather information about each 
39 child’s growth and skill development based on individual development and learning needs and maintain 
40 evidence of each child’s on-going assessment. The child care center shall use a formative assessment(s) 
41 that has been approved by the Commission, available at 
42 https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum. Evidence of formative 
43 assessments shall include documentation required or contemplated by the approved formative assessment 
44 and may also include: 
45 (A) anecdotal notes; 
46 (B) portfolio of child’s work samples; 
47 (C) developmental screenings; or 
48 (D) photographs, audio, or video recordings with permission from the child’s family. 
49 (8) The lead teacher shall share the results of the formative assessment with families at least twice annually. 
50 While sharing the results, the lead teacher shall provide an opportunity for families to contribute additional 
51 information to the formative assessment. The manner in which the results are shared shall be convenient 
52 for the family such as by telephone, email, virtually, or in-person. 
53 (9) The administrator and all lead teachers shall complete training related to the curriculum and formative 
54 assessment tool that is used by the center staff with children, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule 
55 .1103 of this Chapter. Verification of this training shall be maintained in the individual’s personnel file. 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
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1 (10) The administrator participates in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional 
2 quality practices: 
3 (A) annual completion of 5 hours of coaching or mentoring by an administrator of another 
4 licensed child care center with a star-rating of five stars, or a community resource partner; 
5 (B) annual completion of 5 ongoing training hours, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule 
6 .1103 of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section; 
7 or 
8 (C) annual completion of 0.5 continuing education unit, in addition to applicable requirements in 
9 Rule .1103 of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this 

10 Section. 
11 (11) All lead teachers participate in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional 
12 quality practices: 
13 (A) annual completion of 5 hours of coaching or mentoring by the administrator, another lead 
14 teacher in in the center, a lead teacher in another licensed child care center with a star-rating of 
15 five stars, an administrator of another licensed child care center with a star-rating of five stars, or a 
16 community resource partner; 
17 (B) annual completion of 5 ongoing training hours, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule 
18 .1103 of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section; 
19 or 
20 (C) annual completion of 0.5 continuing education unit, in addition to applicable requirements in 
21 Rule .1103 of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this 
22 Section. 
23 (g) For any child care center serving pre-school age children, the following shall also apply: 
24 (1) Each child care center shall comply with the requirements set forth in Rule .0508 of this Chapter for 
25 written activity schedules and plans and Rule .0509 of this Chapter for general activity requirements; 
26 (2) Each child care center shall comply with the requirements for activity areas for preschool-age children as 
27 set forth in Rule .0510 of this Chapter, except that all five of the activity areas listed in G.S. 110-91(12) shall 
28 be available each day and the activities listed in Rule .0510(c) of this Chapter shall be offered for each group 
29 of children at least once per week; and 
30 (3) The requirements for activities for infants and toddlers set forth in Rule .0511 of this Chapter shall apply 
31 for children under three years of age. 
32 (h) For centers with a licensed capacity of 200 or more, there shall be a second administrator on-site for a minimum 
33 of 20 hours per week who shall have the Level I North Carolina Early Childhood Administration Credential or its 
34 approved equivalent. 
35 (i) For centers providing school-age care with 200 or more school-aged children enrolled, there shall be two program 
36 coordinators on site, one of whom shall not have concurrent group leader responsibilities. The additional program 
37 coordinator shall have completed all the applicable staff requirements in Rule .2510(b) of this Chapter. 
38 (j) The above requirements shall apply to centers located in a residence, as described in Rule .0102 of this Chapter, 
39 except that the following shall apply when determining individual staff education standards: 
40 (1) If the operator is the only lead teacher, the operator shall meet the individual education standards at the 
41 desired star level, as set forth in Rule .3212 of this Section, or higher. 
42 (2) If additional lead teachers are employed by the operator, at least 50% of all lead teachers, including the 
43 operator, shall meet the individual education standards at the desired star level, as set forth in Rule .3212, or 
44 higher. 
45 
46 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2011-145, s.10.7(b) and (d); S.L. 
47 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
48 Eff. 
49 
50 10A NCAC 09 .3206 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
51 
52 10A NCAC 09 .3206 CLASSROOM AND INSTRUCTIONAL QUALITY PATHWAY FOR FAMILY 
53 CHILD CARE HOMES 
54 (a) This Rule shall apply to family child care homes that choose to earn a two through five-star rated license using 
55 the classroom and instructional quality licensure pathway. 
56 (b) For a family child care home to earn a two-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
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1 (1) The operator shall meet education standards at the two star level as set forth in Rule .3217 of this 
2 Section or higher. 
3 (2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement foundational practices set forth in 
4 Rule .3220 of this Section for a two-star rated license. 
5 (3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of 
6 this Section. 
7 (4) The operator shall implement a curriculum for all ages served that is: 
8 (A) aligned with the North Carolina Foundations for Early Learning and Development; 
9 (B) child focused; 

10 (C) developmentally appropriate; and 
11 (D) culturally and linguistically appropriate. 
12 (5) In curriculum planning, the operator shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to involve all 
13 children with special health and developmental needs. 
14 (c) For a family child care home to earn a three-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
15 (1) The operator shall meet education standards at the three star level as set forth in Rule .3217 of this 
16 Section or higher. 
17 (2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3220 
18 of this Section for a three-star rated license. 
19 (3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of 
20 this Section. 
21 (4) The operator shall implement a curriculum for all ages served that is: 
22 (A) aligned with the North Carolina Foundations for Early Learning and Development; 
23 (B) child focused; 
24 (C) developmentally appropriate; and 
25 (D) culturally and linguistically appropriate. 
26 (5) In curriculum planning, the operator shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to involve all 
27 children with special health and developmental needs. 
28 (6) The operator shall ensure child observations are conducted for each child enrolled in the family child 
29 care home. Child observations shall include evidence of the child’s activities and may include the 
30 following: 
31 (A) anecdotal notes; 
32 (B) portfolio of child’s work samples; 
33 (C) developmental screenings; 
34 (D) formative assessment tools; or 
35 (E) photographs, audio, or video recordings with permission from the child’s family. 
36 (7) The operator participates in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional quality 
37 practices: 
38 (A) annual completion of 5 hours of coaching or mentoring by a center administrator of a licensed 
39 child care center with a star-rating of three stars or higher, an operator of another licensed family 
40 child care home with a star-rating of three stars or higher, or a community resource partner; 
41 (B) annual completion of 5 ongoing training hours, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule 
42 .1703(f) of this Chapter and Rule .3217 of this Section; or 
43 (C) annual completion of 0.5 continuing education unit, in addition to applicable requirements in 
44 Rule .1703(f) of this Chapter and Rule .3217 of this Section. 
45 (d) For a family child care home to earn a four-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
46 (1) The operator shall meet education standards at the four star level as set forth in Rule .3217 of this 
47 Section or higher. 
48 (2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3220 
49 of this Section for a four-star rated license. 
50 (3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of 
51 this Section. 
52 (4) The operator shall implement a curriculum that has been approved by the Commission as defined in 
53 Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter for all ages served. A list of curricula that has been approved by the 
54 Commission is available at https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated- 
55 License/Curriculum. 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
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1 (5) In curriculum planning, the operator shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to involve all 
2 children with special health and developmental needs. 
3 (6) The operator shall conduct on-going formative assessments to gather information about each child’s 
4 growth and skill development based on individual development and learning needs and maintain evidence 
5 of each child’s on-going assessment. The operator shall use a formative assessment(s) that has been 
6 approved by the Commission, available at https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated- 
7 License/Curriculum. Evidence of formative assessments shall include documentation required or 
8 contemplated by the approved formative assessment and may also include: 
9 (A) anecdotal notes; 

10 (B) portfolio of child’s work samples; 
11 (C) developmental screenings; or 
12 (D) photographs, audio, or video recordings with permission from the child’s family. 
13  (7) The operator shall share the results of the formative assessment with families at least once annually. 
14 The manner in which the results are shared shall be convenient for the family such as by telephone, email, 
15 virtually, in-person. 
16 (8) The operator shall complete training related to the curriculum and formative assessment tool that is used 
17 by center staff with children, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1703(f) of this Chapter. 
18 Verification of this training shall be maintained in the operator’s personnel file. 
19 (9) The operator participates in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional quality 
20 practices: 
21 (A) annual completion of 5 hours of coaching or mentoring by a center administrator of a licensed 
22 child care center with a star-rating of four or five stars, an operator of another licensed family 
23 child care home with a star-rating of four or five stars, or a community resource partner; 
24 (B) annual completion of 5 ongoing training hours, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule 
25 .1703(f) of this Chapter and Rule .3217 of this Section; or 
26 (C) annual completion of 0.5 continuing education unit, in addition to applicable requirements in 
27 Rule .1703(f) of this Chapter and Rule .3217 of this Section. 
28 (e) For a family child care home to earn a five-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met: 
29 (1) If the family child care home is meeting license capacity requirements in G.S. 110-91(7)(b)(1), no 
30 more than four children shall be under the age of 24 months of the children who are birth to 5 years of age. 
31 This requirement shall not reduce the licensed capacity of the family child care home. 
32 (2) The operator shall meet the education standards at the five star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this 
33 Section, or higher. 
34 (3) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3220 
35 of this Section for a five-star rated license. 
36 (4) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of 
37 this Section. 
38 (5) The operator shall implement a curriculum that has been approved by the Commission as defined in 
39 Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter for all ages served. A list of curricula that has been approved by the 
40 Commission is available at https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated- 
41 License/Curriculum. 
42 (6) In curriculum planning, the operator shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to involve all 
43 children with special health and developmental needs. 
44 (7) The operator shall conduct on-going formative assessments to gather information about each child’s 
45 growth and skill development based on individual development and learning needs and maintain evidence 
46 of each child’s on-going assessment. The operator shall use a formative assessment(s) that has been 
47 approved by the Commission, available at https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated- 
48 License/Curriculum. Evidence of formative assessments shall include documentation required or 
49 contemplated by the approved formative assessment and may also include: 
50 (A) anecdotal notes; 
51 (B) portfolio of child’s work samples; 
52 (C) developmental screenings; or 
53 (D) photographs, audio, or video recordings with permission from the child’s family. 
54 (8) The operator shall share the results of the formative assessment with families at least twice annually. 
55 While sharing the results, the operator shall provide an opportunity for families to contribute additional 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
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1 information to the formative assessment. The manner in which the results are shared shall be convenient 
2 for the family such as by telephone, email, virtually, or in-person. 
3 (9) The operator shall complete training related to the curriculum and formative assessment tool that is 
4 used, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1703(f) of this Chapter. Verification of this training 
5 shall be maintained in the operator’s personnel file. 
6 (10) The operator participates in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional 
7 quality practices: 
8 (A) annual completion of 5 hours of coaching or mentoring by a center administrator of a licensed 
9 child care center with a star-rating of five stars, an operator of another licensed family child care 

10 home with a star-rating of five stars, or a community resource partner; 
11 (B) annual completion of 5 ongoing training hours, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule 
12 .1703(f) of this Chapter and Rule .3217 of this Section; or 
13 (C) annual completion of 0.5 continuing education unit, in addition to applicable requirements in 
14 Rule .1703(f) of this Chapter and Rule .3217 of this Section. 
15 
16 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2011-145, s.10.7(b) and (d); S.L. 
17 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
18 Eff. 
19 
20 10A NCAC 09 .3207 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
21 
22 10A NCAC 09 .3207 ACCREDITATION AND HEAD START PATHWAY FOR CHILD CARE 
23 FACILITIES 
24 (a) This Rule shall apply to child care facilities that choose to earn a two through five star rated license using the 
25 accreditation and Head Start licensure pathway. 
26 (b) As used in the Rule, “educators” shall mean teachers, group leaders, and administrative staff, including directors, 
27 assistant directors, program coordinators, education coordinators, curriculum specialists, and other staff that have 
28 responsibility for planning, caregiving, mentoring or training on-site in a child care center. Educators shall meet the 
29 education standards of a position as set forth in Rules .3211, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section and 
30 work full-time. If a program operates less than 40 hours per week, full-time shall mean the hours the program is in 
31 operation. 
32 (c) When a child care facility is accredited by one of the following organizations, a three-star rated license may be 
33 issued based programmatic standards: 
34 (1) National Association for Family Child Care (NAFCC) 
35 (2) National Early Childhood Program Accreditation (NECPA) 
36 (3) American Montessori Society (AMS) 
37 (4) International Montessori Council (IMC) 
38 (d) A child care facility accredited by one of the organizations listed in (c) of this Rule may increase its star rating to 
39 a four-star rated license, by requesting an evaluation of its education standards and be issued a four-star rated license 
40 if the following applicable standard is met: 
41 (1) For child care centers, at least 50% of lead teachers and at least 50% of educators shall meet the 
42 individual education standards at the four star level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, 
43 .3216 and .3218 of this Section or higher. 
44 (2) For a family child care home, the operator shall meet education standards at the four star level, as set 
45 forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or higher. 
46 (e) A child care facility accredited by one of the organizations listed in (c) of this Rule may increase its star rating to 
47 a five-star rated license, by requesting an evaluation of its education standards and be issued a five-star rated license 
48 if the following applicable standard is met: 
49 (1) For child care centers, at least 50% of all lead teachers and at least 50% of all other educators shall meet 
50 individual education standards at the five star level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, 
51 .3216 and .3218 of this Section or higher. 
52 (2) The operator of a family child care home shall meet education standards at the five star level, as set 
53 forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or higher. 
54 (f) When a child care facility is accredited by one of the following organizations, a five-star rated license may be 
55 issued based on educational and programmatic standards: 
56 (1) National Association for the Education of young Children (NAEYC) 
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1 (2) National Accreditation Commission for Early Care and Education Programs (NAC) 
2 (3) Cognia, that includes early learning standards 
3 (4) Cognia, that includes extended learning standards for school age care only programs 
4 (g) When a child care facility is designated as Head Start or Early Head Start, a five-star rated license may be issued 
5 based on educational and programmatic standards. 
6 (h) Verification of accreditation status, Head Start designation or Early Head Start designation shall be maintained at 
7 the child care facility at all times and be provided to the Division on request. 
8 (i) Accredited, Head Start and Early Head Start facilities shall meet the staff/child ratio requirements of the 
9 organization when required to obtain and maintain the accreditation or designation. If a facility may receive an 

10 accreditation award or Head Start designation without adhering to the accreditation standards or Head Start 
11 performance standards, the facility shall meet the organization’s staff/child ratio standard or enhanced staff/child 
12 ratio requirements specified in Rule .3208 of this Section. 
13 (j) Accredited facilities, Head Start facilities and Early Head Start facilities are not required to meet additional 
14 programmatic requirements described in this Section when in good standing with accreditation or performance 
15 standards. Programmatic requirement topics include curriculum, continuous quality improvement, and family and 
16 community engagement. 
17 (k) For any child care center serving pre-school age children, the following shall also apply: 
18 (1) Each child care center shall comply with the requirements set forth in Rule .0508 of this Chapter for 
19 written activity schedules and plans and Rule .0509 of this Chapter for general activity requirements; 
20 (2) Each child care center shall comply with the requirements for activity areas for preschool-age children as 
21 set forth in Rule .0510 of this Chapter, except that all five of the activity areas listed in G.S. 110-91(12) shall 
22 be available each day and the activities listed in Rule .0510(c) of this Chapter shall be offered for each group 
23 of children at least once per week; and 
24 (3) The requirements for activities for infants and toddlers set forth in Rule .0511 of this Chapter shall apply 
25 for children under three years of age. 
26 (l) For centers with a licensed capacity of 200 or more, there shall be a second administrator on-site for a minimum of 
27 20 hours per week who shall have the Level I North Carolina Early Childhood Administration Credential or its 
28 approved equivalent. 
29 (m) For centers providing school-age care with 200 or more school-aged children enrolled, there shall be two program 
30 coordinators on site, one of whom shall not have concurrent group leader responsibilities. The additional program 
31 coordinator shall have completed all the applicable staff requirements in Rule .2510(b) of this Chapter. 
32 
33 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2011-145, s.10.7(b) and (d); S.L. 
34 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
35 Eff. 
36 
37 10A NCAC 09 .3208 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
38 
39 10A NCAC 09 .3208 ENHANCED STAFF/CHILD RATIOS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR CHILD 
40 CARE CENTERS 
41 (a) This Rule shall apply to evaluating the staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes for a rated license for child 
42 care centers. 
43 (b) Enhanced Staff/Child Ratio means that the center shall comply with the following staff/child ratios and maximum 
44 group sizes. 

Age Ratio Staff/Children Maximum Group Size 
0 to 12 Months 1/5 10 
1 to 2 Years 1/6 12 
2 to 3 Years 1/9 18 
3 to 4 Years 1/10 20 
4 to 5 Years 1/13 25 
5 to 6 Years 1/15 25 
6 Years and Older 1/20 25 

45 (d) The provisions of rules 10A NCAC 09 .0713(a) through (e) shall apply in evaluating the staff/child ratios and 
46 maximum group sizes within this Rule. 
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1 (e) Enhanced staff/child ratios shall not apply to facilities who choose to use multi-age group staff child ratios as set 
2 forth in Rule .0713(f) of this Chapter. 
3 (f) The staff/child ratio applicable to a classroom shall be posted in that classroom in an area that parents are able to 
4 view at all times. 
5 
6 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 143B-168.3; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
7 Eff. 
8 
9 10A NCAC 09 .3209 is proposed for amendment as follows: 

10 
11 10A NCAC 09 .3209 REDUCED, ENHANCED STAFF/CHILD RATIOS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR 
12 CHILD CARE CENTERS 
13 (a) This Rule shall apply to evaluating the staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes for a rated license for child 
14 care centers. 
15 (b) Enhanced Staff/Child Ratio means that the center shall comply with the following staff/child ratios and maximum 
16 group sizes. 

Age Ratio Staff/Children Maximum Group Size 
0 to 12 Months ¼ 8 
1 to 2 Years 1/5 10 
2 to 3 Years 1/8 16 
3 to 4 Years 1/9 18 
4 to 5 Years 1/12 24 
5 to 6 Years 1/14 25 
6 Years and Older 1/19 25 

17 (d) The provisions of rules 10A NCAC 09 .0713(a) through (e) shall apply in evaluating the staff/child ratios and 
18 maximum group sizes within this Rule. 
19 (e) Reduced, enhanced staff/child ratios shall not apply to facilities who choose to use multi-age group staff child 
20 ratios as set forth in Rule .0713(f) of this Chapter. 
21 (f) The staff/child ratio applicable to a classroom shall be posted in that classroom in an area that parents are able to 
22 view at all times. 
23 
24 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 143B-168.3; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
25 Eff. 
26 
27 10A NCAC 09 .3210 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
28 
29 10A NCAC 09 .3210 ENHANCED SPACE REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 
30 (a) There shall be at least 30 square feet inside space per child per the total licensed capacity and 100 square feet 
31 outside space for each child using the outdoor learning environment at any one time. 
32 (b) There shall be an area that can be arranged for administrative and private conference activities. 
33 
34 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
35 Eff. 
36 
37 10A NCAC 09 .3211 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
38 
39 10A NCAC 09 .3211 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE CENTER ON-SITE 
40 ADMINISTRATORS 
41 (a) This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of an on-site administrator, as defined in G.S. 110-86(2a), in 
42 a child care center. 
43 (b) A child care provider meets the two star education standard for on-site administrators if the provider meets, at 
44 minimum, the requirements set forth in Option 1 or Option 2 as follows: 
45 (1) Option 1: 
46 (A) Level I NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
47 and 
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1 (B) Successful completion at least 6 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
2 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
3 (C) Annual completion of at least 1.0 continuing education credit in early childhood education and 
4 school-age related topics in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter; and 
5 (D) If the center is licensed for school-age care, have at least 3 months licensed or unlicensed 
6 school-age care work experience or successful completion of BSAC training. 
7 (2) Option 2: 
8 (A) Level I NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
9 and 

10 (B) Have at least 2 years of early childhood education work experience or have at least 1 year of 
11 administrative work experience; and 
12 (C) If the center is licensed for school-age care, have at least 3 months licensed or unlicensed 
13 school-age care work experience or successful completion of BSAC training. 
14 (c) A child care provider meets the three star education standard for on-site administrators if the provider meets, at 
15 minimum, the requirements set forth in Option 1 or Option 2 as follows: 
16 (1) Option 1: 
17 (A) Level I NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
18 and 
19 (B) Successful completion of at least 12 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
20 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
21 (C) Have at least 1 year of administrative work experience or, if the center is licensed for school- 
22 age care, have at least 6 months licensed or unlicensed school-age care work experience or, if the 
23 center is licensed for school-age care, successful completion of BSAC training. 
24 (2) Option 2: 
25 (A) Level I NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
26 and 
27 (B) Successful completion of at least 6 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
28 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
29 (C) Have at least 3 years of early childhood education work experience or administrative work 
30 experience or a combination of both types of experience; and 
31 (D) If the center is licensed for school-age care, have at least 6 months licensed or unlicensed 
32 school-age care work experience or successful completion of BSAC training. 
33 (d) A child care provider meets the four star education standard for on-site administrators if the provider meets, at 
34 minimum, the requirements set forth in Option 1 or Option 2 as follows: 
35 (1) Option 1: 
36 (A) Level I NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
37 and 
38 (B) Successful completion of at least 12 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
39 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
40 (C) Be enrolled in or have completed an associate or bachelor’s degree program; and 
41 (D) Have at least 2 years of early childhood education or administrative work experience or, if the 
42 center is licensed for school-age care, successful completion of BSAC training. 
43 (2) Option 2: 
44 (A) Level II NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
45 and 
46 (B) Be enrolled in or have completed an associate or bachelor’s degree program; and 
47 (C) Have at least 2 years of early childhood education work experience; and 
48 (D) If the center is licensed for school-age care, have at least 1 year licensed or unlicensed school- 
49 age care work experience or successful completion of BSAC training. 
50 (e) A child care provider meets the five star education standard for on-site administrators if the provider meets, at 
51 minimum, the requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, or Option 3 as follows: 
52 (1) Option 1: 
53 (A) Level II NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
54 and 
55 (B) Successful completion of at least 18 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
56 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
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1 (C) Be enrolled in or have completed a bachelor’s degree program; and 
2 (D) Have at least 4 years of work experience in early childhood education, administrative duties, 
3 or a combination of both types of experience; and 
4 (E) If the center is licensed for school-age care, have at least 2 years licensed or unlicensed school- 
5 age care work experience or successful completion of BSAC training. 
6 (2) Option 2: 
7 (A) Level II NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
8 and 
9 (B) Successful completion of at least 18 semester hours in early childhood education or child 

10 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
11 (C) Be enrolled in or have completed a bachelor’s degree program; and 
12 (D) Have at least 4 years combined early childhood education and administrative work experience; 
13 and 
14 (E) If the center is licensed for school-age care, successful completion of BSAC training. 
15 (3) Option 3: 
16 (A) Level III NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent; and 
17 (B) Have at least 3 years of work experience in early childhood education, administrative duties, 
18 or a combination of both types of experience; and 
19 (C) If the center is licensed for school-age care, have at least 1 year licensed or unlicensed school- 
20 age care experience or successful completion of BSAC training. 
21 (f) Semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework required to meet the education 
22 standards set forth in this Rule shall not include the coursework necessary for the North Carolina Early Childhood 
23 Administration Credential (NCECAC). 
24 (g) Completion of school age experience requirements shall count toward meeting work experience requirements. 
25 (h) For centers located in a residence, if an individual has responsibility both for administering the child care program 
26 and for planning and implementing the daily activities of a group of children, the educational requirements for lead 
27 teacher in Rule .3212 of this Section shall apply. All other teachers shall follow the educational requirements for 
28 teachers in this Section. 
29 
30 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 
31 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
32 Eff. 
33 
34 10A NCAC 09 .3212 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
35 
36 10A NCAC 09 .3212 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE CENTER LEAD 
37 TEACHERS 
38 (a) This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a lead teacher, as defined by GS 110-86(5a), in a child 
39 care center. 
40 (b) A child care provider meets the two star education standard for lead teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, 
41 the requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, or Option 3 as follows: 
42 (1) Option 1: Completion of a Child Development Associate (CDA) that is active with no credit for prior 
43 learning. 
44 (2) Option 2: Successful completion of at least 3 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
45 development coursework at an accredited college or university. 
46 (3) Option 3: 
47 (A) Have at least 1 year of early childhood education work experience; and 
48 (B) Annual completion of at least 0.5 continuing education credit specific to the ages and needs of 
49 children in care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter, or successful 
50 completion of a competency evaluation as set forth in Rule .3218 of this Section. 
51 (c) A child care provider meets the three star education standard for lead teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, 
52 the requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, Option 3, or Option 4 as follows: 
53 (1) Option 1: Completion of a Child Development Associate (CDA) that is active with credit for prior 
54 learning. 
55 (2) Option 2: Successful completion of at least 9 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
56 development coursework at an accredited college or university. 
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1 (3) Option 3: 
2 (A) Successful completion of at least 3 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
3 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
4 (B) Have at least 3 years of early childhood education work experience. 
5 (4) Option 4: 
6 (A) Have at least 3 years of early childhood education work experience; and 
7 (B) Annual completion of at least 1.0 continuing education credit specific to the ages and needs of 
8 children in care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter, or successful 
9 completion of a competency evaluation as set forth in Rule .3218 of this Section. 

10 (d) A child care provider meets the four star education standard for lead teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, 
11 the requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, or Option 3 as follows: 
12 (1) Option 1: 
13 (A) Successful completion of at least 12 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
14 development coursework at an accredited college or university: and 
15 (B) Have at least 2 years of early childhood work experience. 
16 (2) Option 2: Completion of an Early Childhood Certificate. 
17 (3) Option 3: 
18 (A) Have at least 5 years of early childhood work experience; and 
19 (B) Annual completion of at least 2.0 continuing education credits specific to the ages and needs 
20 of children in care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter, or 
21 successful completion of a competency evaluation as set forth in Rule .3218 of this Section. 
22 (e) A child care provider meets the five star education standard for lead teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, 
23 the requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, Option 3, Option 4, or Option 5 as follows: 
24 (1) Option 1: 
25 (A) Completion of an AAS degree or higher in early childhood education or child development; 
26 and 
27 (B) Have at least 1 year early childhood work experience or at least 6 months of 
28 coaching/mentoring by a Level II or higher Administrator for at least 5 hours per week. A 
29 coach/mentor shall be responsible for no more than two lead teachers who require 
30 coaching/mentoring at any given time. 
31 (2) Option 2: 
32 (A) Enrollment in an AAS degree program and successful completion of all required early 
33 childhood education coursework for an AAS degree program, without full completion of the 
34 degree; and 
35 (B) Have at least 1 year of early childhood education work experience. 
36 (3) Option 3: 
37 (A) Successful completion of at least 60 semester hours toward a bachelor’s degree at an 
38 accredited college or university with at least 12 semester hours in early childhood education or 
39 child development coursework; and 
40 (B) Have at least 2 years of early childhood work experience. 
41 (4) Option 4: 
42 (A) Completion of an AAS degree or higher at an accredited college or university in any major 
43 with at least 12 semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework; 
44 and 
45 (B) Have at least 2 years of early childhood work experience or at least 6 months of 
46 coaching/mentoring by a Level II or higher Administrator for at least 5 hours per week. A 
47 coach/mentor shall be responsible for no more than two lead teachers who require 
48 coaching/mentoring at any given time. 
49 (5) Option 5: 
50 (A) Have at least 10 years of early childhood work experience; and 
51 (B) Annual completion of at least 2.5 continuing education credits specific to the ages and needs 
52 of children in care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter; and 
53 (C) Successful completion of a competency evaluation as set forth in Rule .3218 of this Section. 
54 (f) Semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework required to meet the education 
55 standards set forth in this Rule shall not include the coursework necessary for the North Carolina Early Childhood 
56 Credential. 



18 of 42  

1 
2 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 
3 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
4 Eff. 
5 
6 10A NCAC 09 .3213 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
7 
8 10A NCAC 09 .3213 ENHANCED  EDUCATION  STANDARDS  FOR  CHILD  CARE  CENTER 
9 TEACHERS 

10 (a) This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a teacher, as defined in 10A NCAC 09 .0102(47), for a 
11 child care center. 
12 (b) A child care provider meets the two star education standard for teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the 
13 requirements set forth in Option 1 or Option 2 as follows: 
14 (1) Option 1: Be enrolled in at least 3 semester hours in early childhood education or child development 
15 coursework at an accredited college or university. 
16 (2) Option 2: Have at least 1 year of early childhood work experience. 
17 (c) A child care provider meets the three star education standard for teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the 
18 requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, Option 3, or Option 4 as follows: 
19 (1) Option 1: NC Early Childhood Credential or its approved equivalent. 
20 (2) Option 2: Successful completion of at least 3 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
21 development coursework at an accredited college or university. 
22 (3) Option 3: Have at least 2 years of early childhood work experience. 
23 (4) Option 4: 
24 (A) Have at least 1 year of early childhood work experience; and 
25 (B) Annual completion of at least 0.5 continuing education credit specific to the ages and needs of 
26 children in care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter, or successful 
27 completion of a competency evaluation as set forth in Rule .3218 of this Section. 
28 (d) A child care provider meets the four star education standard for teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the 
29 requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, or Option 3 as follows: 
30 (1) Option 1: 
31 (A) NC Early Childhood Credential or its approved equivalent; and 
32 (B) Successful completion of at least 3 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
33 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
34 (C) Have at least 1 year of early childhood work experience. 
35 (2) Option 2: 
36 (A) Have at least 2 years of early childhood work experience; and 
37 (B) Annual completion of at least 1.0 continuing education credit specific to the ages and needs of 
38 children in care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter, or successful 
39 completion of a competency evaluation as set forth in Rule .3218 of this Section. 
40 (3) Option 3: Completion of a Child Development Associate (CDA) that is active with no credit for prior 
41 learning. 
42 (e) A child care provider meets the five star education standard for teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the 
43 requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, Option 3, or Option 4 as follows: 
44 (1) Option 1: 
45 (A) NC Early Childhood Credential or its approved equivalent; and 
46 (B) Successful completion of at least 6 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
47 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
48 (C) Have at least 2 years of early childhood work experience. 
49 (2) Option 2: 
50 (A) NC Early Childhood Credential or its approved equivalent; and 
51 (B) Successful completion of at least 3 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
52 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
53 (C) Annual completion of at least 1.5 continuing education credit specific to the ages and needs of 
54 children in care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter; and 
55 (D) Have at least 2 years of early childhood work experience. 
56 (3) Option 3: 
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1 (A) NC Early Childhood Credential or its approved equivalent; and 
2 (B) Annual completion of at least 1.5 continuing education credits specific to the ages and needs 
3 of children in care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter; and 
4 (C) Successful completion of a competency evaluation as set forth in Rule .3218 of this Section; 
5 and 
6 (D) Have at least 3 years of early childhood work experience. 
7 (4) Option 4: Completion of a Child Development Associate (CDA) that is active with credit for prior 
8 learning. 
9 (f) Semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework required to meet the standards set 

10 forth in this Rule shall not include the coursework necessary for the North Carolina Early Childhood Credential. 
11 
12 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 
13 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
14 Eff. 
15 
16 10A NCAC 09 .3214 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
17 
18 10A NCAC 09 .3214 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR PROGRAM COORDINATORS IN 
19 CHILD  CARE  CENTERS  THAT  PROVIDE  CARE  FOR  SCHOOL-AGE 
20 CHILDREN 
21 (a) This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a program coordinator for a child care center that serves 
22 school-age children, as required by 10A NCAC 09 .2510(b). 
23 (b) A child care provider meets the two star education standard for program coordinators if the provider meets, at 
24 minimum, the requirements set forth in Option 1 or Option 2 as follows: 
25 (1) Option 1: Be enrolled in at least 3 semester hours of school-age care coursework at an accredited college 
26 or university. 
27 (2) Option 2: Have at least 3 months licensed school-age care experience or have at least 6 months 
28 unlicensed school-age care experience. 
29 (c) A child care provider meets the three star education standard for program coordinators if the provider meets, at 
30 minimum, the requirements set forth in Option 1 or Option 2 as follows: 
31 (1) Option 1: 
32 (A) Successful completion of at least 3 semester hours of school-age care coursework at an 
33 accredited college or university; and 
34 (B) Have 3 months licensed school-age care experience or have 6 months unlicensed school-age 
35 care experience. 
36 (2) Option 2: Have 6 months licensed school-age care experience or have 9 months unlicensed school-age 
37 care experience. 
38 (d) A child care provider meets the four star education standard for program coordinators if the provider meets, at 
39 minimum, the requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, or Option 3 as follows: 
40 (1) Option 1: 
41 (A) Successful completion of at least 3 semester hours of school-age care coursework at an 
42 accredited college or university; and 
43 (B) Be enrolled in an additional 3 semester hours of school-age care coursework at an accredited 
44 college or university or have 9 months licensed school-age care experience or have 1 year 
45 unlicensed school-age care experience. 
46 (2) Option 2: Completion of an AAS degree in early childhood education, child development or a school- 
47 age related field at an accredited college or university. 
48 (3) Option 3: 
49 (A) Completion of an AAS degree in any field at an accredited college or university; and 
50 (B) Successful completion of 3 semester hours of school-age care coursework at an accredited 
51 college or university. 
52 (e) A child care provider meets the five star education standard for program coordinators if the provider meets, at 
53 minimum, the requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, Option 3, or Option 4 as follows: 
54 (1) Option 1: Completion of a bachelor’s degree in early childhood education, child development or a 
55 school-age related field at an accredited college or university. 
56 (2) Option 2: 
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1 (A) Completion of a bachelor’s degree in any field at an accredited college or university; and 
2 (B) Successful completion of 6 semester hours of school-age care coursework at an accredited 
3 college or university. 
4 (3) Option 3: 
5 (A) Successful completion of 9 semester hours of school-age care coursework at an accredited 
6 college or university; and 
7 (B) Have 3 months licensed school-age care experience or have 6 months unlicensed school-age 
8 care experience. 
9 (4) Option 4: 

10 (A) Successful completion of 6 semester hours of school-age care coursework at an accredited 
11 college or university; and 
12 (B) Have 6 months licensed school-age care experience or have 9 months unlicensed school-age 
13 care experience. 
14 
15 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 
16 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
17 Eff. 
18 
19 10A NCAC 09 .3215 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
20 
21 10A NCAC 09 .3215 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR GROUP LEADERS IN CHILD 
22 CARE CENTERS 
23 (a) This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a group leader for a child care center, as required by 10A 
24 NCAC 09 .2510(c). 
25 (b) A child care provider meets the two star education standard for group leaders if the provider successfully completes 
26 BSAC training. 
27 (c) A child care provider meets the three star education standard for group leaders if the provider meets, at minimum, 
28 the following requirements: 
29 (A) Successful completion of BSAC training; and 
30 (B) Annual completion of at least 0.5 continuing education credits related to school age care, in 
31 addition to applicable requirements in Rules .1103 and .2510 of this Chapter; or 
32 (C) Has at least 3 months licensed or unlicensed school age care experience. 
33 (d) A child care provider meets the four star education standard for group leaders if the provider meets, at minimum, 
34 the requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, or Option 3 as follows: 
35 (1) Option 1: 
36 (A) Successful completion of BSAC training; and 
37 (B) Annual completion of at least 1.0 continuing education credits related to school-age care, in 
38 addition to applicable requirements in Rules .1103 and .2510 of this Chapter. 
39 (2) Option 2: Is currently enrolled in at least 2 semester hours of school-age care coursework at an accredited 
40 college or university if BSAC has not yet been completed as set forth in Rule .2510(j) of this Chapter. 
41 (3) Option 3: 
42 (A) Successful completion of BSAC training; and 
43 (B) Have at least 3 months licensed or unlicensed school-age care experience. 
44 (e) A child care provider meets the five star education standard for group leaders if the provider meets, at minimum, 
45 the requirements set forth in Option 1 or Option 2 as follows: 
46 (1) Option 1: 
47 (A) Group leader is at least 18 years of age; and 
48 (B) Successful completion of BSAC training; and 
49 (C) Be enrolled in or have successfully completed at least 2 semester hours of school-age care 
50 coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
51 (D) Have at least 6 months licensed or unlicensed school-age care experience. 
52 (2) Option 2: 
53 (A) Group leader is at least 18 years of age; and 
54 (B) Successful completion of BSAC training; and 
55 (C) Annual completion of at least 1.5 continuing education credits related to school-age care, in 
56 addition to applicable requirements in Rules .1103 and .2510 of this Chapter; and 
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1 (D) Have at least 9 months licensed or unlicensed school-age care experience. 
2 
3 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 
4 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
5 Eff. 
6 
7 10A NCAC 09 .3216 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
8 
9 10A NCAC 09 .3216 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR ADMINISTRATORS OF CHILD 

10 CARE CENTERS THAT ONLY PROVIDE CARE FOR SCHOOL-AGE 
11 CHILDREN 
12 (a) This Rule and not 10A NCAC 09 .3211 shall apply when evaluating the education of an administrator, as defined 
13 by G.S. 110-86(2a), for a child care center that only provides care to school-age children. 
14 (b) A child care provider meets the two star education standard for administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, 
15 the requirements set forth in Option 1 or Option 2 as follows: 
16 (1) Option 1: 
17 (A) Completed or be enrolled in coursework for the NC Early Childhood Administration Credential; 
18 and 
19 (B) Have at least 1 year licensed or unlicensed school-age care experience. 
20 (2) Option 2: 
21 (A) Level I NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
22 and 
23 (B) Have at least 3 months licensed or unlicensed school-age care experience. 
24 (c) A child care provider meets the three star education standard for administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, 
25 the requirements set forth in in Option 1 or Option 2 as follows: 
26 (1) Option 1: 
27 (A) Level I NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
28 and 
29 (B) Have at least 6 months licensed or unlicensed school-age care experience. 
30 (2) Option 2: 
31 (A) Level I NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
32 and 
33 (B) Have at least 3 months licensed or unlicensed school-age care experience; and 
34 (C) Successful completion of BSAC training. 
35 (d) A child care provider meets the four star education standard for administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, 
36 the requirements set forth in Option 1 or Option 2 as follows: 
37 (1) Option 1: 
38 (A) Level I NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
39 and 
40 (B) Have at least 1 year licensed or unlicensed school-age care experience. 
41 (2) Option 2: 
42 (A) Level II NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
43 and 
44 (B) Have at least 6 months licensed or unlicensed school-age care experience. 
45 (e) A child care provider meets the five star education standard for administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, 
46 the requirements set forth in Option 1 or Option 2 as follows: 
47 (1) Option 1: 
48 (A) Level II NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent or higher; 
49 and 
50 (B) Have at least 1 year experience licensed or unlicensed school-age care experience; and 
51 (C) Successful completion of BSAC training. 
52 (2) Option 2: 
53 (A) Level III NC Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent; and 
54 (B) Have at least 6 months licensed school-age care experience or have 8 months unlicensed school- 
55 age care experience. 
56 
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1 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 
2 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
3 Eff. 
4 
5 10A NCAC 09 .3217 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
6 
7 10A NCAC 09 .3217 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME 
8 OPERATORS 
9 (a) This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a family child care home operator. 

10 (b) A child care provider meets the two star education standard for a family child care home operator if the provider 
11 meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, Option 3, or Option 4 as follows: 
12 (1) Option 1: Completion of a Child Development Associate (CDA) that is active with no credit for prior 
13 learning. 
14 (2) Option 2: Successful completion of at least 4 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
15 development coursework at an accredited college or university. 
16 (3) Option 3: NC Family Child Care Credential or its approved equivalent. 
17 (4) Option 4: 
18 (A) Have at least 3 years of early childhood work experience; and 
19 (B) Annual completion of at least 0.5 continuing education credit specific to the ages and needs of 
20 children in care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1703 of this Chapter; or successful 
21 completion of a competency evaluation as set forth in Rule .3218 of this Section. 
22 (c) A child care provider meets the three star education standard for a family child care home operator if the provider 
23 meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, or Option 3 as follows: 
24 (1) Option 1: Completion of a Child Development Associate (CDA) that is active with credit for prior 
25 learning. 
26 (2) Option 2: 
27 (A) NC Family Child Care Credential or its approved equivalent; and 
28 (B) Successful completion of at least 6 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
29 development coursework at an accredited college or university. 
30 (3) Option 3: 
31 (A) Have at least 5 years of early childhood work experience; and 
32 (B) Annual completion of at least 1.0 continuing education credit specific to the ages and needs of 
33 children in care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1703 of this Chapter; or successful 
34 completion of a competency evaluation as set forth in Rule .3218 of this Section. 
35 (d) A child care provider meets the four star education standard for a family child care home operator if the provider 
36 meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, Option 3, or Option 4 as follows: 
37 (1) Option 1: 
38 (A) NC Family Child Care Credential or its approved equivalent; and 
39 (B) Successful completion of at least 12 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
40 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
41 (C) Have at least 1 year early childhood work experience. 
42 (2) Option 2: 
43 (A) NC Family Child Care Credential or its approved equivalent; or 
44 (B) Successful completion of at least 15 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
45 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
46 (C) Have at least 1 year early childhood work experience. 
47 (3) Option 3: Completion of an Early Childhood Certificate. 
48 (4) Option 4: 
49 (A) Have at least 8 years of early childhood work experience; and 
50 (B) Annual completion of at least 1.5 continuing education credits specific to the ages and needs 
51 of children in care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1703 of this Chapter; or 
52 successful completion of a competency evaluation as set forth in Rule .3218 of this Section. 
53 (e) A child care provider meets the five star education standard for a family child care home operator if the provider 
54 meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option 1, Option 2, Option 3, Option 4, or Option 5 as follows: 
55 (1) Option 1: 
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1 (A) Completion of an AAS degree in early childhood education or child development at an 
2 accredited college or university; and 
3 (B) Have at least 18 months early childhood work experience. 
4 (2) Option 2: 
5 (A) Successful completion of all required early childhood education coursework for an AAS 
6 degree program an individual is enrolled in at an accredited college or university, without full 
7 completion of the degree; and 
8 (B) Have at least 3 years of early childhood education work experience. 
9 (3) Option 3: 

10 (A) Completion of an AAS degree or higher in any major with at least 12 semester hours in early 
11 childhood education or child development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
12 (B) Have at least 2 years of early childhood work experience. 
13 (4) Option 4: 
14 (A) NC Family Child Care Credential or its approved equivalent; and 
15 (B) Successful completion of at least 18 semester hours in early childhood education or child 
16 development coursework at an accredited college or university; and 
17 (C) Have at least 4 years early childhood work experience. 
18 (5) Option 5: 
19 (A) Have at least 10 years of early childhood work experience; and 
20 (B) Annual completion of at least 2.5 continuing education credits specific to the ages and needs 
21 of children in care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1703 of this Chapter; and 
22 (C) Successful completion of a competency evaluation as set forth in Rule .3218 of this Section. 
23 (f) Semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework required to meet the standards set 
24 forth in this Rule shall not include the coursework necessary for the North Carolina Family Child Care Credential. 
25 
26 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 
27 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
28 Eff. 
29 
30 10A NCAC 09 .3218 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
31 
32 10A NCAC 09 .3218 COMPETENCY EVALUATIONS 
33 (a) This Rule shall apply to operators of a family child care home, lead teachers, and teachers that choose an 
34 education standard option in this Section that requires successful completion of a competency evaluation. 
35 (b) Successful completion of a competency evaluation means that an individual has demonstrated the knowledge, 
36 skills, and abilities set forth in (c) of this Rule. 
37 (c) Competency evaluations shall align with the developmental domains described in the North Carolina 
38 Foundations for Early Learning and Development and address an individual’s knowledge, skills, and abilities to 
39 provide developmentally, linguistically, and culturally appropriate experiences and interactions that support 
40 children’s development and learning by: 
41 (1) supporting children’s approaches to learning by providing engaging experiences and interactions that 
42 nurture: 
43 (A) curiosity, information-seeking, and eagerness; 
44 (B) play and imagination; 
45 (C) risk-taking, problem-solving, and flexibility; and 
46 (C) attentiveness, effort, and persistence. 
47 (2) engaging in responsive, respectful interactions with each child and offering guidance that supports 
48 children’s emotional and social development including: 
49 (A) developing a sense of self; 
50 (B) developing a sense of self with others; and 
51 (C) learning about feelings. 
52 (3) providing developmentally appropriate learning opportunities to promote children’s health and physical 
53 development including: 
54 (A) physical health and growth; 
55 (B) motor development; 
56 (C) self-care; and 
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1 (D) safety awareness. 
2 (4) facilitating verbal and non-verbal communication through back-and-forth exchanges and use 
3 developmentally appropriate, play-based experiences to promote language development and foundational 
4 emergent literacy skills such as: 
5 (A) learning to communicate; 
6 (B) foundations for reading; and 
7 (C) foundations for writing. 
8 (5) fostering children’s cognitive development by providing experiences and interactions that support 
9 children’s exploration, thinking, and knowledge of the world around them including: 

10 (A) construction of knowledge; 
11 (B) thinking and reasoning; 
12 (C) creative expression; 
13 (D) social connections; 
14 (E) mathematical thinking and expression; and 
15 (F) scientific exploration and knowledge. 
16 (d) An initial competency evaluation shall be completed by individuals approved by the Division to perform the 
17 evaluation and shall include: 
18 (1) One in-person unannounced observation of the family child care home operator, lead teacher or teacher 
19 performing the duties of their position. The evaluator shall provide written notification to the individual 
20 requesting the competency evaluation regarding the unannounced observation to be conducted during 
21 operating hours; and 
22 (2) A review of documentation submitted by the family child care home operator, lead teacher or teacher 
23 that provides evidence of each applicable competency for their employment position, age range of children 
24 served, and education standards as set forth in this Rule. Evidence may include: 
25 (A) sample activity plans written by the individual requesting a competency evaluation, 
26 (B) anecdotal notes regarding how competencies are implemented, 
27 (C) observation of the individual by a center administrator or other licensed family child care 
28 home operator, 
29 (D) surveys or other type of feedback from families of children enrolled in the individual’s 
30 classroom or family child care home, 
31 (E) audio or video recordings of activities with permission from families of children who are 
32 participants, 
33 (F) self-assessment of the classroom or program using a program assessment tool, 
34 (G) performance-based evaluations, and 
35 (H) participation in apprenticeships, technical assistance, coaching, or mentoring processes. 
36 (e) The evaluator shall document the individual’s competency evaluation using a form approved by the Division that 
37 includes all applicable competencies and documents how each competency was met or not met. 
38 (f) If the evaluator determines that the provider meets the competencies set forth in (c) of this Rule, the provider will 
39 be notified in writing and the successful completion determination shall be valid for a period of three years. 
40 (g) To renew a competency evaluation determination, the provider shall submit updated evidence of each applicable 
41 competency for their employment position and education standards as set forth in (d)(2) of this Rule at least 30 days 
42 prior to expiration of the determination. 
43 (h) If the evaluator determines that the provider does not meet the in subsection (c) of this Rule, the provider shall be 
44 notified in writing and have an opportunity to provide additional information within thirty (30) days regarding the 
45 competency evaluation before a final decision is made by a different evaluator. 
46 (i) When an individual does not meet the requirements for successful completion of the competency evaluation, 
47 whether or not they submit additional information for a second review, they may resubmit for a competency 
48 evaluation six months after the letter notifying them of their unsuccessful evaluation is issued, or when the second 
49 review decision issued, whichever is later. 
50 (j) Competency evaluation standards and forms may be found on the Division’s website at 
51 https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider/Provider-Documents-and-Forms . 
52 
53 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 
54 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
55 Eff. 
56 
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1 10A NCAC 09. 3219 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
2 
3 10A NCAC 09 .3219 FAMILY AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT STANDARDS FOR 
4 CHILD CARE CENTERS 
5 (a) This Rule shall apply to child care centers that have earned a two through five star rated license using the 
6 program assessment licensure pathway or the classroom and instructional quality licensure pathway in Rules .3203 
7 and .3205 of this Section. A child care center that has earned a two through five star rated license using the 
8 accreditation and Head Start licensure pathway in Rule .3207 of this Section shall comply with standards set forth by 
9 those organizations for family and community engagement. 

10 (b) For a child care center to meet family and community engagement standards at the two star level, the center 
11 administrator shall implement the following foundational practices: 
12 (1) Provide communication from the center to families regarding program activities in a manner that is 
13 responsive to the needs of the families served, such as via text, email, and electronic applications, and 
14 considering language comprehension. 
15 (2) Offer an annual family conference with teaching staff for the purpose of providing information to the 
16 family about their child. During the conference, families are offered an opportunity to set a goal(s) for their 
17 child. Conferences shall be conducted in a manner that is convenient for the family such as by telephone, 
18 virtually or in-person. 
19 (3) Offer annual opportunities for families to share cultural heritage in their child’s classroom. 
20 (4) Offer annual volunteer opportunities to families. 
21 (5) Communicate with families regarding community resources and services that are available, upon 
22 request from the family or when a need is identified by a child’s lead teacher. 
23 (c) For a child care center to meet family and community engagement standards at the three star level, the center 
24 administrator shall ensure that the child care facility meets the foundational practices set forth in (b) of this Rule plus 
25 two additional family and community engagement options from separate categories set forth in (f)(1), (f)(2), and 
26 (f)(3) of this Rule. A single activity shall not be used to meet multiple requirements or categories of engagement. 
27 (d) For a child care center to meet family and community engagement standards at the four star level, the center 
28 administrator shall ensure that the child care facility meets the foundational practices set forth in (b) of this Rule plus 
29 three additional family and community engagement options, one from each category set forth in (f)(1), (f)(2), and 
30 (f)(3) of this Rule. A single activity shall not be used to meet multiple requirements or categories of engagement. 
31 (e) For a child care center to meet family and community engagement standards at the five star level, the center 
32 administrator shall ensure that the child care facility meets the foundational practices set forth in (b) of this Rule plus 
33 four additional family and community engagement options, with at least one from each category set forth in (f)(1), 
34 (f)(2), and (f)(3) of this Rule. A single activity shall not be used to meet multiple requirements or categories of 
35 engagement. 
36 (f) Categories of family and community engagement shall include the following: 
37 (1) Communication Options: 
38 (A) Two-way communication with families. “Two-way communication” means that the child care 
39 center shares information with families about their child(ren) and that the families may share 
40 information with the child care center about their child(ren) in a manner that is available and 
41 accessible to the family. 
42 (B) A family resource area is accessible in the child care center that includes information 
43 regarding community resources and services that assist families with knowledge, support, and 
44 advocacy for their child in the languages of the children and families being served by the child 
45 care center. 
46 (C) Family and teacher conferences are offered at least twice annually to discuss child needs and 
47 progress toward individual goals and to receive feedback from families regarding their child(ren)’s 
48 experiences at home and at the child care facility. During each conference, families are offered an 
49 opportunity to set a goal(s) for their child. Conferences shall be conducted in a manner that is 
50 convenient for the family such as by telephone, virtually or in-person. 
51 (D) The child care center offers families connection to local community services and resources on 
52 at least a quarterly basis, such as via newsletters, email, text, electronic applications, community 
53 resource websites, and in-person opportunities with local community services. 
54 (2) Engagement and Leadership Options: 
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1 (A) The child care center has a structured, ongoing process to receive and review suggestions and 
2 recommendations from families, including anonymously. The center administrator considers 
3 these suggestions and recommendations for planning within the child care center. 
4 (B) The child care center offers an enrollment orientation that includes an opportunity for families 
5 and child(ren) to visit the assigned classroom and lead teacher prior to the first day of enrollment. 
6 (C) The child care center offers at least two family events annually. 
7 (D) The child care center offers a family event that is culturally responsive to the heritage and 
8 practices of enrolled families at least once annually. 
9 (E) The center administrator, the lead teacher, families and service providers shall collaboratively 

10 plan to ensure children’s needs and goals are being addressed in the classroom, not only during 
11 scheduled time with the service provider. Service providers include, but are not limited to, speech 
12 therapists, occupational therapists, behavior specialists, physical therapists, and intervention 
13 service specialists. 
14 (F) The center administrator offers an annual evaluation or survey of the child care center to 
15 families, including the option to reply anonymously. The center administrator considers these 
16 evaluations or surveys for planning within the child care center. 
17 (G) The center administrator has a plan for children’s transitions that is shared with families at the 
18 time of enrollment. The transition plan shall include a child’s transition from home to enrollment 
19 in the child care center, a child’s transition to a new classroom within the child care center, and a 
20 child’s transition to another program, including Kindergarten. The center administrator provides 
21 families the opportunity to provide feedback on transitions plans to address the individual needs of 
22 their child(ren). 
23 (H) The child care center offers a family council, advisory board, or family representative role to 
24 act as a liaison to the center administrator for responsive and reciprocal planning within the child 
25 care center. 
26 (3) Educational Opportunity Options: 
27 (A) The center administrator offers at least one family event annually that includes an educational 
28 opportunity for staff and families to learn together. 
29 (B) The center administrator offers at least one educational opportunity annually for staff and 
30 families that addresses a topic identified as a need for the program based on family feedback. 
31 (C) The center administrator offers at least one educational opportunity annually for staff and 
32 families that includes the participation of a local community resource. 
33 (D) The center administrator offers at least one educational opportunity annually for staff and 
34 families regarding one of the following topics: 
35 (1) social emotional health; 
36 (2) challenging behaviors; or 
37 (3) culturally responsive practices. 
38 (E) The center administrator provides supports that anticipate and remove barriers for families and 
39 enable family involvement, at the child care facility, such as but not limited to, virtual options with 
40 technology support, interpreter services, child appropriate activities, care for children during the 
41 event, meals or snacks during events or providing materials for families to take home related to the 
42 event. 
43 (F) The center administrator provides paid planning time for lead teachers to prepare information 
44 for family and teacher conferences, time to conduct the conferences and supports needed to 
45 conduct conferences by telephone, virtually or in-person. 
46 (g) Options set forth in Subparagraphs (f)(1)(C), (f)(2)(B), (f)(2)(C), and (f)(3)(A) shall be used to meet 
47 requirements set forth in Rule .3010 of this Chapter regarding family engagement for NC Pre-K Programs. 
48 
49 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858c; 45 
50 CFR 98.1; 45 CFR 98.16; 
51 Eff. 
52 
53 10A NCAC 09 .3220 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
54 
55 10A NCAC 09 .3220 FAMILY AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT STANDARDS FOR 
56 FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME OPERATORS 
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1 (a) This Rule shall apply to operators of a family child care home that have earned a two through five star rated 
2 license using the program assessment licensure pathway or the classroom and instructional quality licensure 
3 pathway in Rules .3204 and .3206 of this Section. Operators of a family child care home that have earned a two 
4 through five star rated license using the accreditation and Head Start licensure pathway in Rule .3207 of this Section 
5 shall comply with standards set forth by those organizations for family and community engagement. 
6 (b) For a family child care home to meet family and community engagement standards at the two star level, the 
7 operator shall implement the following foundational practices: 
8 (1) Have a plan that will encourage family participation that shall be reviewed with the family on or before 
9 the child’s first day of attendance. A copy of the plan shall be given to the family at the time of review. 

10 The plan shall include the following: 
11 (A) a procedure for enrolling a child that encourages families to visit the family child care home 
12 prior to the first day of attendance; 
13 (B) encouragement of family participation in the family child care home, including information 
14 regarding scheduled activities, sharing cultural heritage and volunteer opportunities; 
15 (C) opportunities for the operator to meet with families to discuss their child’s needs and progress 
16 and to exchange information about the family child care home; 
17 (D) a procedure for families who need information or who have complaints about the family child 
18 care home. 
19 (2) Provide communication to families regarding family child care home activities in a manner that is 
20 responsive to the needs of the families served, such as via text, email, and electronic applications, and 
21 considering language comprehension. 
22 (3) Communicate with families regarding community resources and services that are available, upon 
23 request from the family or when a need is identified by the operator. 
24 (c) For a family child care home to meet family and community engagement standards at the three star level, the 
25 operator shall ensure implementation of foundational practices set forth in (b) of this Rule plus one additional family 
26 and community engagement option from the categories set forth in (f)(1), (f)(2), and (f)(3) of this Rule. 
27 (d) For a family child care home to meet family and community engagement standards at the four star level, the 
28 operator shall ensure implementation of foundational practices set forth in (b) of this Rule plus two additional family 
29 and community engagement options from separate categories set forth in (f)(1), (f)(2), and (f)(3) of this Rule. A 
30 single activity shall not be used to meet multiple requirements or categories of engagement. 
31 (e) For a family child care home to meet family and community engagement standards at the five star level, the 
32 operator shall ensure implementation of foundational practices set forth in (b) of this Rule plus three additional 
33 family and community engagement options, with at least one from each category set forth in (f)(1), (f)(2), and (f)(3) 
34 of this Rule. A single activity shall not be used to meet multiple requirements or categories of engagement. 
35 (f) Categories of family and community engagement shall include the following: 
36 (1) Communication Options: 
37 (A) Two-way communication with families. “Two-way communication” means that the operator 
38 shares information with families about their child(ren) and that the families may share information 
39 with the operator about their child(ren) in a manner that is available and accessible to the families 
40 in care. 
41 (B) Resources for families are accessible in the family child care home that include information 
42 regarding community resources and services that assist families with knowledge, support, and 
43 advocacy for their child in the languages of the children and families being served by the operator 
44 of the family child care home. 
45 (C) A family conference with the operator is offered at least twice annually to discuss child needs 
46 and progress toward individual goals and to receive feedback from families regarding their 
47 child(ren)’s experiences at home and at the family child care home. During the conference, 
48 families are offered an opportunity to set a goal(s) for their child. Conferences shall be conducted 
49 in a manner that is convenient for the family such as by telephone, virtually or in-person. 
50 (D) The operator offers families connection to local community services and resources on at least 
51 a quarterly basis, such as via newsletters, email, text, electronic applications, community resource 
52 websites, and in-person opportunities with local community services. 
53 (2) Engagement and Leadership Options: 
54 (A) The operator has a structured, ongoing process to receive and review suggestions and 
55 recommendations from families, including anonymously. The operator considers family feedback 
56 for planning within the family child care home. 
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1 (B) The operator offers an enrollment orientation that includes an opportunity for families and 
2 child(ren) to visit the family child care home prior to the first day of enrollment. 
3 (C) The operator offers at least one family event annually, which may include activities that are 
4 culturally responsive to the heritage and practices of enrolled families. 
5 (D) The operator, families, and service providers shall collaboratively plan to ensure children’s 
6 needs and goals are being addressed during their daily activities, not only during scheduled time 
7 with the service provider. Service providers include, but are not limited to, speech therapists, 
8 occupational therapists, behavior specialists, physical therapists, and intervention service 
9 specialists. 

10 (E) The operator offers an annual evaluation or survey to families, including the option to reply 
11 anonymously. The operator considers family feedback for reciprocal planning within the family 
12 child care home. 
13 (F) The operator has a plan for children’s transitions that is shared with families at the time of 
14 enrollment. The transition plan shall include a child’s transition from home to enrollment in the 
15 family child care home and a child’s transition to another program, including Kindergarten. The 
16 operator provides families the opportunity to provide feedback on transition plans to address the 
17 individual needs of their child(ren). 
18 (G) The operator offers a family council, advisory board, or family representative role to act as a 
19 liaison for responsive and reciprocal planning within the family child care home. 
20 (3) Educational Opportunity Options: 
21 (A) The operator communicates with families regarding at least one educational opportunity 
22 annually where the operator and families learn together. 
23 (B) The operator communicates with families regarding at least one educational opportunity 
24 annually where the operator and families learn together about a topic identified as a need for the 
25 family child care home based on family feedback. 
26 (C) The operator communicates with families regarding at least one educational opportunity 
27 annually hosted by a local community resource that the operator and families may attend together. 
28 (D) The operator communicates with families regarding at least one educational opportunity 
29 annually regarding one of the following topics: 
30 (1) social emotional health; 
31 (2) challenging behaviors; or 
32 (3) culturally responsive practices. 
33 (E) The operator provides supports that anticipate and remove barriers for families and enable 
34 family involvement, at the family child care home, such as but not limited to, virtual options with 
35 technology support, interpreter services, child appropriate activities, care for children during the 
36 event, meals or snacks during events or providing materials for families to take home related to the 
37 event. 
38 
39 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858c; 45 
40 CFR 98.1; 45 CFR 98.16; 
41 Eff. 
42 
43 10A NCAC 09 .3221 is proposed for amendment as follow: 
44 
45 10A NCAC 09 .3221 CONTINUOUS QUALITY IMPROVEMENT (CQI) STANDARDS 
46 (a) This Rule shall apply to child care facilities that have earned a two through five star rated license using the 
47 program assessment licensure pathway or the classroom and instructional quality licensure pathway in Rules .3203, 
48 .3204, .3205 and .3206 of this Section. Child care facilities that have earned a two through five star rated license 
49 using the accreditation and Head Start licensure pathway in Rule .3207 of this Section shall comply with standards 
50 set forth by those organizations for continuous quality improvement. 
51 (b) Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) means a process that individuals and facilities shall use to identify areas 
52 of growth and determine a path toward enhanced teaching, learning, and practices to achieve better outcomes for 
53 children, staff, and programs. The CQI process builds over time, using established goals to support individuals and 
54 facilities in achieving and sustaining continual improvements. 
55 (c) All administrators and other staff members with caregiving responsibilities on a routine schedule of at least once 
56 per week shall complete an individual continuous quality improvement plan. This shall also apply to operators of 
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1 centers located in a residence, as described in Rule .0102 of this Chapter, and their employed staff members. Each 
2 individual continuous quality improvement plan shall be reviewed annually, accompany the professional 
3 development plan required in Rule .1104 of this Chapter, be maintained in the individual’s personnel file, and 
4 include: 
5 (1) Identification of the resources or supports needed by the individual to achieve the established goal(s) of 
6 the professional development plan, including but not limited to, the time estimated to achieve the goal and 
7 specific support needed from the operator to complete the goal; 
8 (2) Documentation of the individual’s efforts toward completion of the established goal(s), changes to the 
9 established goal and challenges experienced; 

10 (3) Development of a new goal during the annual review if established goal is achieved or changed; and 
11 (4) Documentation from the individual regarding how their progress or completion of a goal has enhanced 
12 their knowledge, skills, and abilities. 
13 (d) The center administrator of a child care center shall also complete a continuous quality improvement plan that 
14 addresses programmatic goals. The programmatic continuous quality improvement plan shall be updated annually, 
15 maintained on file at the center, and include: 
16 (1) Identification of at least one programmatic goal, the timeframe estimated to achieve the goal and the 
17 steps that will be taken by the center administrator to complete the goal; 
18 (2) Documentation of the reason or source of need for each goal, such as sustaining programmatic 
19 achievements, feedback received from staff or families, or licensure pathway requirements; 
20 (3) Identification of resources needed by the center administrator to achieve the programmatic goal, 
21 including but not limited to materials, technical assistance, participation of staff, or other items specific to 
22 the goal; 
23 (4) Documentation of supports offered by the program to encourage longevity and retention of staff; 
24 (5) Documentation of efforts toward completion of the established goal, changes to the established goal and 
25 challenges experienced; and 
26 (6) Development of a new goal during the annual review if established goal is achieved or changed. 
27 (e) The operator of a family child care home and any additional caregivers, as set forth in Rule .1729, shall complete 
28 a continuous quality improvement plan that addresses professional goals. The continuous quality improvement plan 
29 shall be updated annually, accompany the professional development plan required in Rule .1703(f) of this Chapter, 
30 be maintained in the operator’s personnel file, and include: 
31 (1) Identification of at least one professional goal, the timeframe estimated to achieve the goal, the 
32 resources needed to achieve the goal, and the steps that will be taken by the operator to complete the goal; 
33 (2) Documentation of the reason or source of need for the goal, such as sustaining programmatic 
34 achievements, feedback received from families, or licensure pathway requirements; 
35 (3) Documentation of efforts toward completion of the established goal, changes to the established goal and 
36 challenges experienced; 
37 (4) Development of a new goal during the annual review if established goal is achieved or changed; and 
38 (5) Documentation from the operator regarding how progress toward or completion of a goal has enhanced 
39 their knowledge, skills, and abilities. 
40 (f) Sample continuous quality improvement plan templates may be found on the Division’s website at 
41 https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider/Provider-Documents-and-Forms . Another form may be used other than the 
42 sample template provided by the Division as long as the form includes the information set forth in this Rule. 
43 
44 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 
45 CFR 98.45; 
46 Eff. 
47 
48 10A NCAC 09 .3222 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
49 
50 10A NCAC 09 .3222 MAINTAINING THE STAR RATING 
51 (a) A representative of the Division may make announced or unannounced visits to facilities to assess on-going 
52 compliance with the requirements of a star rating after it has been issued. When the Division representative documents 
53 violations with the standards that determine a rating, the representative shall take one or more of the following actions: 
54 (1) advise the operator to submit written verification that the violations have been corrected; 
55 (2) return to the facility for an unannounced visit at a later date to determine if compliance has been 
56 achieved; 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider/Provider-Documents-and-Forms
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1 (3) require a program assessment be conducted pursuant to .3203 or .3204 of this Section, if applicable 
2 to the licensure pathway; 
3 (4) request verification of accreditation award status from accrediting organization, if applicable to the 
4 licensure pathway; 
5 (5) request verification of Head Start designation from grantee, if applicable to the licensure pathway; 
6 (6) require a complete reassessment of requirements of the star rating issued to the facility; 
7 (7) require that the star rating be reduced; or 
8 (8) recommend administrative action in accordance with G.S. 110, Article 7 and this Chapter. 
9 (b) If changes unrelated to employment occur at a facility that result in noncompliance with the standards in this 

10 Section for the star rating issued, the operator shall correct the noncompliance within 30 days. If the operator does not 
11 correct the noncompliance within 30 days, the operator shall notify the Division. Based upon the information obtained, 
12 the Division shall take any of the actions described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
13 (c) If employment-related changes occur at a facility that result in noncompliance with or a failure to meet the 
14 standards in the Section for the star rating issued, the operator shall correct the noncompliance within six months. If 
15 the operator does not correct the noncompliance within six months, the operator shall notify the Division. Based upon 
16 the information obtained, the Division shall take any of the actions described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
17 (d) Each child care facility licensed under this Section with a two through five star rated license shall be reassessed 
18 by the Division at least once every three years to ensure compliance with pathway requirements. 
19 (e) The Division shall provide for one evaluation using an approved program assessment tool referenced in Rules 
20 .3203 and .3204 of this Section, free of charge, once every three years when reassessing the ratings of operators that 
21 select the program assessment licensure pathway. 
22 (f) Notwithstanding the above, if a facility loses its accreditation or Head Start designation, it shall notify the Division 
23 within thirty calendar days from the date of termination and submit an application at that time for a two through five- 
24 star rated license that indicates the alternate licensure pathway selection. The operator of the child care facility shall 
25 have a complete assessment conducted within six months from the date of termination or be reduced to one-star so 
26 long as the requirements for a one-star rating described in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter are met. 
27 (g) Notwithstanding the above, if a facility allows its accreditation or Head Start designation to lapse or expire prior 
28 to applying for a two through five star rated license using an alternate licensure pathway, the license shall be reduced 
29 to one-star so long as the requirements for a one-star rating described in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter are met. 
30 
31 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
32 Eff. 
33 
34 10A NCAC 09 .3223 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
35 
36 10A NCAC 09 .3223 HOW AN OPERATOR MAY REQUEST OR APPEAL A CHANGE IN RATING 
37 (a) An operator may request a change in the star rating, including licensure pathway selection, by following the 
38 procedures in Rule .3202 of this Section. 
39 (b) After an initial four or five star rating is issued, the Division shall provide one evaluation of program standards 
40 using the program assessment tool referenced in Rules .3203 and .3204 of this Section during each three year period 
41 thereafter at no cost to the operator. An operator may have extra program assessments, as referenced in Rules .3203 
42 and .3204 of this Section, performed at his or her own expense in addition to the free one performed by the Division. 
43 The additional program assessments shall be completed by individuals approved by the Division to perform them. 
44 (c) An operator may appeal the reduction of a star rating as provided in G.S. 110-94. 
45 
46 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 
47 Eff. 
48 
49 10A NCAC 09 .3224 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
50 10A NCAC 09 .3224 RECOGNITION OF QUALITY INITIATIVES 
51 (a) A child care operator may choose to request one or more areas of recognition to accompany the issuance of a two through 
52  five star license earned through compliance with any licensure pathway requirements of 
53 this Section. Quality points of distinction shall not be used to earn a star rating. Verification of requirements for 
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1 each recognition shall be reassessed at least once every three years, at the time of reassessment for a 
2 two through five star rated license. 
3 (b) The Division shall issue recognition of quality inititatives upon verification of the requirements set forth in this Rule. 
4 (c) An Education Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met: 
5 (1) 75% of teachers employed by a child care facility have earned an AAS degree or higher in early 
6 childhood education, child development, or related field. 
7 (2) 75% of lead teachers employed by a child care facility have earned a BA/BS degree or higher in early 
8 childhood education, child development, or related field. 
9 (3) All lead teachers employed by a child care facility have earned an AAS degree or higher in early 

10 childhood education, child development, or related field. 
11 (4) The operator of a family child care home has earned a BA/BS degree or higher in early childhood 
12 education, child development, or related field. 
13 (5) The operator of a family child care home has earned an AAS degree in early childhood education, child 
14 development, or related field and is enrolled in a BA/BS degree program in early childhood education or 
15 child development. 
16 (6) 75% of teachers employed by a child care facility have an active Child Development Associate (CDA). 
17 (7) The operator of a child care facility participates in the T.E.A.C.H. program or other education initiative 
18 that supports employed staff that want to enroll in or who are enrolled in college coursework. 
19 (8) 75% of lead teachers and educators, as defined in this Section, have an active certification on the NC 
20 Early Care and Education Professional Certification Scale at 
21 https://www.ncidp.org/documents/EEC_ECE_Scale.pdf . 
22 (9) The operator of a family child care home has an active certification on the NC Early Care and 
23 Education Professional Certification Scale at https://www.ncicdp.org/documents/EEC_ECE_Scale.pdf . 
24 (d) A Professional Development Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met: 
25 (1) The operator of a family child care home completes 20 training hours annually, in addition to training 
26 hours required for their licensure level as set forth in this Section and in addition to ongoing training 
27 requirements set forth in Rule .1703 of this Chapter and education requirements set forth in Rule .3217 of 
28 this Section. 
29 (2) The operator of a family child care home is an approved trainer for an established training course as set 
30 forth in Rule .1703 of this Chapter and provides at least one training course for early childhood 
31 professionals in their community annually or when the operator develops a training course, obtains 
32 approval for training as set forth in Rule .1703 of this Chapter, and provides at least one training course for 
33 early childhood professionals in their community annually. 
34 (3) A center administrator or operator of a family child care home provides evidence of active membership 
35 in a professional or community organization. 
36 (4) A child care facility operator compensates staff members for time spent completing professional 
37 development activities. 
38 (5) A child care facility operator compensates staff members for the cost of professional development 
39 activities. 
40 (6) A child care center operator pays for at least 50% of staff members to have an active membership in a 
41 professional or community organization and provides evidence of the paid costs and memberships. 
42 (7) A child care center operator employs at least one staff member who is an approved trainer for an 
43 established training course as set forth in Rule .1103 of this Chapter and the approved trainer provides at 
44 least one training course for all employees annually or when the child care center operator, administrator or 
45 a staff member develops a training course, obtains approval for training as set forth in Rule .1103 of this 
46 Chapter, and provides at least one training course annually for employed staff members. 
47 (8) The child care facility allows early childhood education practicum students to complete required 
48 activities in their facility when the individuals are not employed by the facility. 
49 (e) A Longevity and Experience Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met: 
50 (1) The operator of a family child care home has been in operation for at least five years with a compliance 
51 history score of 90% or higher. 
52 (2) The operator of a family child care home has been in operation for at least five years with a four or five 
53 star rated license. 
54 (3) A center administrator has at least ten years of child care administrative work experience in a licensed 
55 child care facility. 

https://www.ncidp.org/documents/EEC_ECE_Scale.pdf
https://www.ncicdp.org/documents/EEC_ECE_Scale.pdf
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1 (4) 75% of lead teachers and teachers have at least ten years of early childhood work experience in a 
2 licensed child care facility. 
3 (5) All lead teachers and teachers have at least five years of early childhood work experience in a licensed 
4 child care facility and have been employed by no more than two different child care facilities. 
5 (6) The child care center has a combined turnover rate of 20% or less for the administrator, lead teacher and 
6 teacher positions over the last 12 months. 
7 (7) In stand-alone school age care facilities, 75% of group leaders have at least five years of school age care 
8 work experience in a licensed or unlicensed school age program and have been employed by no more than 
9 two different child care facilities. 

10 (f) A Staff Supports and Benefits Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met: 
11 (1) A child care facility offers a staff benefits package that includes at least three of the following benefits: 
12 paid time off for vacation, sick and/or personal leave, paid family and medical leave, fully or partially paid 
13 health insurance, retirement contribution, or annual bonuses. 
14 (2) A child care facility offers two hours of paid planning time for lead teachers on a weekly basis, during a 
15 time when the lead teacher is not responsible for supervision of children. 
16 (3) A child care facility offers at least two mental health supports such as training offered on-site, paid time 
17 off for wellness, mental health coverage as part of health benefits or assistance in obtaining access to other 
18 services as requested. 
19 (4) A child care center pays for costs associated with enrolling in and completing early childhood education 
20 or child development coursework. 
21 (g) A Program Features Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met: 
22 (1) A child care facility implements an approved curriculum for all age groups served as defined in Rule 
23 .0102(11) of this Chapter when not required for licensure level or pathway. 
24 (2) A child care facility uses a program assessment tool for self-study, self-assessment and continuous 
25 quality improvement when not required for licensure level or pathway. 
26 (3) A child care center earns a 5.0 or higher on every classroom assessed with ERS-3 and SACERS-U. 
27 (4) A child care facility uses an approved formative assessment tool for all age groups served as defined in 
28 Rules .3205 or .3206 of this Section when not required for licensure level or pathway. 
29 (5) A child care facility implements all family and community engagement practices as set forth in Rules 
30 .3219 and .3220 of this Section, rather than only the practices required for licensure level or pathway. 
31 (6) A child care administrator or operator of a family child care home participates in a coaching or 
32 mentoring process as set forth in Rules .3205 or .3206 of this Section when not required for licensure level 
33 or pathway. 
34 (h) A Health & Wellness Opportunities Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is 
35 met: 
36 (1) A child care facility provides support to staff members and families regarding challenging behaviors 
37 using community, regional or state resources. 
38 (2) A child care center has a licensed or registered nurse on staff for at least half of the operating hours of 
39 the program. 
40 (3) A child care facility offers oral health education and opportunities such as dental screenings and 
41 outreach with community, regional or state resources. 
42 (4) A child care facility offers supplemental programs or contracts with external vendors to provide 
43 opportunities for growth in specialty areas, including but not limited to tumbling, art, bookmobile, sports, 
44 dance, music or yoga. 
45 (5) A child care facility completes REACH Healthy Child Care recognition. Information for this program is 
46 available at https://reach-recognition.org/. 
47 (6) A child care facility completes Be Active Kids/Go NAPSACC Program. Information for this program is 
48 available at http://www.beactivekids.org/ . 
49 (7) A child care facility participates in Farm to Early Education. Information for this program is available at 
50 https://cefs.ncsu.edu/food-system-initiatives/nc-farm-to-early-care-and-education/ . 
51 (8) A child care facility engages with a Child Care Health Consultant by participating in one cycle of 
52 assessment using the NC Health and Safety Assessment Tool annually. 
53 (9) A child care facility implements 5 of 6 of the following educational opportunities regarding green 
54 environment practices: 
55 (A) Provides outdoor learning environments that have areas of shade provided by trees and that 
56 use heat tolerant/drought resistant plant material. 

https://reach-recognition.org/
http://www.beactivekids.org/
https://cefs.ncsu.edu/food-system-initiatives/nc-farm-to-early-care-and-education/
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1 (B) Provides an indoor play space allowing gross motor play, running, jumping and physically 
2 active games in an air conditioned /heated environment. 
3 (C) Paints walkways and pavement in heat reflecting colors in an effort to decrease surface 
4 temperatures and associated burn hazards. 
5 (E) Ensure use of non-toxic cleaning products throughout the facility. 
6 (F) Creates and maintains a pollinator and/or a vegetable garden as a method to educate and 
7 emphasize ecofriendly change and lifestyle. 
8 (G) Implement teaching practices that support reducing and recycling such as ensuring use of 
9 recyclable products when reusable products are unavailable, providing reusable food service 

10 products for meals and/or snacks, and 
11 installing a system of recycling in the facility where trash and recyclables are in separate 
12 containers and disposed of properly. 
13 (i) A Language Concentration Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met: 
14 (1) Children enrolled in a child care facility are participating in use of languages other than English on a 
15 regular basis. 
16 (2) A child care facility is a language immersion program. 
17 (3) A child care facility is a bilingual program. 
18 (j) A Culinary Emphasis Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met: 
19 (1) An operator of a family child care home has completed a food handler program training or certification, 
20 such as ServSafe. 
21 (2) A chef or cook position at a child care center has completed culinary classes or has completed food 
22 handler program training or certification, such as ServSafe. 
23 (3) A child care facility utilizes farm-to-table practices as part of their food and nutrition program. 
24 (k) A Ratio, Group Size, and Enrollment Practices Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following 
25 requirements is met: 
26 (1) A child care center reduces staff to child ratios or group sizes when not required for licensure level or 
27 pathway. 
28 (2) An operator of a family child care home voluntarily reduces enrollment when not required for licensure 
29 level or pathway. 
30 (l) A Supplemental Environments Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following areas are provided 
31 within a child care center or family child care home: gyms, active play area, sensory focused environments, gardens 
32 or naturalized outdoor play environments. 
33 (m) A NC Breastfeeding-Friendly Child Care Designation Program Recognition may be requested when this designation is 
34 earned by meeting program requirements set forth at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/ncbfccdesignation . 
35 (n) A Military Child Care in Your Neighborhood – PLUS Recognition may be requested by child care facilities 
36 participating in the fee assistance program for military families. Information for this program is available at 
37 https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider?Child-Care-Fee-Assistance-for-Military-Families  . 

1  
2 
3 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 
4 CFR 98.45; 
5 Eff. 
6 
7 10A NCAC 09 .3225 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
8 
9 10A NCAC 09 .3225 Accrediting Organizations and Star Rating Equivalency 

10 (a) The Commission shall reassess an accreditation’s star-rating equivalency, as set forth in Rule .3207 of this 
11 Section, if the standard for earning the accreditation is revised and may increase or decrease the accreditation’s star 
12 rating equivalency based on the reassessment in its discretion. 
13 (b) The Commission may approve additional accreditations from national early childhood education accreditation 
14 organizations and determine their star-rating equivalency upon request by the accrediting organization. 
15 (c) Reassessments and assessments described in (a) and (b) of this Rule shall be based on educational and 
16 programmatic standards of the accrediting organization and how they compare to or exceed the requirements of this 
17 Section. 
18 
19 History Note: Authority S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
20 Eff. 
21 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/ncbfccdesignation
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider?Child-Care-Fee-Assistance-for-Military-Families
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22 10A NCAC 09 .3226 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
23 
24 10A NCAC 09 .3226 Approval of Formative Assessments 
25 (a) The Commission may approve formative assessments to support implementation of classroom and instructional 
26 quality licensure requirements set forth in Rules .3205 and .3206 of this Section upon request. 
27 (b) The Commission shall approve formative assessments that meet the following criteria: 
28 (1) the formative assessment aligns with the developmental domains described in the North Carolina 
29 Foundations for Early Learning and Development; 
30 (2) the formative assessment is research-based; 
31 (3) the formative assessment has been developed and validated for the intended population; 
32 (4) the formative assessment requires collection of information in a variety of ways such as observations of 
33 children during daily routines, play and group activities; teacher documentation of children’s activities, 
34 experiences and work; collaboration with families; and communication with service providers when 
35 applicable; and 
36 (5) the formative assessment promotes documentation of children’s development and progress in a way that 
37 is sensitive and responsive to the needs of all children from culturally, linguistically, economically, and 
38 ability diverse backgrounds. 
39 Information regarding approved formative assessments may be found on the Division’s website at 
40 https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum . 
44 
45 History Note: Authority S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45; 
46 Eff. 
47 
48 
49 
50 
51 
52 
53 SECTION .0100 DEFINITIONS 
54 
55 10A NCAC 09 .0102 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
56 

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum
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1 10A NCAC 09 .0102 DEFINITIONS 
2 The terms and phrases used in this Chapter are defined as follows: 
3 (1) "Activity area" means a space that is accessible to children and where related equipment and 
4 materials are kept in accordance with G.S. 110-91(12). 
5 (1)(2) “Administrative work experience” shall mean verifiable experience in completing 
6 administrative duties such as planning, implementation and oversight of operational and 
7 personnel systems in a licensed child care arrangement or a child care arrangement not 
8 required to be licensed as identified in G.S. 110-86(2). 
9 (2)(3) "Agency" as used in this Chapter means Division of Child Development and Early Education, 

10 Department of Health and Human Services located at 333 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, North 
11 Carolina 27609. 
12 (3)(4) "Appellant" means the person or persons who request a contested case hearing. 
13 (4)(5) "Asbestos hazard" means a condition that results in exposure to asbestos in excess of the 
14 standards set forth in 10A NCAC 41C .0607(a) or to a category of asbestos containing 
15 material defined at 40 
16 C.F.R. 763.88(b)(1)-(6). 
17 (5)(6) "Basic School-Age Care" training (BSAC training) means the training on the elements of 
18 quality afterschool care for school-age children, developed by the North Carolina State 
19 University Department of 4-H Youth Development and subsequently revised by the North 
20 Carolina School-age Quality Improvement Project. 
21 (6)(7) "Biocontaminant" means blood, bodily fluids, or excretions that may spread infectious disease. 
22 (7)(8) “Centers Located In a Residence” means a child care center located in a residence where, at 
23 any one time, more than two children, but less than fifteen children, receive child care. 
24 (8)(9) "Child Care Center" means an arrangement where, at any one time, there are three or more 
25 preschool-age children or nine or more school-age children receiving child care. This does 
26 not include arrangements described in Item (1822) of this Rule regarding Family Child Care 
27 Homes. 
28 (9)(10) "Child Care Facility" means child care centers, family child care homes, and any other child 
29 care arrangement not excluded by G.S. 110-86(2) that provides child care, regardless of the 
30 time of day, wherever operated, and whether or not operated for profit. 
31 (10)(11) "Child care provider" as defined by G.S. 110-90.2(a)(2) includes the following employees who 
32 have contact with the children in a child care program: 
33 (a) facility directors; 
34 (b) child care administrative staff; 
35 (c) teachers; 
36 (d) teachers' aides; 
37 (e) substitute providers; 
38 (f) uncompensated providers; 
39 (g) cooks; 
40 (h) maintenance personnel; and 
41 (i) drivers. 
42 (11)(12) "Child Development Associate Credential" means the national early childhood credential 
43 administered by the Council for Early Childhood Professional Recognition. 
44 (12)(13) "Curriculum" means a curriculum that has been approved as set forth in these Rules by the NC 
45 Child Care Commission as comprehensive, evidenced-based, and with a reading and literacy 
46 component. 
47 (13)(14) "Developmentally appropriate" means suitable to the chronological age range and 
48 developmental characteristics of a specific group of children. 
49 (14)(15) "Division" means the Division of Child Development and Early Education within the 
50 Department of Health and Human Services. 
51 (15)(16) "Domains" means the developmental areas of learning described in the North Carolina 
52 Foundations for Early Learning and Development © 2013, available on the Division's website 
53 at https://ncchildcare.nc.gov/providers/pv_foundations.asp. This instrument is incorporated 
54 by reference and does not include subsequent editions. The domains address children's 
55 emotional and social development, health and physical development, approaches to play and 
56 learning, language development, and communication and cognitive development. 
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1 (16)(17) "Drop-in care" means a child care arrangement where children attend on an intermittent, 
2 unscheduled basis. 
3 (17)(18) “Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale – Third Edition” “Early Childhood Environment Rating 
4 Scale – Revised Edition" (Harms, Clifford, and Cryer, 2005 2014, published by Teachers College 
5 Press, New York, NY) is the instrument used to evaluate the quality of care received by a group of 
6 children in a child care center using the program assessment licensure pathway. center, when the 
7 majority of children in the group are two and a half years old through five years old, to achieve three 
8 or more points for the program standards of a rated license. This instrument is incorporated by 
9 reference and does not include subsequent editions. A copy of the scale is available for purchase on 

10 the Teachers College Press website at 
11 https://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=assessment+materials. The cost of this scale is 
12 twenty-five twenty-eight dollars and ninety-five cents ($25.95 28.95). A copy of this instrument is 
13 on file at the Division at the address given in Item (23) of this Rule and is available for public 
14 inspection during regular business hours. For the purposes of this Rule, "regular business hours" for 
15 the Division means 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. during weekdays, excluding state holidays. 
16 (18)(19) “Early childhood education work experience” shall mean verifiable caregiving experience with children 
17 ages birth through five years of age in licensed child care arrangements or child care arrangements not 
18 required to be licensed as identified in G.S. 110-86(2). 
19 (19)(20) "Experience working with school-age children" means working with school-age children as a child 
20 care administrator, program coordinator, group leader, assistant group leader, lead teacher, teacher 
21 or aide. 
22 (20)(21) “Family Child Care Environment Rating Scale – Third Edition” "Family Child Care Environment 
23 Rating Scale – Revised Edition" (Harms, Cryer and Clifford, 2007 2019, published by Teachers 
24 College Press, New York, NY) is the instrument used to evaluate the quality of care received by 
25 children in family child care homes using the program assessment licensure pathway. to achieve 
26 three or more points for the program standards of a rated license. This instrument is incorporated by 
27 reference and does not include subsequent editions. A copy of the scale is available for purchase on 
28 the Teachers College Press website at 
29 https://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=assessment+materials. The cost of this scale is 
30 twenty-five twenty-eight dollars and ninety-five cents ($25.95 28.95). A copy of this instrument is 
31 on file at the Division at the address given in Item (23) of this Rule and is available for public 
32 inspection during regular business hours. 
33 (21)(22) "Family Child Care Home", as defined by G.S. 110-86(3)(b) means a child care arrangement located in 
34 a residence where, at any one time, more than two children, but less than nine eleven children, receive 
35 child care. Family child care home operators must reside at the location of the family child care 
36 home. 
37 (22)(23) "First aid kit" is a collection of first aid supplies (such as bandages, tweezers, disposable nonporous 
38 gloves, micro shield or face mask, liquid soap, cold pack) for treatment of minor injuries or 
39 stabilization of major injuries. 
40 (23)(24) "Group" means the children assigned to a specific caregiver or caregivers, to meet the staff/child 
41 ratios set forth in G.S. 110-91(7) and in this Chapter, using space the Division has identified for 
42 each group. 
43 (24)(25) "Health care professional" means: 
44 (a) a physician licensed in North Carolina; 
45 (b) a nurse practitioner approved to practice in North Carolina; or 
46 (c) a licensed physician assistant. 
47 (25)(26) "Household member" means a person who resides in a family home as evidenced by factors 
48 including maintaining clothing and personal effects at the household address, receiving mail at the 
49 household address, using identification with the household address, or eating and sleeping at the 
50 household address on a regular basis. 
51 (26)(27) "If weather conditions permit" means: 
52 (a) temperatures that fall within the guidelines developed by the Iowa Department of Public 
53 Health and specified on the Child Care Weather Watch chart. These guidelines shall be 
54 used when determining appropriate weather conditions for taking children outside for 
55 outdoor learning activities and playtime. This chart may be downloaded free of charge from 
56 http://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/Files/HCCI/weatherwatch.pdf;  and is incorporated by 
57 reference and includes subsequent editions and amendments; 
58 (b) following the air quality standards as set out in 15A NCAC 18A .2832(d). The Air Quality 
59 Color Guide can be found on the Division's web site at https://www.deq.nc.gov/mitigation- 

http://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=assessment%2Bmaterials
http://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=assessment%2Bmaterials
http://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/Files/HCCI/weatherwatch.pdf%3B
http://www.deq.nc.gov/mitigation-
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1 services/publicfolder/library/news/brochures/air-quality-color-guide/download; and 
2 (c) no active precipitation. Caregivers may choose to go outdoors when there is active 
3 precipitation if children have appropriate clothing such as rain boots and rain coats, or if 
4 they are under a covered area. 
5 (28) "Infant" means any child from birth through 12 months of age. 
6 (27)(29) “Infant Toddler Environment Rating Scale – Third Edition” (Harms, Clifford, Cryer, and Clifford and 
7 Yazejian, 2003, 2017, published by Teachers College Press, New York, NY) is the instrument used 
8 to evaluate the quality of care received by a group of children in a child care center using the program 
9 assessment licensure pathway. when the majority of children in the group are younger than 30 

10 months old, to achieve three or more points for the program standards of a rated license. This 
11 instrument is incorporated by reference and does not include subsequent editions. A copy of the 
12 scale is available for purchase on the Teachers College Press website at 
13 https://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=assessment+materials. The cost of this scale is 
14 twenty-five twenty-eight dollars and ninety-five cents ($ 25.95 28.95). A copy of this instrument is 
15 on file at the Division at the address given in Item (23) of this Rule and is available for public 
16 inspection during regular business hours. For the purposes of this Rule, "regular business hours" for 
17 the Division means 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. during weekdays, excluding state holidays. 
18 (28)(30) "ITS-SIDS Training" means the Infant/Toddler Safe Sleep and SIDS Risk Reduction Training 
19 developed by the NC Healthy Start Foundation and administered by the North Carolina Child Care 
20 Health and Safety Resource Center for the Division of Child Development and Early Education for 
21 caregivers of children ages 12 months and younger. Information regarding trainer and training 
22 availability can be found on the Division's website at 
23 http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/pv_itssidsproject.asp. 
24 (29)(31) "Lead Teacher" means an individual who is responsible for planning and implementing the daily 
25 program of activities for a group of children in a child care facility. A lead teacher is counted in 
26 staff/child ratio, has unsupervised contact with children, and is monetarily compensated by the 
27 facility. 
28 (30)(32) "Licensee" means the person or entity that is granted permission by the State of North Carolina to 
29 operate a child care facility. The owner of a facility is the licensee. 
30 (31)(33) "Lockdown drill" means an emergency safety procedure in which occupants of the facility remain 
31 in a locked indoor space and is used when emergency personnel or law enforcement determine a 
32 dangerous person is in the vicinity. 
33 (32)(34) "North Carolina Early Childhood Administration Credential" means the state early childhood 
34 administration credential that is based on completion of required early childhood coursework taken 
35 at any NC Community College. Other post secondary curriculum coursework shall be approved as 
36 equivalent if the Division determines that the content of the other post secondary curriculum 
37 coursework offered is substantially equivalent to the NC Early Childhood Administration Credential 
38 Coursework. A copy of the North Carolina Early Childhood Administration Credential requirements 
39 is on file at the Division at the address given in Item (2) of this Rule and is available for public 
40 inspection or copying at no charge during regular business hours. This information can be found on 
41 the Division's website at http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/credent.asp. 
42 (33)(35) "North Carolina Early Educator Certification (certification)" is an acknowledgement of an 
43 individual's verified level of educational achievement based on a standardized scale. The North 
44 Carolina Institute for Child Development Professionals certifies individuals and assigns a 
45 certification level on two scales: 
46 (a) the Early Care and Education Professional Scale (ECE Scale) in effect as of July 1, 2010; 
47 or 
48 (b) the School Age Professional Scale (SA Scale) in effect as of May 19, 2010. Each scale 
49 reflects the amount of education earned in the content area pertinent to the ages of children 
50 served. The ECE Scale is designed for individuals working with or on behalf of children 
51 ages birth to five. The SA Scale is designed for individuals working with or on behalf of 
52 children ages 5 to 12 who are served in school age care settings. Information on the 
53 voluntary certification process can be found on the North Carolina Institute for Child 
54 Development  Professionals  website  at  http://ncicdp.org/certification-licensure/eec- 
55 overview/. 
56 (34)(36) "North Carolina Early Childhood Credential" means the state early childhood credential that is based 
57 on completion of required early childhood coursework taken at any North Carolina Community 
58 College. Other equivalences shall be approved by the Division if the Division determines that the 
59 content of other coursework or other pathways are substantially equivalent to the North Carolina 

http://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=assessment%2Bmaterials
http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/pv_itssidsproject.asp
http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/credent.asp
http://ncicdp.org/certification-licensure/eec-
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1 Early Childhood Credential coursework. Substantially equivalent coursework shall include, but not 
2 be limited to: 
3 (a) a currently active Child Development Associate Credential from the Council for 
4 Professional Recognition, a Certified Child Care Professional Credential from the National 
5 Early Childhood Program Accreditation, or a Montessori Credential from any of the 
6 Montessori Accreditation Council for Teacher Education, American Montessori Society, 
7 National Center for Montessori Education, or Association Montessori Internationale; or 
8 (b) a passing score on a test developed by the early childhood faculty of the North Carolina 
9 Community College System designed to demonstrate an individual's mastery of the 

10 concepts taught in early childhood coursework taken at any North Carolina community 
11 college. 
12 A copy of the North Carolina Early Childhood Credential requirements is on file at the Division at 
13 the address given in Item (23) of this Rule and is available for public inspection or copying at no 
14 charge during regular business hours. This information can be found on the Division's website at 
15 http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/credent.asp. 
16 (35)(37) "Operator" means the owner, director, or other person having responsibility for operation of a child 
17 care facility subject to licensing. 
18 (36)(38) "Owner" means any person with a five percent or greater equity interest in a child care facility; 
19 however, stockholders of corporations who own child care facilities shall not be subject to 
20 mandatory criminal history checks pursuant to G.S. 110-90.2 unless they are a child care provider. 
21 (37)(39) "Parent" means a child's parent, legal guardian, or full-time custodian. 
22 (38)(40) "Passageway" means a hall or corridor. 
23 (39)(41) "Person" means any individual, trust, estate, partnership, corporation, joint stock company, 
24 consortium, or any other group, entity, organization, or association. 
25 (40)(42) "Premises" means the entire child care building and grounds including natural areas, outbuildings, 
26 dwellings, vehicles, parking lots, driveways and other structures located on the property. 
27 (41)(43) "Preschooler" or "preschool-age child" means any child who is at least three years of age and does 
28 not fit the definition of school-age child in this Rule. 
29 (42)(44) "Reside" refers to any person that lives at a child care facility location. Factors for determining 
30 residence include: 
31 (a) use of the child care facility address as a permanent address for personal identification or 
32 mail delivery; 
33 (b) use of the child care facility to store personal belongings such as furniture, clothing, and 
34 toiletry items; and 
35 (c) names listed on official documents such as criminal records or property tax records. 
36 (43)(45) "School-Age Care Environment Rating Scale, Updated Edition" (Harms, Jacobs, and White, 2014, 
37 published by Teachers College Press) is the instrument used to evaluate the quality of care received 
38 by a group of children in a child care center using the program assessment licensure pathway. , when 
39 the majority of the children in the group are older than five years, to achieve three or more points for 
40 the program standards of a rated license. This instrument is incorporated by reference and does not 
41 include subsequent editions. A copy of the scale is available for purchase on the Teacher College 
42 Press website at https://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=assessment+materials. The cost of 
43 this scale is twenty-five twenty-eight dollars and ninety-five cents ($25.95 28.95). A copy of this 
44 instrument is on file at the Division at the address given in Item (23) of this Rule and is available for 
45 public inspection during regular business hours. 
46 (44)(46) "School-age child" means any child who is attending or who has attended a public or private grade 
47 school or kindergarten and meets age requirements as specified in G.S. 115C-364. 
48 (45)(47) "Seasonal Program" means a recreational program as set forth in G.S. 110-86(2)(b). 
49 (46)(48) "Shelter-in-Place drill" means staying in place to take shelter rather than evacuating. It involves 
50 selecting a small interior room, with no or few windows, and used when emergency personnel or 
51 law enforcement determine there is a threat. 
52 (47)(49) "Staff" or "staff member" as used in this Chapter includes child care providers, substitute providers, 
53 and uncompensated providers. Volunteers, as defined in this Rule, are not staff members. 
54 (48)(50) "Substitute provider" means any person who temporarily assumes the duties of a staff person for a 
55 time period not to exceed two consecutive months and may or may not be monetarily compensated 
56 by the facility. Any substitute provider must be at least 18 years of age and literate. 
57 (49)(51) "Teacher" means an individual who assists the Lead Teacher in planning and implementing the daily 
58 program of activities for a group of children in a child care facility. A teacher is counted in staff/child 
59 ratio, has unsupervised contact with children, and is monetarily compensated by the facility. 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/credent.asp
http://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=assessment%2Bmaterials
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1 (50)(52) "Teacher's aide" or "Aide" means a person who assists the lead teacher or the teacher in 
2 planning and implementing the daily program. A teacher's aide shall be at least 16 years old 
3 and less than 18 years old, shall be literate, and may count in staff/child ratio as long as there 
4 is also a credentialed staff person who is at least 21 years of age present in the room and 
5 available to respond to the needs of the teacher's aide and children in care. 
6 (51)(53) "Toddler" means any child ages 13 months to 35 months of age. 
7 (52)(54) "Track-Out Program" means any child care provided to school-age children when they are 
8 out of school on a year-round school calendar. 
9 (53)(55) "Uncompensated provider" means a person who works in a child care facility and is counted 

10 in staff/child ratio or has unsupervised contact with children, but who is not monetarily 
11 compensated by the facility. Any uncompensated provider must be at least 18 years of age 
12 and literate. 
13 (54)(56) "Volunteer" means a person who works in a child care facility and is not counted in staff/child 
14 ratio, does not have unsupervised contact with children, and is not monetarily compensated by 
15 the facility. A person who is at least 13 years of age, but less than 16 years of age, may work 
16 on a volunteer basis, as long as he or she is supervised by and works with a staff person who 
17 is at least 21 years of age and meets staff qualification requirements. 
18 
19 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-90.2; 143B-168.3; 45 CFR 98.41; S.L. 2021-180; S.L. 2022- 
20 71; 45 CFR 98.16; S.L. 2024-34; 
21 Eff. January 1, 1986; 
22 Amended Eff. April 1, 1992; October 1, 1991; October 1, 1990; November 1, 1989; 
23 Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1996; 
24 Amended Eff. March 1, 2015; May 1, 2013; September 1, 2012; July 3, 2012; July 1, 
25 2012; November 1, 2007; May 2006; May 1, 2004; April 1, 2003; July 1, 2000; April 1, 1999; 
26 July 1,1998; April 1, 1997; 
27 Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017; 
28 Amended Eff. January 1, 2024; July 1, 2023; February 1, 2022; February 1, 2021; September 
29 1, 2019 
30 
31 
32 
33 
34 SECTION .2900 DEVELOPMENTAL DAY SERVICES 
35 
36 10A NCAC 09 .2902 LICENSE 
37 (a) Developmental Day services shall be available for preschool children for a minimum of 8 hours per day, 5 
38 days per week, Monday through Friday, and 12 months per year except in the following circumstances: 
39 (1) in  counties  where  no  Community-Based  Developmental  Day  Center  operates,  a 
40 Developmental Day program operated by the Local Education Agency may provide services 
41 for the 10 month school year (as defined by the State Board of Education); or 
42 (2) if a Community-Based Developmental Day center opens in a county where Developmental 
43 Day services are only provided by a Developmental Day program operated by the Local 
44 Education Agency, the Developmental Day program operated by the Local Education 
45 Agency shall continue to provide services for the 10 month school year until the end of the 
46 following school year. At the end of the following school year, all Developmental Day 
47 services in the county shall be available as described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
48 (b) For purposes of this Rule, a "Community-Based Developmental Day Center" means a Developmental Day 
49 Center not operated by the Local Education Agency. 
50 (c) Developmental Day Centers shall maintain a four or five star rated license as set forth in Section .3200 of 
51 this Chapter. with an average score of 5.0 on the appropriate environment rating scale in each classroom 
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1 evaluated as defined in 10A NCAC 09 .0102(15), (25) and (40). 
2 (d) A child care center with a temporary license may receive certification status if all rules in this Section are 
3 met, except for Paragraph (c) of this Rule, and an application for a two to five star rated licensed has been 
4 submitted in accordance with Section .2800 of this Chapter. At the end of the temporary license period the child 
5 care center shall obtain a four or five star rated license as specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Failure to 
6 receive and maintain a four or five star rated license shall result in the removal of certification status as a 
7 Developmental Day Center. 
8 (e) The child care center license shall indicate certification as a Developmental Day Center. 
9 (f) The center shall comply with the staff-child ratio and maximum group size as follows: 

MAXIMUM 
AGE 

RATIO STAFF/CHILDREN GROUP SIZE 

0-12 Months 1/4 8 
1 to 2 Years 1/5 10 
2 Years and Older 1/6 18 

10 (g) A minimum of two staff members shall be on site at all times while children are in attendance at the facility. 
11 (h) A child care center may appeal the removal of certification status in accordance with G.S. 110-94; however, 
12 an appeal shall not preclude a Local Education Agency from removing contracted children from the program 
13 before a final decision on the appeal is reached. 
14 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(5); 110-88(10); 110-88(14); S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858c; 45 
15 CFR 98.41; 45 CFR 98.68; S.L. 2024-34; 
16 Eff. July 1, 2010; 
17 Amended Eff. August 1, 2016; 
18 Readopted Eff. October 1. 2017. 
19 
20 10A NCAC 09 .2905 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
21 
22 10A NCAC 09 .2905 FAMILY SERVICES 
23 The center shall facilitate family involvement as evidenced by meeting at least four of the following activities. six 
24 activities: These activities may not be used to meet the requirements set forth in Rule .3219 of this Chapter. 
25 (1) Providing quarterly parent education sessions; 
26 (2) Holding parent/teacher conferences at least twice a year; 
27 (3)(2) Communicating on an individual basis with parents via daily; and notes, progress reports, or 
28 surveys; 
29 (4)(3) Having parents as members of a center advisory board. board; 
30 (5) Providing opportunities for parent volunteers to assist with special classroom activities, field 
31 trips, and other learning experiences for children; or 
32 (6) Providing parents with referral information about other community programs and resources 
33 serving young children. 
34 
35 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110- 
36 88(14); 42 USCS 9858; 45 CFR 
37 98.1; 45 CFR 98.16; S.L. 2024- 
38 34; Eff. July 1, 2010; 
39 Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017. 
40 
41 
42 
43 
44 
45 
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1 SECTION .3000 NC PRE-KINDERGARTEN 
2 
3 10A NCAC 09 .3002 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
4 
5 10A NCAC 09 .3002 FACILITY REQUIREMENTS 
6 (a) Programs serving NC Pre-K children shall maintain a four-or five-star rated license in accordance with G.S. 
7 110- 90(4) and Section .2800.3200 of this Chapter. 
8 (b) NC Pre-K programs that have earned a four-or five-star rated license using the program assessment 
9 licensure pathway or the classroom and instructional quality licensure pathway in Rules .3203 and .3205 of this 

10 Chapter shall have an assessment completed every three years using the Early Childhood Environment Rating 
11 Scale-Third Edition assessment tool. Classrooms that score below 5.0, shall be reassessed the following year 
12 and a minimum score of 5.0 must be achieved in order to continue to be approved as a NC Pre-K site. At least 
13 one NC Pre-K classroom shall be selected for an assessment during the reassessment process. NC Pre-K 
14 programs that have earned a four-or five-star rated license using the accreditation and Head Start licensure 
15 pathway in Rule .3207 of this Section are not required to have an assessment and shall instead comply with 
16 standards set forth by those organizations regarding program quality standards. 
17 All NC Pre-K licensed programs shall have an assessment completed every three years using the Early Childhood 
18 Environment Rating Scale-Revised Edition assessment tool as a part of the rated license reassessment process as 
19 defined in Rule .0102(15), (25) and (40) of this Chapter. Classrooms that score below 5.0, shall be reassessed the 
20 following year and a minimum score of 5.0 must be achieved in order to continue to be approved as a NC Pre-K 
21 site. At least one NC Pre-K classroom shall be selected for an assessment during the reassessment process. 

22 (c) During the NC Pre-K day, classrooms serving NC Pre-K children shall provide outdoor time, either as part 
23 of a small group, whole group, or individual activity, for no less than 45 minutes per day when weather 
24 conditions permit as defined in Rule .0102 of this Chapter. 
25 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, 
26 s.10.7(a); S.L. 2024-34; Eff. November 1, 2012; 
27 Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017. 
28 
29 10A NCAC 09 .3009 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
30 
31 10A NCAC 09 .3009 STAFF-TO-CHILD RATIO AND CLASS SIZE 
32 The classroom shall not exceed a maximum staff-to-child ratio of one to nine ten with a maximum class size of 18 
33 20 children, with at least one teacher and one teacher assistant per classroom. A classroom of nine ten children 
34 or less shall have at least one teacher. 
35 
36 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, s. 
37 10.7(a); S.L. 2023-134; Eff. November 1, 2012; 
38 Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017. 
39 
40 10A NCAC 09 .3010 is proposed for amendment as follows: 
41 
42 10A NCAC 09 .3010 FAMILY ENGAGEMENT 
43 NC Pre-K programs shall develop a plan for family engagement consisting of strategies designed to 
44 develop partnerships with families that promote shared decision-making opportunities. These opportunities shall 
45 include: 
46 (1) An enrollment orientation that includes an opportunity for families and child(ren) to visit the 
47 assigned classroom and lead teacher prior to the first day of enrollment. Allowing Pre-K 
48 program teachers the opportunity for home visits; 
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1 (2) Formal and informal parent/teacher conferences; Family and teacher conferences are offered at 
2 least twice annually to discuss child needs and progress toward individual goals and to receive 
3 feedback from families regarding their child(ren)’s experiences at home and at the child care 
4 facility. During each conference, families are offered an opportunity to set a goal(s) for their child. 
5 Conferences shall be conducted in a manner that is convenient for the family such as by telephone, 
6 virtually or in-person. 
7 (3) Classroom visits and options for parents and families to participate in classroom activities; 
8 (4) Parent education; At least one family event annually that includes an educational opportunity for 
9 staff and families to learn together. 

10 (5) Allowing family members the opportunity for involvement in decision making about their 
11 own child and about their child's early childhood program; and 
12 (6) Opportunities to engage families outside of the regular school day, including at least two family 
13 events annually. 
14 Items (1) (2) (4) and (6) may be used to meet requirements set forth in Rule .3219 of this Chapter regarding family 
15 and community engagement. 
16 

17 History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145, s. 
18 10.7(a); 42 USCS 9858c; 45 CFR 98.1; 45 CFR 
19 98.16; S.L. 2024-34; Eff. November 1, 2012; 
20 Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017. 
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	Executive Summary
	This set of rules is being submitted by the NC Child Care Commission (“the Commission”) in response to Session Laws 2023-40 and 2024-34 regarding the modernization of the state’s quality rating improvement system (QRIS). QRIS is based on a star-rating...
	1) to promote high-quality child care by providing pathways for child care facilities to meet enhanced standards; and
	2) to give parents a simple tool to help make informed decisions about the quality of a facility based on standardized educational and programmatic factors.
	In February 2023, the Commission initiated a project to modernize North Carolina’s QRIS, commonly known as the Star Rated License, in anticipation of impending legislation. The Commission formed a QRIS Sub-Committee that was tasked with developing rec...
	In July 2024, Session Law 2024-34 became effective and outlines the QRIS framework, pathways and recommendations of the legislative report. However, as stated in the legislative report, “The Child Care Commission recognizes that modernizing the state’...
	The proposed rules incorporate all the elements of QRIS required by legislation as well as additional changes necessary for administrative clarity. The rules preserve the integrity of the state’s existing QRIS while providing more options for child ca...
	Estimated quantified costs to state government associated with implementation of the rules includes approximately $6,800 one-time opportunity costs to DHHS for initial rollout of the new QRIS pathways and allocating an estimated $400,000 from the exis...
	Child care centers and FCCHs will incur annual opportunity (time) costs associated with the new requirement for CQI plans. DHHS estimates the amount of time needed for FCCHs and child care centers to complete this task is about one hour per year per e...
	associated with preparing a portfolio for the competency evaluation option, planning family and community engagement activities, pursuing accreditation or CEUs, and using a new curriculum or formative assessment. Presumably, they would only pursue the...
	Most of the impacts to child care center and FCCH owners from the proposed rules (and session law) are in the form of potential avoided costs and/or potential increased revenue. For example, changes to staff/child ratios could result in the creation o...
	The Commission expects that the new rules will result in significant unquantifiable benefits associated with lower barriers to entry, encouragement of proliferation of child care facilities, and a way to maintain the high quality of care for which Nor...

	Need for Child Care in NC
	Child care facilities in NC are eligible to be licensed to care for children from Birth through 12 years of age. The US Census Bureau noted that, as of 2023, there were over 1.48 million children under the age of 12 in NC. While not all families choos...
	According to the NC Statewide Birth to Five Needs Assessment Update Addendum regarding Family  Child Care Home and Child Care Desert Needs Assessment and Strategic Plan (March 2024), “… 44% of families live in a child care desert. Rural and immigrant ...

	QRIS in North Carolina
	North Carolina has been a national leader in implementing QRIS, beginning in 1999. There has been one revision to the QRIS since initial implementation with a continued emphasis on many of the same
	standards. QRIS Modernization is focused on meeting the current needs of families and the early care and education workforce, using information from community outreach and building on 24 years of quality child care practices. Offering innovative choic...
	Figures 1 through 4 show trends in provider participation in QRIS and child enrollment in select years. Note that data prior to 2004 was unavailable, and data after 2018 was excluded due to pandemic related exemptions. In general, the number of child ...
	Current Participation in Star-Rating System
	The star-rating system is legislatively designed as a tiered level system directly related to subsidized child care payments and is voluntary for child care facilities. Participation in the child care subsidy system begins at licensure with a Temporar...

	Proposed Rules
	In March 2024, upon submission of the legislative report, draft rules were developed. The Commission reviewed the proposed rules in May, June, July, and September 2024. The proposed rules reflect the recommendations in the legislative report, new legi...
	Many of the costs and benefits discussed in this analysis are more directly attributable to the session law that required QRIS modernization. In Table 1, the requirements within session law are compared to those within the proposed rules. A more detai...
	This Rule defines the scope of the proposed rules for “Pathways to the Stars: Where Quality and Choice Meet”, the requirements for child care facilities to meet in order to earn a Two through Five Star Rated License. This is similar to the existing Ch...
	This Rule outlines the application process for applying for a Two through Five Star Rated License. This is similar to the existing Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2802. Notable changes from existing requirements are as follows:
	 Revisions to paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2802(a) are included in 10A NCAC 09 .3202(a) to clarify the operational requirements to apply for a Two through Five Star Rated License. Existing language specifies that a facility must be in operation for a minim...
	 Revisions to paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2802(c) are included in 10A NCAC 09 .3202(c) to address new licensure pathway options in QRIS.
	 Paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2802(d) regarding curriculum has been moved to 10A NCAC 09 .3203,
	.3204, .3205 and .3206 as part of those licensure pathway requirements.
	 Paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2802(f) regarding the Environment Rating Scale (ERS) has been moved to 10A NCAC 09 .3203 and .3204 as part of the program assessment pathway requirements and revised to reflect use of an updated version of ERS as set forth in ...
	This Rule describes one of three licensure pathways that a child care center may choose to earn a Two through Five Star Rated License using program assessment, a familiar process since this licensure pathway is most similar to current QRIS requirement...
	 Existing enhanced ratio and/or enhanced space requirements depending on the star level desired.
	 Existing curriculum requirements for 4 year olds in 4 and 5 Star Rated Licensed centers.
	 Proposed education standards regarding Lead Teachers were initially revised during the pandemic from 75% of Lead Teachers meeting education requirements to 50%, as set forth in Session Law 2021-127. Session Law 2024-34 continues the requirements for...
	 Notation of the updated version of the Environment Rating Scales (ERS) – Third Edition and SACERS-U as set forth in Session Law 2024-34, with revised threshold scores that include averages. Average threshold scores are required at the 4 and 5 Star R...
	 Addition of a structured self-study requirement at every star level.
	 Addition of continuous quality improvement standards at every star level.
	 Addition of family and community engagement standards at every star level. This includes foundational practices and additional activity choices depending on the desired star level.
	 Addition of a method for the Commission to approve additional program assessment tools, if requested.
	 Continues caregiving requirements related to activity schedules and areas as currently specified in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2806.
	 Continues to require a second administrator when a center is licensed to care for 200 or more children as currently specified in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2819(f).
	 Continues to require a second program coordinator when a center is licensed to care for 200 or more school-age children as currently specified in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2822(c).
	 No enrollment reductions for any star level, in lieu of the points-based system that required fewer infants be enrolled to earn higher programmatic points toward licensure.
	 Existing curriculum requirements for 4 year olds in 4 and 5 Star Rated Licensed FCCHs.
	 The FCCH operator meets the requirements of the desired star level. This is in lieu of a points-based system where the number of points earned impacts the overall star rated license for a FCCH.
	 Notation of the updated version of the Environment Rating Scales (ERS) – Third Edition aligns with Session Law 2024-34, with revised threshold scores. The threshold scores are required at the 4 and 5 Star Rated License levels only, in lieu of earnin...
	 Continued self-study requirement at every star level. Self-study requirements are part of current FCCH rules specified in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2828 to earn any programmatic points toward a star rated license.
	 Addition of continuous quality improvement standards at every star level.
	 Addition of family and community engagement standards at every star level. This includes foundational practices and additional activity choices depending on the desired star level.
	 Addition of a method for the Commission to approve additional program assessment tools, if requested.
	This new Rule describes one of three licensure pathways that a child care center may choose to earn a Two through Five Star Rated License. This is a new licensure pathway set forth in Session Law 2024-34.
	 Existing enhanced ratio and/or enhanced space requirements depending on the star level desired. At the Five Star Rated License level, centers must meet existing reduced, enhanced ratio requirements. This requirement is comparable to the highest prog...
	 Existing curriculum requirements for 4 year olds in 4 and 5 Star Rated Licensed centers.
	 Proposed education standards that continue Hold Harmless requirements for 50% of Lead Teachers to meet star level requirements. In addition, 50% of other educators must meet the desired star level. The star level of these two groups of staff impacts...
	 Continuous quality improvement standards at every star level.
	 Family and community engagement standards at every star level. This includes foundational practices and additional activity choices depending on the desired star level.
	 Curriculum implementation for all ages served. At the Four and Five Star rated License levels,
	implementation of an approved curriculum for all ages served is required.
	 At the Three Star Rated License level, child observation for each child enrolled is required. At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, approved formative assessments are required to be used for each child enrolled.
	 At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, results of the formative assessment are shared with families.
	 At the Three through Five Star Rated License levels, the center administrator and/or lead teachers participate in one of three coaching or training choices regarding classroom and instructional practices.
	 At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, the center administrator and/or lead teachers complete training in the curriculum and formative assessment tool used.
	This new Rule describes one of three licensure pathways that a FCCH may choose to earn a Two through Five Star Rated License. This is a new licensure pathway set forth in Session Law 2024-34.
	 No enrollment reductions to earn Two through Four Star Rated Licenses. At the Five Star Rated License level, FCCHs meeting the capacity requirements of G.S. 110-91(7)(b)(1) shall not have more than four children enrolled under the age of 24 months w...
	 Existing curriculum requirements for 4 year olds in 4 and 5 Star Rated Licensed FCCHs.
	 The FCCH operator meets the requirements of the desired star level. This is in lieu of a points-based system where the number of points earned impacts the overall star rated license for a FCCH.
	 Continuous quality improvement standards at every star level.
	 Family and community engagement standards at every star level. This includes foundational practices and additional activity choices depending on the desired star level.
	 Curriculum implementation for all ages served. At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, implementation of an approved curriculum for all ages served is required.
	 At the Three Star Rated License level, child observation for each child enrolled is required. At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, approved formative assessments are required to be used for each child enrolled.
	 At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, results of the formative assessment are shared with families.
	 At the Three through Five Star Rated License levels, the FCCH operator participates in one of three coaching or training choices regarding classroom and instructional practices.
	 At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, the FCCH operator completes training in the curriculum and formative assessment tool used.
	This new Rule describes one of three licensure pathways that a child care facility may choose to earn a Two through Five Star Rated License. This is a new licensure pathway set forth in Session Law 2024-34, which states that a child care facility may ...
	 Accreditation through seven approved accreditation organizations shall receive either a Three or Five Star Rated License. All seven of those organizations are included in this rule with the designated star rating.
	 For facilities that earn a Three Star Rated License through accreditation, the Session Law specifies
	that there shall be opportunities to allow that facility to increase its star rating. This rule describes the education standards that will be required for those facilities to increase to a Four or Five Star Rated License.
	 Subparagraph (g) of this Rule states a Five Star Rated License may be issued to Head Start or Early Head Start facilities as allowed in Session Law 2024-34.
	 Subparagraph (i) of this Rule sets forth the staff/child ratio requirements for accredited facilities. This allows for implementation of required accreditation standards regarding staff/child ratio or a choice between accreditation standards and QRI...
	 Subparagraph (j) exempts accredited and Head Start facilities from additional programmatic requirements regarding curriculum, continuous quality improvement and family/community engagement since those standards are addressed as part of the accredita...
	 Continues caregiving requirements related to activity schedules and areas as currently specified in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2806.
	 Continues to require a second administrator when a center is licensed to care for 200 or more children as currently specified in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2819(f).
	 Continues to require a second program coordinator when a center is licensed to care for 200 or more school-age children as currently specified in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2822(c).
	The staff/child ratios and group sizes in this Rule are identical to the staff/child ratios and group size requirements currently in 10A NCAC 09 .2818(a), (b), (d) and (e). One clarification was added, 10A NCAC 09 .3208(e) specifies that use of 10A NC...
	The staff/child ratios and group sizes in this Rule are identical to the staff/child ratios and group size requirements currently in 10A NCAC 09 .2818(a), (c), (d) and (e). One clarification was added, 10A NCAC 09 .3209(e) specifies that use of 10A NC...
	The indoor and outdoor space requirements in this Rule are identical to the enhanced space requirements currently in 10A NCAC 09 .2809.
	Education standards have been revised to address workforce challenges and to include experience and competency based options. The entry level education requirements for QRIS have not been increased and the highest standards remain in place. The revisi...
	Competency Evaluation is a new option in education standards set forth in Session Law 2024-34. As proposed, it applies to individuals who are lead teachers, teachers and family child care home operators that have not completed higher education. This i...
	star levels depending on the employment role of this individual.
	from three categories of engagement. The number of additional options a child care center must implement increases with every star level.
	10A NCAC 09 .3220 – Family and Community Engagement Standards for Family Child Care Homes This new Rule describes new standards that focus on family and community engagement for FCCHs as set forth in Session Law 2024-34. Foundational practices begin a...
	This new Rule outlines CQI plan requirements as set forth in Session Law 2024-34. As proposed, it applies to individuals and facilities by requiring development of goals for continuous quality improvement. This includes documenting the reason/need for...
	This Rule defines the requirements for child care facilities to maintain a Two through Five Star Rated License. This Rule is similar to the existing Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2830. Notable changes from existing requirements are as follows:
	 Revisions to sub-paragraphs of 10A NCAC 09 .2830(a) are included in 10A NCAC 09 .3222(a) to address new licensure pathway options in QRIS.
	 Revisions to paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2830(c) are included in 10A NCAC 09 .3222(c) and are intended to address workforce crisis issues regarding employment related changes.
	 Revisions to paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2830(d) are included in 10A NCAC 09 .3222(d) and (e) to address new licensure pathway options in QRIS.
	 Addition of paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .3222(f) to address accreditation licensure pathway situations.
	This Rule outlines the process for requesting a change in star rating and how to appeal a change in star rating. This Rule is similar to the existing Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .2831. Minor revisions to paragraph 10A NCAC 09 .2831(b) are included in ...
	This is a new Rule that acknowledges participation in or completion of quality initiatives and practices that are not otherwise addressed in QRIS as set forth in Session Law 2024-34. These are options that child care facilities may choose to earn and ...
	This is a new Rule that aligns with Session Law 2024-34 regarding the Child Care Commission’s reassessment of an accreditation organization’s star rating designation within QRIS and the discretionary
	assessment and approval of additional accreditation organizations for QRIS upon request. This Rule specifies that the accreditation standards will be compared to QRIS standards in Section .3200 to determine star rating designation and/or approval.
	This is a new Rule that specifies the review and approval process of formative assessment tools to support the requirements of the licensure pathway described in proposed rules .3205 and .3206 and set forth in Session Law 2024-34. Formative assessment...
	This revised Rule is in response to Session Law 2024-34 regarding QRIS Modernization and the proposed rules of Section .3200. These rules are directly related to the implementation of QRIS for all child care facilities and the proposed changes reflect...
	 Addition of definition for “administrative work experience” in 10A NCAC 09 .0102(2). There was not a definition for this type of work experience though the term is used throughout the Child Care Rules, including QRIS requirements.
	 Addition of definition for “centers located in a residence” in 10A NCAC 09 .0102(8). There was not a definition for this type of facility though the term is used throughout the Child Care Rules, including QRIS requirements.
	 Updated definition for Environment Rating Scale (ERS) tools in 10A NCAC 09 .0102 (18), (21), (29) and (45) as set forth in Session Law 2024-34.
	 Addition of definition for “early childhood education work experience” in 10A NCAC 09 .0102(19). There was not a definition for this type of work experience though the term is used throughout the Child Care Rules, including QRIS requirements.
	 Updated definition for “Family Child Care Home” to reflect existing law.
	This revised Rule is in response to Session Law 2024-34 regarding QRIS Modernization and the proposed rules of Section .3200. These rules are directly related to the implementation of QRIS for Developmental Day Centers which are required to maintain a...
	.3200 that describe three licensure pathways. Notable changes from existing requirements are as follows:
	 Subparagraph (c) of this Rule is being revised so that operators of Developmental Day Centers may choose from the three licensure pathways described in proposed Section .3200 regarding QRIS.
	 The requirement for an Environment Rating Scale (ERS) and threshold score has been revised to reflect that it will only be applicable if the operator chooses to meet the requirements of proposed Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .3202 regarding program as...
	This revised Rule is in response to Session Law 2024-34 regarding QRIS Modernization and the proposed rules of Section .3200. These rules are directly related to the implementation of QRIS for Developmental Day Centers and the revisions eliminate dupl...
	engagement standards in proposed Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .3219. It was further specified that the remaining activities shall not be used to meet any other choices selected to fulfill licensure requirements regarding family/community engagement sta...
	This revised Rule is in response to Session Law 2024-34 regarding QRIS Modernization and the proposed rules of Section .3200. The revisions reflect requirements related to the implementation of QRIS for NC Pre- Kindergarten facilities which are requir...
	 Subparagraph (a) of this Rule is being revised so that operators of NC Pre-K facilities may choose from the three licensure pathways described in proposed Section .3200 regarding QRIS.
	 Subparagraph (b) of this Rule is being revised to reflect the updated edition of the Environment Rating Scale (ERS) tool as set forth in Session Law 2024-34. The requirement for an ERS assessment and threshold score will only be applicable if the op...
	.3202 regarding program assessment or proposed Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .3205 regarding classroom and instructional quality. Operators that choose to earn a Four or Five Star Rated License by meeting the requirements of proposed Child Care Rule 10A...
	This revised Rule is in response to Session Law 2023-134 regarding staff-to-child ratio and class size for NC Pre-K facilities. Currently licensed NC Pre-K facilities are already meeting this requirement.
	This revised Rule is in response to Session Law 2024-34 regarding QRIS Modernization and the proposed rules of Section .3200. These rules are directly related to the implementation of QRIS for NC Pre- Kindergarten facilities and are being revised to a...
	*It is anticipated that Section .2800 “Two Through Five Star Rated Licenses” will be repealed at the time that Section .3200 is adopted.


	Impact Analysis
	The availability of new licensure pathways for child care facilities has the potential to support and promote quality ratings as stakeholders will be able to find their place in the system. The addition of choices with QRIS is expected to remove barri...
	 Staff shortages, turnover and education requirements, including opposing views regarding higher education requirements vs. experience-based knowledge. These rules create more choices in education standards, including higher education coursework/degr...
	 Barriers in applying program assessment standards for programs with a specific teaching philosophy or pedagogy. Accreditation for Montessori programs is included in QRIS as required by Session Law 2024-34 and eliminates program requirements that hav...
	 External program assessment was frequently identified as “stressful” for teaching staff and operators, presenting a challenge in earning required scores. The addition of two licensure pathways that do not include external program assessment offers o...
	 QRIS was described as “rigid” or that there is only one way to achieve a high star rating and demonstrate quality practices. Choices have been incorporated for individuals and facilities through education standards and throughout requirements for ea...
	Impacts to State Government
	Initial Rollout
	Implementation of these rules will not require additional Division staffing above existing requirements but rather a shift in focus of work regarding training and procedural changes. There are currently existing positions whose job descriptions includ...
	 Approximately 60 hours for procedures and corresponding resources and documents
	 Approximately 5 hours for agency website updates
	 Approximately 40 hours for development of training modules
	 Approximately 34 hours of regional staff meetings that are routinely scheduled bi-annually
	 Approximately 10 hours of preparation for consumer education materials for families
	The time that will be spent by Division staff during the child care facility visits for Two through Five Star Rated License assessments using revised QRIS rules is expected to be comparable to time expected for
	star rated license assessment and reassessment activities with current QRIS standards. The only difference is that the pathways created within the rules include choices in requirements to earn the star rated licenses,
	which is addressed in the procedural changes already described. Division staff already assist child care operators with understanding rules and how the rules relate to their individual facility, in addition to monitoring for compliance. Disseminating ...
	Education Standards

	All child care facilities and early childhood education professionals currently submit education information to the Division of Child Development and Early Education Workforce Unit for evaluation so there would not be an additional cost incurred by th...
	Other education standard impacts are as follows:
	 Years of work experience for all positions is currently verified by Division staff and will not result in any additional time during monitoring visits. Operators and early childhood education professionals already document their work experience as r...
	 The Division expects to implement competency evaluations through contracted services with a partner agency funded through quality dollars already allotted via the Child Care and Development  Fund (CCDF). The total number of evaluators needed within ...
	The estimated salary range includes the cost of observation and portfolio reviews. Travel costs to and from in-person observations will be in addition to the estimated salary/benefit range, determined by the number of evaluators employed and the locat...
	Development of the competency evaluation tool and materials is an activity funded through the Preschool Development Grant (PDG). Anticipated costs for early childhood education professionals to utilize this option are captured within the cost to child...

	Impacts to Local Government
	There are no expected impacts on local government. N.C.G.S. 110-91 states that all child care facilities shall comply with local ordinances that pertain to child health, safety and welfare. This is a mandatory standard for all child care licenses and ...

	Impacts to Child Care Facilities
	Estimating the number of child care facilities that may choose each of the three licensure pathways will be difficult since the requirements have not yet become effective. Participation in QRIS will remain voluntary while continuing to provide an ince...
	Family Child Care Home Enrollment/Capacity

	Current enrollment requirements for FCCHs have been revised as part of QRIS reform.
	 For Pathway #1 and Pathway #3, there are no recommended enrollment restrictions for any star level.
	 For Pathway #2, an enrollment restriction applies to earning the highest star rating by reducing the number of children under the age of twenty-four months by one, if the FCCH is meeting N.C.G.S. 110-91(7)(b)(1) for their licensed capacity. This enr...
	Using current licensure data, the following outcomes could occur depending on a FCCH operator’s choice of licensure pathways:
	 There are 51 FCCH facilities meeting the current QRIS requirements to earn six program points as described in Rule .2828(b), which reduces enrollment of infants by one.
	o If these facilities choose Pathway #2, they can maintain their current enrollment and be eligible for the highest star rating.
	o If all of these facilities choose Pathway #1 or Pathway #3, they could increase the number of infants/toddlers enrolled within their licensed capacity. This could result in a maximum of 51 additional available slots for infants/toddlers within the e...
	-$1,276 depending on the county in which they operate (North Carolina Child Care Market Rate Survey of 2023).
	 There are 164 FCCH facilities meeting the current QRIS requirements to earn seven program points as described in Rule .2828(b), which reduces enrollment of infants by two.
	o If all of these facilities choose Pathway #2, they can earn the highest star rating and care for one additional infant/toddler within their licensed capacity. This would result in a maximum of 164 additional available slots for infants/toddlers with...
	-$1,276 depending on the county in which they operate (North Carolina Child Care
	Market Rate Survey of 2023).
	o If all of these facilities choose Pathway #1 or Pathway #3, they can increase the number of infants/toddlers enrolled within their licensed capacity by two. This could result in a maximum of 328 additional available slots for infants/toddlers within...
	-$2,548 depending on the county in which they operate (North Carolina Child Care Market Rate Survey of 2023).
	Child Care Center Staff/Child Ratio and Space Requirements

	Current staff/child ratio and space requirements for child care centers are as follows and remain unchanged regarding the content of the rules and apply to all licensure pathways:
	 enhanced staff/child ratios are a reduction of one child per age group served;
	 reduced enhanced staff/child ratios are a reduction of two children per age group served; and
	 enhanced space is a reduction of 5 square feet per child indoors and 25 square feet per child using the outdoor space at any given time.
	However, the method in which the requirements are used for each pathway will be different. Using current licensure data, the following outcomes could occur depending on a child care center operator’s choice of licensure pathways:
	 There are 975 child care centers meeting the current QRIS requirements to earn one through three points as described in Rule .2817(b) that are meeting enhanced ratio requirements or enhanced space requirements. Those facilities could maintain their ...
	 There are 1,391 child care centers meeting the current QRIS requirements to earn four through six points as described in Rule .2817(b) that are meeting enhanced ratio requirements. Those facilities could maintain their choice for Pathway #1 and Path...
	 There are 1,343 child care centers meeting the current QRIS requirements to earn seven program points as described in Rule .2817(b). This includes meeting reduced, enhanced ratio requirements and enhanced space requirements.
	o If these facilities choose Pathway #1, they no longer need to meet reduced, enhanced ratio requirements. At the Five Star Rated License level, enhanced ratio requirements must be implemented. Pathway #1 is the most similar to the current system but ...
	o If these facilities choose Pathway #2, they can earn the highest star rating by maintaining the reduced, enhanced ratio requirements.
	o If these facilities choose Pathway #3, they no longer need to meet reduced, enhanced ratio requirements. They must meet the required ratio requirements of the accreditation or Head
	Start standards when required to obtain accreditation or Head Start designation. If ratio requirements are not required to achieve accreditation or Head Start designation, the facility would choose to meet either the accreditation or Head Start standa...
	 Use of enhanced space requirements is optional for all star levels and licensure pathways. Child care centers that are currently meeting this requirement will see a benefit in planning for new and existing indoor and outdoor spaces. According to Cre...
	$1,225 - $2,135 for a reduction of 5 square feet of indoor space per child and range from $6,125 -
	$10,675 for a reduction of 25 square feet of outdoor space depending on the county where the center is located. Outdoor space is determined by the number of children using the space at any given time, rather than a requirement for each child included ...
	Overall, child care facilities will see a benefit in the re-structuring of enrollment, ratio and space requirements for QRIS. This will allow an increase in the number of children that may be served within each child care facility’s existing licensed ...
	Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI)

	Session Law 2024-34 includes continuous quality improvement as a QRIS standard, and Section .3200 sets forth the recommended rules regarding continuous quality improvement plans for individuals and facilities. The estimated costs described below are l...
	Each center administrator and staff members with caregiving responsibilities will need to complete a Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) plan. This is an extension of the professional development plan already required to be completed annually in Chil...
	Some possible scenarios regarding costs for individual facilities follow:
	1. For an individual FCCH, this would be an estimated opportunity cost of $14.20 annually if there are no additional caregivers employed. This includes the individual and facility requirements for implementation.
	2. For a child care center employing 12 staff that are required to complete a CQI Plan, this would be an estimated opportunity cost of $170.40 annually for individual requirements plus an estimated opportunity cost of $21.00 for the facility requireme...
	These estimates are based on the average wage of child care professionals using the Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov) and the average wage for administrators based on information in “Working in Early Care...
	Family and Community Engagement

	Family/Community Engagement is a new set of programmatic standards for QRIS set forth in Session Law 2024-34 and applies to this licensure pathway. It builds on parent participation requirements for child care centers in Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 .0...
	Family and Community Engagement was consistently identified as critical to providing quality child care to families during community outreach efforts regarding QRIS Modernization and the options outlined in these rules were activities that directly re...
	The total cost for each child care facility will be determined by an operator’s choices in meeting the requirements of their desired star rating. Estimated costs of foundational practices and possible choices are outlined below:
	 Foundational practices are estimated to require 4 hours of planning by the center administrator or FCCH operator annually in providing communication and planning required opportunities. Estimating one center administrator for each child care center ...
	= $84 average opportunity cost for facility implementation. Average wage for administrators is based on information in “Working in Early Care and Education in NC, 2023 Workforce Study, Child Care Services Association”. For FCCH operators, estimating $...
	$56.80 opportunity cost for facility implementation. Average wage for FCCH operators is based on Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov).
	An additional 1.5 hours is estimated per child enrolled for Lead Teachers or a FCCH operator to plan and conduct annual family conferences. This opportunity cost is estimated at $21.30 per enrolled child, based on a $14.20 average hourly wage using Bu...
	1. For a FCCH operator that is licensed to care for a total of 8 children x $21.30 = $170.40 is the estimated opportunity cost for implementation of this requirement.
	2. For a child care center with 100 children in care x $21.30 = $2,130.00 is the estimated opportunity cost for implementation of this requirement.
	Implementation of foundational practices is estimated to have an opportunity cost at least $227.20 for FCCHs and approximately $2,214 for child care centers with 100 children in care. The main variable for implementation of estimated cost is the numbe...
	 The first category of engagement, communication options, includes choices that range in the amount of time needed to implement the selected option. Three of the four options are estimated to require 6 hours of planning by the center administrator or...
	$85.20 opportunity cost for facility implementation. Average wage for FCCH operators is based on Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov).
	An additional 3 hours is estimated per child enrolled for Lead Teachers or a FCCH operator to plan
	and conduct family conferences twice annually. This opportunity cost is estimated at $42.60 per enrolled child, based on a $14.20 average hourly wage using Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov). We are unable...
	1. For a FCCH operator that is licensed to care for a total of 8 children x $42.60 = $340.80 is the estimated opportunity cost for implementation of this option.
	2. For a child care center with 100 children in care x $42.60 = $4,260.00 is the estimated opportunity cost for implementation of this option.
	Overall, choices for this category of engagement range from $85.20 to $4,260 (opportunity cost) per facility depending on what option is selected and how many children are enrolled.
	 The second category of engagement, engagement and leadership options includes choices that range in the amount of time needed to implement the selected option. Establishing an ongoing process to receive and review feedback, offering an annual survey...
	Offering an enrollment orientation, working collaboratively with service providers, organizing family events or establishing a family council, board or representative are five of the eight options that are estimated to require 8 hours of planning by t...
	Overall, choices for this category of engagement range from an opportunity cost of $56.80 to $168 per facility depending on what is selected.
	 The third category of engagement, education opportunity options, includes choices that range in the amount of time and resources needed to implement the selected option. Organizing family events where staff and families learn together is estimated t...
	Another option described providing supports for families such as interpreter services, meals/snacks or materials during family involvement can vary in cost depending on local resources and how a center administrator or a FCCH operator plans the events...
	For child care centers, providing paid planning time for Lead Teachers to conduct conferences is estimated to be 1.5 hours per child enrolled, each time a conference is needed. It is estimated to have an opportunity cost of $21.30 per enrolled child, ...
	Overall, choices for this category of engagement range from an opportunity cost of $42.60 to $4,260 per facility depending on what is selected. Additional costs would be incurred if a facility opts to provide additional supports such as hired interpre...
	Education Standards

	All child care facilities and early childhood education professionals currently submit education information to the Division of Child Development and Early Education Workforce Unit for evaluation, so there would not be an additional cost incurred for ...
	In the current QRIS standards, education standards apply to earning points, either as an individual or part of a group of staff, across a possible range of 2-7 points. Those point levels have been condensed and revised in star level requirements, rang...
	Competency Evaluation

	The use of competency evaluations is a new option in education standards for individuals who are lead teachers, teachers and family child care home operators that have not completed higher education. Since these individuals are not in the Division’s W...
	It is estimated to take an individual approximately 20-40 hours to prepare an initial portfolio. Based on an
	$14.20 average hourly wage using Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care Workers in NC as of May 2023 (bls.gov) x 20 hours = $284 or x 40 hours = $568, is the estimated cost range per individual for implementation. Every three years, those same indi...
	This licensure pathway is most similar to current QRIS and was included in Session Law 2024-34 as one of three licensure pathways to earn a Two though Five Star Rated License. Familiarity with this type of QRIS may be appealing to both child care cent...
	*Indicates current QRIS standard.

	Pathway 1 - Program Assessment
	Session Law 2024-34 specified that an updated version of the current program assessment tool (Environment Rating Scale) be implemented by February 1, 2025. The costs associated with that change are directly attributable to statutory requirements and i...
	Child care facilities that choose this pathway will be required to have an external program assessment using the Infant/Toddler (ITERS-3), Early Childhood (ECERS-3), Family Child Care (FCCERS-3) and School Age Care (SACERS-U) Environment Rating Scales...

	Pathway 1 - Curriculum
	For this pathway, only Four and Five Star Rated Licensed facilities are required to implement curriculum in classrooms that serve four year olds. This is a current requirement and does not result in any impact to facilities that are already serving fo...
	In addition to the above, QRIS standards applicable to this pathway also include staff/child ratio, space, continuous quality improvement, family and community engagement and education standards as previously described.
	This is a new licensure pathway that was one of three options included in Session Law 2024-34 to earn a Two though Five Star Rated License. It will be difficult to estimate all associated costs since it has not been previously implemented in NC. Child...
	*Indicates current QRIS standard.


	Pathway 2 - Curriculum
	For this pathway, all child care facilities are required to implement curriculum. In our current system, this requirement only applies to Four and Five Star Rated Licensed facilities that serve 4 year olds. This pathway expands on the use of curriculu...
	There are 56 curricula editions that are currently approved by the Child Care Commission. This includes curricula appropriate for ages Birth – 5 years of age and for child care centers and family child care home settings. The cost for each child care ...
	 2 curricula are free and are appropriate for age ranges of Birth – 5 years of age
	 4 curricula offer monthly subscription fees ranging from approximately $24.95 - $557.
	 2 curricula offer monthly subscription fees of $33 with an annual fee of $299.
	 23 curricula editions include costs that range from approximately $199.95 - $4,200
	 25 curricula are specific to franchise programs and included in the franchise costs.

	Pathway 2 - Child Observation and Formative Assessments
	Child observations are a new requirement for child care facilities, beginning at the Three Star Rated License level. At the Four and Five Star Rated License levels, the use of an approved formative assessment is required. There are already 15 approved...
	 Sharing the results of the formative assessments with families is an annual requirement at the Four Star Rated License level and could be implemented at no additional cost during the family conference required by Family and Community Engagement foun...
	 At the Five Star Rated License level, sharing of formative assessment results is required twice annually. If an operator has selected the communication option from Family and Community Engagement standards that requires two annual family conferences...
	1.5 hours is estimated per child enrolled for Lead Teachers or a FCCH operator to plan and conduct one family conference. It is estimated to cost $21.30 per enrolled child, based on a $14.20 average hourly wage using Bureau of Labor Statistics for Chi...
	1. For a FCCH operator that is licensed to care for a total of 8 children x $21.30 = $170.40 is the estimated cost for implementation of this requirement.
	2. For a child care center with 100 children in care x $21.30 = $2,130.00 is the estimated cost for implementation of this requirement.

	Pathway 2 - Training and Coaching Options
	To earn a Three through Five Star Rated License in this pathway, the center administrator, lead teachers and a FCCH operator must complete 5 hours of training, 0.5 continuing education unit (CEU) or 5 hours of coaching/mentoring annually. Some example...
	 Training hours are widely available in NC since on-going professional development is also a minimum licensing requirement. Rule specific training can be obtained at no cost to child care professionals using DCDEE’s Moodle. Numerous training organiza...
	$50 per individual employed.
	 Continuing Education Units (CEU’s) are offered through a variety of sources and vary in the associated costs:
	o At the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, CEU’s are estimated to cost approximately $72 to $92 per CEU credit.
	o Through Child Care Resources, Inc, CEU’s are offered at an estimated $15-$25 per CEU credit.
	o Through Zero To Three, free CEU’s are offered.
	o Through Teach Me Professional Development, unlimited CEU’s are offered for $95 per year. If choosing to pay per course, it is estimated to cost $12 per CEU credit.
	Overall, for an individual to obtain 0.5 CEU credit, estimated costs range from $0 - $92 depending on the resource selected.
	 An individual could participate in coaching/mentoring with a peer who is employed at a similarly licensed facility and would include the cost of time necessary to complete the requirement.
	o For a center administrator being coached by a peer, it is estimated to cost $21.00 x 2 individuals = $41.00 x 5 hours = $210.00 annually. Average wage for administrators is based on information in “Working in Early Care and Education in NC, 2023 Wor...
	o For a FCCH operator or lead teacher being coached by a peer, it is estimated to cost $14.20 x 2 individuals = $28.40 x 5 hours = $142 annually. Average wage for FCCH operators and lead teachers is based on Bureau of Labor Statistics for Child Care W...
	o Coaching/mentoring through a partner agency already occurs through technical assistance activities and would also fit into this pathway requirement.
	In addition to the above, QRIS standards applicable to this pathway also include staff/child ratio, space, continuous quality improvement, family and community engagement and education standards as previously described.
	This is a new pathway for QRIS required by Session Law 2023-40 and implemented in July 2024 through Session Law 2024-34 which allowed child care facilities to use their current accreditation while QRIS rulemaking continues. At least 58 child care faci...
	*Indicates current QRIS standard.


	Pathway 3 - Accreditation
	For facilities who want to become accredited, the fiscal impact would depend on the accreditation chosen. In addition, from application to accreditation award, the process is lengthy, taking anywhere from six months to two and a half years to complete...
	The star rating designation assigned to each accreditation organization was based on evaluation of accreditation standards. Program standards such as curriculum, continuous quality improvement and family engagement are incorporated into all accreditat...
	In rulemaking, the Commission proposes that when an accreditation award leads directly to a Three Star Rated License, the ability to increase to a Four or Five Star Rated License would be based on evaluation of education standards. This aligns with th...
	Depending on the qualifications of the staff, there may be additional needs regarding coursework, experience, training or competency evaluations but that is difficult to estimate.
	 The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) has accredited approximately 58 facilities in NC. Of those, 44 facilities have already earned a Five Star Rated License. The remaining 14 facilities may be eligible to increase to ...
	 The National Accreditation Commission for Early Care and Education Program (NAC) has accredited approximately 14 facilities in NC. Of those, 5 facilities have already earned a Five Star Rated License. The remaining 9 facilities may be eligible to in...
	 COGNIA has two types of accreditations that would apply to child care settings in NC. Overall, a facility that is interested in becoming accredited through COGNIA can expect to pay a minimum of $9,600 for a six-year accreditation period.
	o The first type of COGNIA accreditation requires accreditation with early learning standards and is set forth in Session Law 2024-34. This type of accreditation has been achieved by approximately 33 facilities in NC. Of those, 12 facilities have alre...
	o The second type of COGNIA accreditation requires accreditation with extended learning standards and is applicable to school age care facilities. There are no facilities in NC that are currently accredited with extended learning standards. This natio...
	 The National Early Childhood Program Accreditation (NECPA) has one accredited facility in NC. That facility has already earned a Three Star Rated License, matching the designated star level for this accreditation. If that facility chose this pathway...
	 The National Association for Family Child Care (NAFCC) has accredited approximately 4 facilities in NC. Two of those facilities have already earned a Five Star Rated License, higher than the designated star level for this accreditation. If those Fiv...
	 The American Montessori Society (AMS) has accredited 5 facilities in NC. These facilities noted as accredited have not been verified as licensed child care facilities. If licensed, they could achieve a Three Star Rated License through verification o...
	 The International Montessori Council (IMC) has no accredited facilities in NC. Overall, a facility that is interested in becoming accredited through IMC can expect to pay a minimum of $500 but other fees may be incurred related to on-site visits dur...

	Pathway 3 - Head Start
	As of October 2024, there were 335 Head Start facilities in NC. Of those, 286 had already earned a Five Star Rated License. The remaining 49 facilities may be eligible to increase to a Five Star Rated License upon adoption of these rules. This option ...

	Recognition of Quality Initiatives
	This rule specifies opportunities to acknowledge participation in quality initiatives and practices that are not otherwise captured in QRIS requirements. These opportunities align with Session Law 2024-34, Section 8(g) that states “The Department shal...
	As proposed, this acknowledgement will accompany a Two through Five Star Rated License if an operator chooses to meet at least one option in each type of recognition but will not have any impact on earning a Star Rated License. An operator may choose ...
	A description of options for each Recognition of Quality Initiatives are noted in the table below:


	Impacts to Children and Families
	Historically, the Two through Five Star Rated License was intended to assist families when choosing a child care facility that would meet their needs. The revisions to licensure pathway requirements have the potential to allow more availability for ch...
	A high quality early childhood care and education system is known to provide numerous, significant benefits for children both in the near term and over the course of their lives. Research on child development -- like that done by the Center on the Dev...
	Raise North Carolina is a public education campaign to build appreciation and support for North Carolina’s early care and learning network and the teachers who serve children, families and North Carolina. It describes that “better school and life outc...
	In Children’s Learning and Development Benefits from High-Quality Early Care and Education: A Summary of the Evidence from the Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation of the Administration for Children and Families of the U.S. Department of Healt...

	Impacts to Partner Agencies
	QRIS partners include agencies such as the NC Rated License Assessment Project, Child Care Resource and Referral agencies and Smart Start. Implementation of proposed QRIS rules will require a shift in the focus of existing work of these partner agenci...
	system. However, the proposed QRIS rules are expected to create an increased demand for those activities. The rate of increase is undetermined since it will depend on choices selected by individual child care facilities to earn their Star Rated License.
	Session Law 2024-34 specified that an updated version of the current program assessment tool (Environment Rating Scale) be implemented by February 1, 2025. The costs associated with that change are directly attributable to statutory requirements and i...
	assistance specialists in partner agencies. That training is offered at no additional cost to all necessary parties through the existing contract with the NC Rated License Assessment Project and implementation has been initiated to ensure compliance w...
	This impact analysis has possible impacts that are uncertain based on the variables described above, including indirect impacts and benefits. These rules will create indirect impacts by requiring existing opportunities such as CEU’s and may result in ...


	Alternatives
	The Child Care Commission acknowledges the importance of choice in demonstrating quality practices so that all participants in the early care and learning system see a place for themselves, the families they serve and the facilities that choose to mee...
	Although the magnitude of benefits to be gained by modernizing QRIS is uncertain and unquantifiable, and a significant portion of any benefits would be attributable to the session law rather than these proposed rules, it is possible that the aggregati...
	1. Program Assessment – Stakeholder feedback indicated the need for an updated or different program assessment tool, particularly regarding language and interactions as a quality practice. Research on potential program assessment tools indicated that ...
	2. Competency Evaluation – The option to demonstrate knowledge, skills and abilities through a competency evaluation provides a much-needed alternative to higher education for meeting the QRIS education standard. The session law requires the Commissio...

	Conclusion
	In summary, the Child Care Commission was legislatively mandated to enact QRIS reform. The Commission’s work and recommendations reflect stakeholder engagement which resulted in a new framework for QRIS in NC being set forth in Session Law 2024-34. Th...
	The Child Care Commission acknowledges the importance of choice in demonstrating quality practices so that all participants in the early care and learning system see a place for themselves, the families they serve and the facilities that choose to mee...
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	7
	11
	12 10A NCAC 09 .3205 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	13
	14 10A NCAC 09 .3205 CLASSROOM AND INSTRUCTIONAL QUALITY PATHWAY FOR CHILD
	15 CARE CENTERS

	45
	49
	50 10A NCAC 09 .3206 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	51
	52 10A NCAC 09 .3206 CLASSROOM AND INSTRUCTIONAL QUALITY PATHWAY FOR FAMILY
	53 CHILD CARE HOMES

	15
	19
	20 10A NCAC 09 .3207 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	21
	22 10A NCAC 09 .3207 ACCREDITATION AND HEAD START PATHWAY FOR CHILD CARE
	23 FACILITIES

	32
	36
	37 10A NCAC 09 .3208 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	38
	39 10A NCAC 09 .3208 ENHANCED STAFF/CHILD RATIOS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR CHILD
	40 CARE CENTERS

	5
	8
	9 10A NCAC 09 .3209 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	10
	11 10A NCAC 09 .3209 REDUCED, ENHANCED STAFF/CHILD RATIOS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR
	12 CHILD CARE CENTERS

	23
	26
	27 10A NCAC 09 .3210 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	28
	29 10A NCAC 09 .3210 ENHANCED SPACE REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS

	33
	36
	37 10A NCAC 09 .3211 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	38
	39 10A NCAC 09 .3211 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE CENTER ON-SITE
	40 ADMINISTRATORS

	29
	33
	34 10A NCAC 09 .3212 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	35
	36 10A NCAC 09 .3212 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE CENTER LEAD
	37 TEACHERS

	1
	5
	6 10A NCAC 09 .3213 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	7
	8 10A NCAC 09 .3213 ENHANCED  EDUCATION  STANDARDS  FOR  CHILD  CARE  CENTER
	9 TEACHERS

	11
	15
	16 10A NCAC 09 .3214 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	17
	18 10A NCAC 09 .3214 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR PROGRAM COORDINATORS IN
	19 CHILD  CARE  CENTERS  THAT  PROVIDE  CARE  FOR  SCHOOL-AGE
	20 CHILDREN

	14
	18
	19 10A NCAC 09 .3215 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	20
	21 10A NCAC 09 .3215 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR GROUP LEADERS IN CHILD
	22 CARE CENTERS

	2
	6
	7 10A NCAC 09 .3216 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	8
	9 10A NCAC 09 .3216 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR ADMINISTRATORS OF CHILD
	10 CARE CENTERS THAT ONLY PROVIDE CARE FOR SCHOOL-AGE
	11 CHILDREN

	56
	4
	5 10A NCAC 09 .3217 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	6
	7 10A NCAC 09 .3217 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME
	8 OPERATORS

	25
	29
	30 10A NCAC 09 .3218 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	31
	32 10A NCAC 09 .3218 COMPETENCY EVALUATIONS

	52
	56
	1 10A NCAC 09. 3219 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	2
	3 10A NCAC 09 .3219 FAMILY AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT STANDARDS FOR
	4 CHILD CARE CENTERS

	48
	52
	53 10A NCAC 09 .3220 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	54
	55 10A NCAC 09 .3220 FAMILY AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT STANDARDS FOR
	56 FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME OPERATORS

	38
	42
	43 10A NCAC 09 .3221 is proposed for amendment as follow:

	44
	45 10A NCAC 09 .3221 CONTINUOUS QUALITY IMPROVEMENT (CQI) STANDARDS

	43
	47
	48 10A NCAC 09 .3222 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	49
	50 10A NCAC 09 .3222 MAINTAINING THE STAR RATING

	30
	33
	34 10A NCAC 09 .3223 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	35
	36 10A NCAC 09 .3223 HOW AN OPERATOR MAY REQUEST OR APPEAL A CHANGE IN RATING

	45
	48
	49 10A NCAC 09 .3224 is proposed for amendment as follows:
	50 10A NCAC 09 .3224 RECOGNITION OF QUALITY INITIATIVES

	2
	6
	7 10A NCAC 09 .3225 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	8
	9 10A NCAC 09 .3225 Accrediting Organizations and Star Rating Equivalency

	18
	21
	22 10A NCAC 09 .3226 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	23
	24 10A NCAC 09 .3226 Approval of Formative Assessments

	44
	47
	48
	49
	50
	51
	52
	53 SECTION .0100 DEFINITIONS

	54
	55 10A NCAC 09 .0102 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	56
	1 10A NCAC 09 .0102 DEFINITIONS

	18
	30
	31
	32
	33
	34 SECTION .2900 DEVELOPMENTAL DAY SERVICES

	35
	36 10A NCAC 09 .2902 LICENSE

	19
	20 10A NCAC 09 .2905 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	21
	22 10A NCAC 09 .2905 FAMILY SERVICES

	34
	40
	41
	42
	43
	44
	45
	1 SECTION .3000 NC PRE-KINDERGARTEN

	2
	3 10A NCAC 09 .3002 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	4
	5 10A NCAC 09 .3002 FACILITY REQUIREMENTS

	28
	29 10A NCAC 09 .3009 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	30
	31 10A NCAC 09 .3009 STAFF-TO-CHILD RATIO AND CLASS SIZE

	35
	39
	40 10A NCAC 09 .3010 is proposed for amendment as follows:

	41
	42 10A NCAC 09 .3010 FAMILY ENGAGEMENT

	16
	21



